We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Big Lynn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lynn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on Saturday, July 2. We rented a condo unit, which was a short distance away from the cottages and main dining lodge. The condo was nice - fully equipped and clean. The balcony has a good view. The bed was uncomfortable but we managed :) Dinner and breakfast is included in your room price. When you walk into the dining room, your room number is set up on you table. Dinner was turkey with mashed potatoes, green beans and sweet potato casserole. Breakfast was eggs, biscuits and gravy. (although they have other breakfast items for order). Not bad food and it kept us from having to go elsewhere and the view from teh dining room is amazing. Benches are set up around the main lodge where you can just sit and soak up the view. The owner was very accomodating and we enjoyed talking with her. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Look at the property map before making reservations to choose your location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    64
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
37
117
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

What a amazing view! I was speechless when we arrived. It;s a shame the power lines have to intrude! The room was quaint but quite musty smelling, my allergies were really irritated. Meals were decent, and for the convenience of having breakfast and dinner fresh and hot everyday. Very pleasant people, and very clean bathrooms.I would definitely stay again, just pack some damp rid to put out while your out all day. maybe more Lysol would work? I love the rockers on the porches.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

5 friends and I just had our second great stay at Big Lynn, great people, xlnt service, unmatched view, plenty of cofee to watch the mountain sunrise and sunset, good food..we could not have enjoyed our stay more.
inutes off the Blue Ridge Parkway East of the Mississippi

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Have stayed here before and will continue to come back. Great Atmosphere , Food is outstanding. Located in motorcycle paradise. The owners and staff are the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bergyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Staff is friendly & accomodating. Cabins are clean & cozy; bathroom fixtures are new; mattresses & other decor could use an update. Group cabins with mountain views have a shared front porch which is wonderfully suited for group travel. Price includes home-cooked meals for breakfast & dinner. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

On our third visit here, we stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the valley. These are old but have been kept up well. Ours was freshly painted outside. Its bathroom, freshened up since our last visit, was small but very well lighted, equipped with places to set our stuff, and had an excellent heater. The room included a desk chair and two easy chairs. The beds were good, comfortable but not outstanding. Rocking chairs on the front porch looked inviting, but it was too cold then.

We liked their cooking. A full hot breakfast set us up for a day of hiking, and the dinners were ample and well prepared. They make a different entrée every day, and you have two choices: take it or leave it <grin>. Actually, it’s a bit more flexible than that. We did not inquire about a vegetarian option, but expect it would be done well and graciously, as everyone seemed interested in giving good service.

Room Tip: Check their web site for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollyMan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We have been coming to this quaint , rustic, mountain lodge for the past 20 years, this year was the best yet. Under new management, renovations, and fabulous meals we couldn't ask for a better weekend for our annual motorcycle weekend with friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
1.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
207 reviews
24.0 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
92 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
558 reviews
5.9 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Lynn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lynn Lodge

Property: Big Lynn Lodge
Address: Hwy 226-A, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge that features a variety of accommodations with homecooked meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Lynn Hotel Little Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing