We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its many good points and one not so good point”
Review of Big Lynn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lynn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
St Petersburg, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Its many good points and one not so good point”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent one night at this lodge in late August. The good points are that the rooms are clean, the food is simple but good, the service is friendly and informative. The views are fantastic. The bad point: The room decor is very dated--back to the forties or fifties. . Dark inside and not too appealing because of that. The first room we got, the sink was in the room and the bathroom was smaller than the miniscule one we had in Amsterdam in March. They graciously switched us to one with a king size bed and a more spacious bathroom which I appreciated.

All things being equal, it is a good value for the money. I would stay there again but be sure to ask for a full bath when I reserved,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunshineFL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    63
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
35
116
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have been going here for many years to enjoy the cooler weather due to the altitude. It is not the most modern facility and they now have TV in the rooms but not with a full cable channel contingent. However we go for the quiet, and to escape the digital and audio/video world.

The lodge has been in existance since the 30's and is a series of both individual and connected cabins most of which are done in knotty pine. All rooms are clean, have incividual bathrooms, heat and A/C if needed; some would categorize the cabins as rustic but realize it is not the suburbs of Asheville, NC.

Rates include breakfast and dinner (MAP) served at times announced by ringing a large bell. Your table is designated by your room number and the longer you stay the closer you get to the windows overlooking the valley. If it's thinly booked then even a 1 night stay may get to sit by the window.

Most all units overlook the valley towards the SE (Morganton direction), however there are a few which face NC Hwy 226A and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The BRP is only 50' or so away but it's about a mile to access it at the Little Switzerland exit.

We will be going back just because we enjoy the views, quiet, and pleasant weather in the heat of summer. It could be easily by fully booked during the fall leaf season.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank etntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This lodge was very unique in that it offerred both breakfast and dinner. There were several choices for breakfast, but dinner was "take it or leave it" ;) (However, the owner told me they are glad to accommodate food preferences or restrictions if they are informed when the reservations are made.) The food was very good too -- especially the loaves of homemade bread. Considering this, the room was "bargain basement" price, but the view was nearly priceless!

To me, cleanliness is my first priority, and this place was very clean. It's old, but to me that makes it unique. I kind of like the "retro" feel of my childhood. I also prefer a "mom and pop" place to a chain. We rented a sort of cottage, but without any kitchen amenities. There are all types of lodging there though, so you need to check out their website. They are very biker-friendly, and there are lots of areas with adjoining rooms, or larger suites, adjoining cottages and such. There is a large gathering area with cozy places to read or chat and huge picture windows. You can also play shuffleboard and horseshoes, or just enjoy sitting on a bench and bird-watching.

One last point. The location of the lodge is VERY convenient, and towns in this area are small and choices are limited. We went to Grandfather Mountain on our way there, and were very grateful not to have to find a place to eat dinner. After breakfast, we went to Mount Mitchell and drove back to the lodge -- just in time to watch a huge thunderstorm come in. Again, very nice not to have to go out in the rain to find a place to eat!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank radavis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on Saturday, July 2. We rented a condo unit, which was a short distance away from the cottages and main dining lodge. The condo was nice - fully equipped and clean. The balcony has a good view. The bed was uncomfortable but we managed :) Dinner and breakfast is included in your room price. When you walk into the dining room, your room number is set up on you table. Dinner was turkey with mashed potatoes, green beans and sweet potato casserole. Breakfast was eggs, biscuits and gravy. (although they have other breakfast items for order). Not bad food and it kept us from having to go elsewhere and the view from teh dining room is amazing. Benches are set up around the main lodge where you can just sit and soak up the view. The owner was very accomodating and we enjoyed talking with her. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Look at the property map before making reservations to choose your location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

What a amazing view! I was speechless when we arrived. It;s a shame the power lines have to intrude! The room was quaint but quite musty smelling, my allergies were really irritated. Meals were decent, and for the convenience of having breakfast and dinner fresh and hot everyday. Very pleasant people, and very clean bathrooms.I would definitely stay again, just pack some damp rid to put out while your out all day. maybe more Lysol would work? I love the rockers on the porches.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

5 friends and I just had our second great stay at Big Lynn, great people, xlnt service, unmatched view, plenty of cofee to watch the mountain sunrise and sunset, good food..we could not have enjoyed our stay more.
inutes off the Blue Ridge Parkway East of the Mississippi

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Have stayed here before and will continue to come back. Great Atmosphere , Food is outstanding. Located in motorcycle paradise. The owners and staff are the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bergyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
1.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
201 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
126 reviews
24.0 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
551 reviews
13.9 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
87 reviews
5.6 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Lynn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lynn Lodge

Property: Big Lynn Lodge
Address: Hwy 226-A, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge that features a variety of accommodations with homecooked meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Lynn Hotel Little Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing