We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hike, beautiful view”
Review of Linville Gorge

Linville Gorge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Excellent hike, beautiful view”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The various trails lead to great views. The hike is enjoyable, not too difficult, dogs welcome. The parking lot is near the river which is just a few feet to access. The trails are easy to follow, the gift shop/tour info provides trail maps and local info. We enjoyed the trees, shrubs, falls, sounds, and the walk. We highly recommend this attraction. We will return to the site to walk the trails again in the future.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AirForceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    76
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hike, beautiful views”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very popular attraction which can get crowded, but the trails were great. There are easy, moderate, and difficult hiking options and you can do one or all of them easily in an afternoon. The moderate trails had some decent uphill stretches that had us breaking a sweat, but everyone managed fine. The views of the waterfalls were beautiful and a nice reward!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BostonJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful but challenging for the aging photographer”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hike to the Chimney View is categorized as Easy to Moderate, 0.7 miles through old growth forest to the, for a total 1.4 mile roundtrip. The "easy" part of the hike was probably the first couple of hundred yards beyond the visitor center. The trail very quickly got steeper and steeper with long uphill and downhill sections over rocks and roots. After a while, it started to feel like a cardiac stress test. Linville Falls is magnificent, but if you have hip, knee, or endurance problems, this hike is probably not for you. You can read a more detailed review at http://www.theagingphotographer.com/linville-falls-nc-a-tale-two-waterfalls-part-1/

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nikonshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Timing Matters for Spectacular Photos”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Linville Falls-Erwin's View Trail

We recently moved to the area, and the good news is that Linville Falls is only a short trip away. The bad news is that I've still yet to capture a spectacular photo. We tried during the fall last year (October) and the foliage was already off the majority of the trees. We just visited again with the hope that spring would be in full bloom (late April), but the leaves had still not come in on most trees.

The visitor center is very simple. The facility itself was closed down and the only restrooms were port-a-potty style (yeah), but there were still quite a few folks hiking the trails. There are several trail options and multiple viewing spots at different elevations.

The main trails are wide and easy to navigate but I recommend good shoes to manage through the rocks and roots. Most of the paths to the viewing sites are wood stairs / hard ground with handrails, but it could be tricky if you are not sure footed or don't like climbing stairs. We saw everyone from small kids to seniors making the trek.

I'm not going to give up. I will keep going back until I get the perfect shot!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyTravelsOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great place to hike, have a picnic, or just relax and enjoy the view. Trails are moderate to easy and well worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Linville Gorge also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
 
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Linville Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing