We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Linville B&B and Inns
FLORIDA
2 reviews
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have been to this area many times over the past 10 years and we always stay here. The new owners Eric and Norma are wonderful hosts. Breakfast is the best. Everything is fresh and a joy to eat. They can give excellent referrals to anyplace or anything you want to do. The upgrades they have made to the rooms and cottages are great. Try them and you will find a new home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNEADSRACKELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at the Gable Haus! Norma and Eric are wonderful and provide a perfect mountain retreat with great breakfast and hospitality. They were so thoughtful to entertain us with a champagne toast for our wedding anniversary. We really felt that our hosts would go the extra mile to ensure their guests had an enjoyable stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent a lovely five days at Gable Haus. We stayed in the Rafters, a cosy room with twin beds. The room was clean and comfortable. Gable Haus feels like home - but better. We enjoyed tea on the front porch watching the birds in the garden, visits with the hosts and other guests over delicious breakfasts and when we came "home" to the porch in the evening, and the gracious hospitality of the hosts. The location is great for day trips to enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery, waterfalls, music, and so many artist studios and galleries.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in the European Serenade at the Gable Haus for 3 nights during the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games, July 2012. The room was very comfortable and cozy and the views of hummingbirds buzzing around the garden were lovely. It very much felt like we were coming "home" each evening instead of the generic feeling you get from a hotel. The breakfasts were fabulous (homemade granola and fruit followed by one of Eric's wonderful creations) and the coffee was excellent.

Honestly, the best part of Gable Haus is Norma and Eric! They were so welcoming and open, it made us feel right at home. They helped guide us to good restaurants and attractions and they didn't even mind when we asked to store a pound of Scottish bangers in the freezer! We would certainly stay here again if we found ourselves in the area. It was an excellent value and I have a feeling that it will only get better as Norma and Eric continue to put their stamp on the place.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay...

Room Tip: 1) Don't be thrown off by the fact that the shower facility for the European Serenade is shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marquette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville. GA.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Gable Haus. We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs. It was cozy and perfectly comfortable. Our hosts were great and told us all about things to do in the area as well as showing us their beautiful gardens. Their hard work has paid off to create a warm and inviting bed and breakfast. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and a perfect start to our day. Overall, this was just a perfect stay and we felt lucky to find this mountain charm.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming and comfortable. The outside cabins offer a bit more room if you are tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluhm_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarle, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in Avery Cottage this trip (stayed in an upstairs room last time) and it had the quiet seclusion we were looking for this trip. But we also enjoyed reacting with other quests, and, of course, the hospitality of Eric and Norma. They both go out of their way to be helpful and provide for their guests. Eric is a wonderful chef and my husband says it is worth the drive there just for their coffee! This inn has a rustic charm and is very centrally located for visiting many attractions of the high country in NC.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Last August I had a wonderful stay at Gable Haus and my second visit this May was even more enjoyable. The victorian gardens were blooming and they were spectacular. Norma and Eric are warm, thoughtful, and hospitable hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and the coffee exceptional. The hosts have extensive knowledge of the area and had great suggestions for day trips. Don't miss Linville Falls and Grayson Highlands State Park. Cannot wait for my next visit there!

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed in the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linville
5.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
14.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
201 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages

Property: Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Address: 154 Ruffin St, Linville, NC (Formerly Linville Cottages Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Linville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Linville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and renovation. Located in the high country of North Carolina just 2 miles from Grandfather Mountain is this 1910 quaint 8 gabled farm house with a new name Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages. Blue Ridge Parkway entrance is 3 miles away connecting to all sightseeing. Walking distance to The Old Hampton Store and now a part of the new Linville Arts District. Art and Gift Gallery on premises. Two cottages w/king beds, jacuzzi, kitchens. (Children and Pet friendly in cottages) Honeymoon Suite in haus with jacuzzi and private bath. Four bedrooms w/half baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable Haus Country Inn And Linville Cottages
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages Hotel Linville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing