We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Linville B&B and Inns
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My wife and I were looking for a B&B near Sugar/Beech Mountain and found the Gable Haus in Linville. Though our stay was only for the evening, we had a wonderful experience! Norma and Eric are great hosts and we had a very delicious breakfast in the morning as well as pleasant conversation. We are looking forward to visiting again this Spring/Summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshjmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our family decided to spend the holidays away this year in the mountains. We had a wonderful stay with Eric and Norma for Thanksgiving! Breakfast was great. Norma made the best sweet potato biscuits, and Eric makes delicious crepes filled with Nutella. Since it was Thanksgiving, we also had a family style meal where we were able to include some family traditional food items of ours with Norma and Eric's. We stayed in Avery's Cottage. We were plenty warm and cozy!!!! My husband had some of his best sleep away from home. We look forward to visiting again. Great way to spend a cozy holiday in a warm and welcoming bed and breakfast with quaint holiday shopping in the near towns of Boone and Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife and I travel quite a bit and we always try to stay at a B&B. Th experience thus far has mostly been enriching and memorable. This time my wife's parents, who had never stayed in a B&B before, were traveling with us and my wife was a bit nervous. It turned out that we had absolutely nothing to worry about. They thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

The owners, Eric and Norma were absolutely wonderful and patient with us and our hyper-active 2 year old. We had planned to get there by 9.00 PM, but Halloween parades in Asheville delayed us considerably and it was almost 11.00 PM by the time we got there. Eric still invited us graciously and we were made to feel immediately comfortable. As others have commented, the breakfast was delicious and my wife and her parents, who are vegetarian, enjoyed it equally.

The house is 100 years old and very well maintained and the rooms were very clean. We recommend this place whole heartedly

Room Tip: 1. There are cats in the house. FYI if you have allergies 2. Inform them ahead of time if you are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcvadhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We spent the weekend here and it was great. The room is very cozy and clean, the breakfast is amazing (really) and the owners are very sweet people. They are very close to the Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountains, and Sugar mountains.

Room Tip: If you want a shower in your room, make sure to choose the honeymoon suite. Although, if you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgb_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cataula, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was the first time my husband and I have ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. We had no idea what to expect. The room we stayed in was called the Honeymoon Suite.

We had a great breakfast and morning the next day with Norma and Eric " THE FOOD WAS AMAZING" thank you Eric for the wonderful Souffle! Norma makes homemade granola and what an awesome taste with the Fresh fruit and yogurt every morning before the main course. I even had to buy me 2 baggies to bring home! :) This morning we had homemade biscuits with homemade apple butter, Quiche that Eric made that was out of this world and crepes that was so YUMMY! I wish she sold her apple butter and applesause.

Yesterday we talked and got to know the both of them and how they just aquired this B&B 2 years ago. They are still working on it however it was great what they had completed. I look forward to visit them again soon for a skiing trip. They are very friendly and love what they do! True Roosters live across the street but what a wonderful sound to wake up too if you arent use to it!

This morning all the other guest that came yesterday late ate with us all! We met some wonderful people and enjoyed talking to each other.

Thanks for a nice day in the Smokies and a wonderful expierence Eric and Norma! We made new friends an hope to see them again soon!

Vicki and Terry
Georgia

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia,USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Wonderful B&B in the mountains of North Carolina. The 100 year old house has the feel of a real home, updated and very comfortable with beautiful gardens all around. We stayed 3 nights in the Helen cottage, more like a cosy efficiency apartment, very clean, comfortable and private. The porch looks across the gardens to the main house where Eric and Norma serve a delicious breakfast, each morning a different meal invented or modified by Eric, with fresh herbs from the garden. Always with great conversations and lots of suggestions on places to visit or just relax. Norma went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and had all we needed for a relaxing four days. We will be back in the Spring to see all the changes in the sourrounding mountains scenery, and to enjoy the outstanding hospitality of this hidden gem in North Carolina.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I felt like visiting old friend when I stayed there. Norma and Eric provided the best vacation to my mom and me. Eric's Crepe was the best ever. If you do not have it, you miss something in your life.
I will go back with my wife for next vacation

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeongKimCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linville
5.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
14.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
201 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages

Property: Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Address: 154 Ruffin St, Linville, NC (Formerly Linville Cottages Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Linville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Linville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and renovation. Located in the high country of North Carolina just 2 miles from Grandfather Mountain is this 1910 quaint 8 gabled farm house with a new name Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages. Blue Ridge Parkway entrance is 3 miles away connecting to all sightseeing. Walking distance to The Old Hampton Store and now a part of the new Linville Arts District. Art and Gift Gallery on premises. Two cottages w/king beds, jacuzzi, kitchens. (Children and Pet friendly in cottages) Honeymoon Suite in haus with jacuzzi and private bath. Four bedrooms w/half baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable Haus Country Inn And Linville Cottages
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages Hotel Linville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing