We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hannahs BBQ

Hannahs BBQ
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Lenoir
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hannah's BBQ in Lenoir is the original Hannah's BBQ restaurant owned by James Hannah. Founded in 1982. Offering a quick full service dining room experience with a convenient pick up window and carryout service as well. The menu consists of BBQ favorites such as chopped BBQ, BBQ Chicken and BBQ Country Style Ribs. Also offered are Texas Style Beef(bottom round) and sliced pork. Sandwiches include burgers, hotdogs, grilled and fried chicken and of course chopped or sliced BBQ. Home made Brunswick Stew and creamy coleslaw are all time favorites as well as crinkle cut fries, BBQ Beans and hushpuppies. Various salads and desserts round out the menu. Friendly service and great atmosphere. Catering and bulk orders available.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The pork BBQ is very good and lean. The BBQ chicken is very tender and tasty. Dining area could use a little updating.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cliving64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good 'ole hometown BBQ joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Not the best, but not the worst, but a must if you spend any amount of time in Lenoir. It's more of a nostalgic mid 1900's place that has seen a lot of history of the surrounding area. Make sure you order sweet tea, or they will all know you're not from around here. :)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMIphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Lenoir - famous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Awesome hushpuppies and chopped BBQ. Hannah's has been here a long time and is the real thing. They have good take out too and the service is no nonsense and FAST! Excellent sweet tea.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Janetpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The BBQ chicken is nice and tender and falls off the bone. Their pork BBQ is my husband's favorite. But my favorite thing they have is the stew.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

my wife and i stopped at hannah's after reading the reviews and looking for NC BBQ on our visit to Lenoir, NC. It was very busy, but we got served immediately. The service was friendly and courteous. We ordered their BBQ platter with the slaw and hush puppies. The meat was absolutely swimming in sauce. Their sauce is very rich and overpowers the meat. I like to taste the meat. If you are looking for BBQ sauce, Hannah's is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hannahs BBQ also viewed

Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hannahs BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing