We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place huge lobby great for business trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place huge lobby great for business trips”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have to say I didn't pick this place one of my business partners did. I was not disappointed!. The hotel is tucked back into a business district close to everything. I was impressed that check in was extremely quick and the room assigned to me was fantastic. I don't usually stay on the first floor when travelling on business but they gave me a room adjacent to the pool. Since the weather was extremely nice and several people were there on spring break many people tried out the ice water. Good thing I could not hear any of them. I kept my curtain open to see the view of the area and was happily surprised when I realized how quiet such a key location could be. The lobby of the place is huge. If you want to have a private get together with business associates, friends or family there is more than enough areas to do this. We had breakfast at tables in the area looking out over the pool area very nice. Only complaint the room smelled just a little musty but not so much to say anything bad about the entire stay for the staff. The lobby staff took a great deal of time pulling out a local travel map and drawing me out the directions to locations I had inquired. They were very patient and very knowledgeable about the area and history of the area. Would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling through Wilmington. The price and the location were perfect.

Room Tip: 1st floor adjacent to the pool. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachloverA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for letting other business travelers know what a great facility and staff we have. I will speak with our management team concerning the musty smell. We have a thorough maintenance program when it comes to cleaning ac units and carpets. Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to your next visit. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    56
    12
    11
    2
See reviews for
104
86
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Close to wonderful beaches, river walk, and many tourist attractions along with shopping and restaurants. Hotel was pet friendly, which is a bonus, because we enjoy traveling with our dog. The motel was very clean. Breakfast on the patio each morning was a great place to plan our day.
Personnel was pleasant helpful,kind,and had. knowledge of the sites around the area. This motel gets top marks.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. So glad to read that you enjoy all the amenities of the hotel and we really appreciate the comments on our staff and location. Our hotel truly puts you close to a variety of activities. We hope to see you again soon. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great stay at this Holiday Inn when passing through the Wilmington area. Super clean and comfortable lobby, delicious coffee and a nice outdoor patio. The front desk staff member, Holden, was awake, alert and helpful late at night when we checked in. We had a great stay and are looking to come back next year to celebrate the azalea festival again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynnn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
So glad to read you enjoyed your stay during the Azalea Festival. Also, thank you for the comment on Holden. He does a great job and truly cares about our guests. Safe Travels - Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest detroit
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The ladies at the front desk were very helpful. Always pleasent and genuine! From the moment I walked through the door i was greeted with a warm welcome. The young lady at the front desk was more than eager to help us! As soon as I was givin the key to my room I couldn't wait to see what else this hotel had to offer me. When I finally arrived to my room I was astonished at how immaculate the room was! But something caught my eye, it was a pamphlet about guest safety. I thourghly read the pamphlet only afterwards I found myself extremely paranoid. I proceeded to what anyone would do after reading that pamphlet, I barracaded the door with anything I could. My second course of action was to check anywhere a killer might hide. After several hours of checking for killers I was forchanite enough to not find a single one. But the agonizing fear didn't stop there. I tried going to sleep hoping to put myself at some sort of ease. I was forced to sleep with all the lights on for some sence of security. Later in the night I awoke in a cold sweat to the sound of voices coming from the room nextstore. I put my ear to wall so i could hear what all the commotion was about. The man was threating to put holes in his finest attire. Puzzled I put my head back on the pillow and returned to sleep. After that dreadful night was over I collencted all my belongings and went to the front desk to sign out. The angel at the front desk asked me how my stay was my body quickly tensed up. I relplyed with gritted teeth "excellent". I should have told her about the pamphlet but didn't want to frighten the young lady. So I'm using this opperunity to ask the hotel please put a warning label on the pamphlet so no one will endore what I had to go through. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybrown64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Ms. Brown,

I apologize that you didn't have the experience you expected. The information provided within our guest directories on safety is a standard in all hotels. Our hotel has an excellent safety record and our location is one of the safest areas in all of Wilmington and Leland. I apologize for that the information made you feel uncomfortable. I will reach out to you to speak with you personally about the situation. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had an awesome night here during the Azalea festival! The kid at the front desk (Holden) was super helpful and sweet. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, with a nice atmosphere. I didn't try the food but the coffee was pretty good. If I come to the festival next year I will definitely come back to this hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone passing through the Wilmington area. Thanks!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sictransitgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. So glad you got to enjoy your stay and the Azalea Festival. It is truly one of NC's special events. Also, thank you for the kind comments on Holden. He and all of our staff definitely have the Gift of Hospitality! We look forward to seeing you next year. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The front desk staff was excellent! The were friendly and professional and went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay. The hotel is clean, quiet, and convenient. Just minutes from restaurants and Wilmington. It is also a straight shot to Myrtle Beach without the Myrtle Beach hotel prices. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny49011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. I appreciate your comments on our staff. We have a fantastic team. We look forward to your next visit. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Highly recommend. Would stay there again, or recommend friends-family stay there, definitely. High room ceilings creates a feeling of spaciousness and light/air. King bed was incredibly comfortable. HVAC was efficient and let me sleep soundly every night. Excellent breakfast bar (with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, fruit, bagels, boiled eggs). Friendly and efficient staff. Great architecture and interior design. Well-appointed business center. Lobby is sunny and open-feeling. You can sit outdoors and have your coffee on a nice patio. Close to Wilmington, but still peaceful.
I stayed here by default, recently. Needed lodging right away and the town where I was working had already sold out.
But I am very glad it went that way.

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown142, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. So glad that your travels brought you to our property. Also, thank you for the great comments on the design and layout of the hotel. We custom designed it to give all the things you mentioned in your review. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Westgate Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
11.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area
Address: 1020 Grandiflora Dr, Leland, NC 28451-7454 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Leland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all suite property is well appointed with custom designed décor and comes with amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, heated indoor pool with outdoor patio, well equipped fitness room, lobby business library and pantry.We understand the need for spacious and comfortable rooms so we have gone to great lengths to give you what you desire. We have expanded the ceiling heights in all rooms creating an open feel. In addition, we have widened the king rooms and incorporated all queen size beds in our double rooms to give you the additional room and comfort you deserve.All of our suites come equipped with 37” LG flat screen televisions, wireless internet, sleeper sofa, ergonomically correct chair and work desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack and much more. Exercise and Refresh your spirit anytime of the day by using our 24 hour fitness center or our indoor heated salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Magnolia Greens Hotel Leland
Comfort Suites Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing