We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Mexican food this is the place for you!!”

Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 121 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you like Mexican food this is the place for you!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Mexican food in the heart of NC BBQ country? You bet! And some kind-a-good food too. From shrimp salad covered with large shrimp( not popcorn sized ) to Steak this is the place for foodies. But be advised, you may have to wait for a table on Friday and Saturday night. The lines are long from 6pm to 8pm.Go early or go late but just go to Don Juan's... you'll be glad you did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SHarveyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located near a local high school and it is very popular with the teens and rightfully so, it is really good. I have never been unhappy with my meal here. I would go more often if it was closer to my house. Everything is great with this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florafitzpatrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Favorite Eatery In Lexington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lexington is known for it's barbarque, but my first choice for eating out is Don Jauns. My husband and I usually go at lunch time basically because the meals are smaller. The staff is always professional and attentive. The place is small, but always clean. I don't think you would be dissappointed eating here. I'm a fan of the fajitas, while my husband is a fan of the burritos. When it's a childs birthday, they bring out a big sombero and sing to the child while delivering a birthday surprise. Family friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sisnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On the Fence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I must say first that the food at this restaurant is sooooo good. Delicious. Fan-freakin-tastic. However, I have an issue that has me sitting on the fence with Don Juan's: the price fluctuates without explanation. I HAVE ordered the same exact dish (as it is my wife's favorite) at least once a week for a long time now.

My problem is that the same cashier EVERY time has charged me different prices. One time it was $7.00 and change, then $9.00 and change, then $8.00 and change. Seven and change for this dish is a very fair and reasonable price, so why go upwards of almost $10.00 without explanation? I have confronted the cashier over this matter and I get, "Someone else must have rang you up", or "The manager told me what to do". My reply to both statements: "No, you rang me up and the manager was nowhere in sight!".

My wife and I love this restaurant, but if this continues we will try another Mexican place in Lexington. There is one that is closer to our home than Don Juan's, but D.J.'s is just so good at the food preparations. We will give them another chance or two, but........!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Lexington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My daughter took me here for dinner and I couldn't get over how good the food was. She is a chef and her friends are foodies and they eat here all the time. They get a kick out of taking old Mom out and making her try "new things". When I think Mexican, I think spicy, and I don't do spicy. The closest I've ever come to a Mexican restaurant is Taco Bell. But there was plenty for me to choose from and I had a great meal. I'm not quite sure what it was I ate, but I enjoyed it immensely. The service was very good and it was a nice night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjkeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing