We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Breakfast, Great Staff, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tartan Restaurant

Tartan Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Linville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
516 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast, Great Staff, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoyed a very nice breakfast of omeletts, bacon and toast. Everything was prepared correctly, tastefully and served with a smile. The strawberry rubarb cobbler was very nice and pleasing. My husband is a rubarb fanatic, he enjoyed it with zest. The coffee was very good, unlike many other restaurants in the area who served terrible nearly see thru coffee. One of the few restaurants in the area that charge an acceptable charge for the product they provide. If we were to return to the area we would return to this restaurant. Close to Grandfather Mountain, open breakfast and lunch only. Plenty of parking, easy access, easy to find. Southern hospitality lives here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AirForceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    31
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service but could have been cleaner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stopped here since the BBQ place we planned to go to was closed. The parking lot was full around lunchtime and it seemed to be a very popular local hangout. Many people coming in the door greeted other diners already seated by name. The food was served quickly and it was pretty good. The prices were reasonable. The waitress was very attentive and friendly. I would have enjoyed the meal more if I wasn't so distracted by the general unclean appearance of the restaurant. It was very dusty and most surfaces looked like they could use a good scrub down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If it's not Scottish, it's crap. It's not Scottish.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stopped here with my wife and two kids for lunch. The menu has nothing beyond standard truck stop fare: sandwiches, burgers, soup, etc. Come on…if you are going to pretend to be a Scottish themed restaurant at least name a dish after somewhere in Scotland. Fish a chips? Not at this place. There is a Mac-Salad and Mac-Soup bar which gave us some hope. Overall the food quality was abysmal, down to the wilted lettuce and stone dry potatoes on the salad bar. They do serve breakfast all day. Thank Robert the Bruce! The kids ordered pancakes which seemed tasty. If you find yourself stuck at the Tartan in a snow storm order breakfast. Slainte!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GravityFails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We ate here for lunch while passing through the area on our way to Blowing Rock, NC. No one wanted to seat us. We stood for a long time before we were even acknowledged. It was extremely outdated. My mom actually had an upset stomach all day from her sandwich. This nearly ruined her time on the trip. I was extremely disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Bcwestland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newland, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had lunch here today with my daughter and I will not go back. Buffet had chicken with dumplings as their soup. It was terrible. Went back to get a cup of the chili (made for the baked potato). It was bland. Ended up eating a baked potato and salad. Not much selection on the salad bar, but it was good. Some of the toppings for the baked potato tasted weird. The bacon looked real but had a funky taste which ruined the taste of the potato. It was $20 for the two of us which didn't include the tip. If you're looking for a good lunch, go to McDonald's. At least their food is consistent and you know what to expect - plus you would save money.
PS. Had water with lemon at the Tartan and that was good so it wasn't all bad, lol.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tartan Restaurant also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Newland, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tartan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing