We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Quaint Motel - Super Nice Owner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Lynn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lynn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Quaint Motel - Super Nice Owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This place will bring back memories of days gone by with the Mom & Pop atmosphere! The owner, Hoyt, is a true example of an Inn Keeper! We arrived late on a rainy evening. We were tired, hungry, wet bikers! It was well after the dinner hour, but Hoyt made sure that we had home made turkey sandwiches, chips, drinks and home made apple pie that he made himself! The rooms were small, but very clean and updated with new bedding and thick towels. The knotty pine walls gave a homey feeling to some tired travelers as we were! The next morning, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast (included in the room fee) with a spectacular view of the mountainside from the dining room windows. The red rocking chairs on the porches provided a comfortable relaxing feel. We would absolutely 100% recommend this motel for the weary traveler or for just a relaxing get away in the mountains. Do not expect a swimming pool, a game room and all the modern stuff.....this motel will help you slow down and appreciate the word "relaxation"!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain side room for a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irapinklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    60
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
110
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our stay at Big Lynn Lodge was very enjoyable--had cabin number 101 which just had the most perfect view from the front porch with 2 comfortable rocking chairs. Breakfast is made to order and had the very best pancakes and waffles. Dinner was good and had a great help me made desert each night. You know when b'fast and dinner at s ready when the dinner bell rings--feel like a kd again. Met many pleasant fellow travelers as they passed by our cabin each night. Easy to find just off the Blue Ridge Pkway--will return whenever we can--try it.

Room Tip: Take time to call ahead if possible to let the front desk personnel help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slwcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Quaint but comfortable cabin rooms overlooking spectacular scenery, excellent food, great hosts. And that's just for starters. Hoyt and Vickie have been upgrading the rooms since they took ownership of the Lodge, so that quaint room has a very comfortable bed. No television, but who needs it when one can watch the storms forming way below in the valley and working their way up the mountains? The cabins - some with a row of rooms, others more like suites (I'm told) have roofed porches with rocking chairs. The main lodge, where one is served a substantial breakfast in the morning and a tasty dinner at night, offers a lounge with piano and shelves of books, a games table and downstairs there's an activity room which I must admit I've never checked out - too busy enjoying the scenery and the twisty mountain roads. Did I mention that Big Lynn Lodge is very biker-friendly?

I've stayed there a couple times, and it's a great place to go kick back, relax, enjoy the food and get a good night's sleep. I'll be going back whenever I can!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank low_ridin_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Some friends told us about this place. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery and peace and quiet. Views from our cabin (114) were great with two rockers on our front porch. Meal was country fried steak ( like a meatloaf type) with gravy. Pie was so good. Room was nothing fancy but clean and bed was comfortable. People were great who worked there. Only problem we had was getting service for breakfast. Poor waitress was having a rough morning. Enjoyed made to order breakfast. Did have to report a noisy air conditioning unit but was so cool while there we didn't need to leave it on. Will definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Cabin 114 was great because it was at the end and away from main lodge (restaurant). Best view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I came back to stay and the visit was just as good as the first time. The dinners were great especially the pies for desert.

The staff is always friendly and helpful.

I love that this place is quite and away from the main tourist places like Gattlenburg. Nothing like a mountain get away.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 133 it has a good view of the valley behind the lodge. There are better rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

A reminder of the past, with very old, but well-kept rooms, some with porches that face splendid views. Very convenient stop on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Breakfast and dinner are included. Dinner is a a simple set menu each night (iceberg lettuce mixed salad, lasagna, apple pie for example). At breakfast you order off the menu, and portions are generous.

But management is slipping, compared to our visits in past years. This time I tried all day to get through to make a reservation for the following day. My voice mail message left at noon was not answered until 4PM, and my other 3 calls got voice mail. The evening of our stay, I had a question about the room and tried to call the office at 9:05 PM. No answer, and the building with office and lounge area was completely dark. At breakfast the following morning we were among the first to be served, but the dining room was out of milk of any kind, and also out of tea. Last year the owners were very much a presence, making sure guests were comfortable and happy, but this time they were not around. I hope this was just an off-day.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LynCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in one of the suites which is actually a condo. Very relaxing sitting on the porch looking down the mountain. Food was good but you have assigned sitting which in our case was right in between two other tables not exactly private dining listening to other conversations. Otherwise then that a really good place and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danonatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
1.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
18.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.9 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Lynn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lynn Lodge

Property: Big Lynn Lodge
Address: Hwy 226-A, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge that features a variety of accommodations with homecooked meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Lynn Hotel Little Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing