We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence's Friendly Lunch

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Clarence's Friendly Lunch
Ranked #32 of 75 Restaurants in Lenoir
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

So me and my friends took our children to go eat. They were busy so service wasn't very great but I can def understand that. As we got finished eating we all sat around talking and I noticed a lot of dirt in the bottom of my drink ( I was drinking water) I was trying to figure a nice way to ask about it so as I went to pay there was a man at the register ( I'm guessing Clarence?) and I asked him about it..he proceeded to ask me where I seen dirt? Okay first off, you could CLEARLY see it.. I'm NOT a petty person and wouldn't have even bothered asking if it wouldn't have been a lot in the bottom of my cup! And then he said.."well, it's your city's water) omgah.. The NERVE of this man!! He didn't even offer me something else to drink! Needless to say..me or my family or friends will never go back again..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food too...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have had breakfast to go many times over the years and have never had a complaint. Had lunch with my granddaughter and great grandson yesterday and ate in. I had a pattie melt. It was great, fries were piping hot and fresh as well. We will definitely be going back for lunch. It is a meet and greet for the locals and very friendly. A very pleasant experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My Husband and I stopped in one morning for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised. This little, out of the way restaurant was a winner! We had fast, friendly service and the food was very good. I read the other reviews and do agree, the place is dated, but I think that's part of the small town charm of this place. It's like a piece of history, preserved in time. We will definitely go back and try them out for lunch sometime. Give it a try, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAmmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Clarence is a good fella. This is one of the local gathering spots, so you need to go and chat with folks. Food's good, too.

Helpful?
Thank laurelhill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Homecooking at it's best. Breakfast and lunch til 2pm.
Clarence and his family are also very nice!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ginalynn217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clarence's Friendly Lunch also viewed

Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Clarence's Friendly Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing