We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rustic looking, mountain lodge. The service and food are to die for!!”

Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Linville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linville
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our 3rd visit and we loved it as much as the first time. The rooms were very spacious, with the most comfortable beds and linens that I have every experienced. The food and service are 5 star and wine list is excellent with some very good values and selections that are not common place. This small inn is a gem. The grounds are lovely with lots of wild flowers and a stream running underneath the common area. The golf course is beautiful with mountain vistas everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mombojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Eseeola lodge was a wonderful experience. We definitely have a lot to say about it, but we shall mention the negatives first. The beds were narrow, but long. The walls were very thin so be careful not to discuss secret matters in the bed room. Blazers must be worn during dinner, and formal attire is generally worn for most of the day. This hotel was all about attention to detail; a warm and fresh baked cookie on your bed every day, a note welcoming you and bidding you good bye, the available ice, water, fruit, and coffee in your room. The amenities were very well done. The tennis had friendly staff, and the golf was good. The pool was shallow and small, but the surrounding area was nice. Good massages. In the bathrooms, there were Q-tips, sewing kits, mouth wash, and shoe mittens. They really tried to please, and succeeded. We were a family of 7, and during the weekly seafood buffet (in which we had to wear blazers that the lodge kindly provided for us) we managed to have a lavish dinner that was over $600. The food was excellent. The Eseeola lodge is a wonderful place, but to experience such, one must have deep pockets. We had: 3 rooms for 2 nights, clay shooting for 7, and fishing for 3, that managed to total $2100. The rooms exude a southern charm and the lounging area reminds one of a gentleman's club, of times gone bye.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Zoeshrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

From the front desk staff to the wonderful well trained college crew in the dining room to the great kitchen, Eseeola is a special experience. Cooler mountain weather and the absence of bugs coupled with a beautiful and challenging golf course add to the enjoyment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Walker067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A charming mountain resort to relax, play golf, enjoy the gardens and dine without the crowds of nearby Blowing Rock or Boone. Eseeola Lodge has the quiet casual elegance of the past, but is updated with the comforts and amenities we expect today. Superb meals including the Thursday night Seafood Buffet. A special occasion getaway!

Room Tip: Off the street corner room with porch such as #116
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank haly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It was almost like stepping back in time at this lovely old inn. The staff--from housekeepering to the front desk to the dining room to the golf course--was friendly and professional, always greeting us with a smile and a cheery word. The public rooms, includng a well-stocked library with 2 free computers, are spacious and welcoming. Our room was charming and had a porch overlooking the colorful, flower-filled grounds. Food and service in the handsome dining room were excellent! Room rate includes free wi-fi, daily newspaper at the door, full breakfast, and there's a no-tipping policy at the lodge (tho a service charge is added to meals that are not included in your room rate). The golf course is legendary and deservedly so! We had a wonderful visit and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MJCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

This is a classy place but not all staff were helpful.

We were there for our Silver Wedding. We had a lovely suite with comfortable furniture and a great balcony. Very peaceful and romantic. Great golf at Linville GC, a Ross course with lovely views and small, undulating, dome-shaped greens.

The pool, over the road, has limited opening hours and no bar. The in-room fridge is empty and the bar is closed until evening.

The food was good but service was patchy. One breakfast, the cooked food arrived whilst we were still eating cereal. The restaurant accoustics are poor and we were often seated next to noisy, large parties. For our anniversary, I asked for a specific, quiet table. That was good. The coffee (in room or in restaurant) was awful, tasteless.

When I asked for flowers to celebrate our big day, I was given the number of a local florist. That's not what I expected in an expensive hotel. I expect them to make the call.

One more moan. I picked this place out because of the golf course and wanted to make sure we were booked, but they wouldn't take a reservation request until 1st January.

All said, this is a pretty building with playing rights at an awesome golf course, and the suite was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank BrianNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2005

Eseeola Lodge has a rustic log-cabin look outside, but inside it looks like a manor house with paneled sitting areas. Food and service were superb, with the menu changing every night. (Thursday night is the seafood buffet.) Our room had handmade quilts on the beds; we were surprised by the tiny size of the twin beds, being used to the chain hotels which give you two queens. Air conditioning was modern and very quiet, and each room has a balcony (ask for a room off the street). All of the dining room service was impeccable, but not pretentious. Walking across the road to use the pool and fitness center was a bit inconvenient. Clientele here seems to be the rich elderly. Not surprising since this "new" building opened in 1936. Because it was a weekend, we were obligated to stay three nights. Since we live only two hours away and come to this area often, that was a little long.We would definitely return for a night of luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JoyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linville
12 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
14.5 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
412 reviews
15.2 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eseeola Lodge at Linville Golf Club

Address: 175 Linville Avenue, Linville, NC 28646
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Linville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linville
Price Range: £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic lodge where guests are welcome to play golf at the nearby course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eseeola Lodge At Linville Golf Club Hotel Linville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing