We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”
Review of Big Lynn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lynn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Five buddies on motorcycles recently took a trip to the Blue Ridge Mountains to ride all the scenic roads. On a suggestion from a friend who had previously stayed at the Big Lynn Lodge, we booked rooms for a 4 day 3 night stay. We were all some what skeptical about not staying a national chain hotel, but after staying there the only problem we had was we couldn't stay longer. I don't think there are enough ways to describe the place and owners and how they bent over backwards to make us feel welcome to the point we almost felt like family. The place is very unique and interesting. Don't let the rustic mountain look of the place fool you. Even though it was established in 1930 the current owners have the place remodeled, very clean and comfortable yet maintaining the rustic mountain atmosphere and look. Breakfast and dinner are provided with the very reasonable price of your room. To quote Hoyt the owner "If you don't gain weight while you are here, we haven't done our job". That is an understatement! The home cooking which includes fresh bread and pies every day is unbelievable and no one leaves the table hungry. The rooms are very clean with updated bathrooms, new beds and bedding, new carpet, yet maintain the knotty pine wood. When they say the view is to die for, you have to see it with your own eyes as it can't be described.

We have already started planning our return trip for next year!!!!
Thanks Vickie and Hoyt!

Room Tip: Even though we only saw the rooms we stayed in, the quality and cleanliness was very consistent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Betty and I left Anderson,S.C. on May 5 to spend 3 days in the Lodge with some friends.Our friends had been staying at the lodge for over 40 years. This was our first visit. It was a pleasant drive of about 3 hours.Hoyt and Vicki Johnson operate this enterprise and are wonderful people willing to go to any reasonable length to please the guests.We made a reservation , and check in was fast and simple.
The room in the lodge was nice and clean with the bed made up ready for sleeping. The bathroom was ample in size and spotless.There was a front porch with new, white rocking chairs.However,the best was yet to come. The view of the valley below was just beyond description.You could literally see for miles while breathing the fresh mountain air.It was total relaxation siting in the rocking chair and looking at all of the beauty below. We watched a maple tree putting in new leaves as it sprang to life.Two meals were served,breakfast and dinner,with great food broiled, baked, or steamed.We observed several unique features 1. a witches broom in a large white pine;2. a birch tree growing from a rock outcropping ; 3.a birch tree growing in the low fork of a hemlock ;4. a crow that stayed around for 3 days ;4.a nest of bluebirds in a bluebird house. This was a great getaway for 3 great days of beauty. Yes we will be back.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the valley below. We were in room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at Big Lynn's for 5 nights, took advantage of free night special, and my wife and I really enjoyed their hospitality. We stayed in one of the rooms facing the mountains and had a great view each day in the rocking chairs they have on each porch. The rooms were very clean and parking was easy and close. The property sits just off the blue ridge parkway and all the roads are brand new. We enjoyed how close it was to Mt Mitchell, Grandfather Mountain, Linville Falls and several other parks and sites. This was like going back in time to a place I could imagine my grandparents would have stayed at each year. Everything is well maintained yet gives the appearance of what has been lost in today's slick hurry up and go vacation. The owners have found a way to make you feel welcome and comfortable and slow down for a few days. The breakfast and dinners are included and remind me of what an old time diner would serve, homemade tasty food yet still healthy. The things we really liked we're the homemade chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin and white chocolate macadamia cookies in between meals, the broiled trout, squash with onions and fresh baked bread they serve each night. We made several friends with couples that have been coming there for years who knew the history of the lodge going back to 1930.

Room Tip: 107 through 110 face the mountains with a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The room was very nice, clean comfortable bed and large television in the room. The parking was ample and right next to the room. The sunset and sunrise was beautiful sitting in the rocking chairs on the deck. We enjoyed the evening and dinner, then breakfast the following morning. It is a unique set up with plenty of good food to enjoy included in the price of the room. We really enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

Room Tip: Mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMexicoGrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We've stayed at the Big Lynn Lodge quite a few times and have enjoyed every visit. We now like cabin rentals with hot tubs, but you just beat the lodging and ambience here at the lodge. The owners make you feel very welcome and it's a uniquely wonderful experience to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingshoesbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been a professional mystery guest for most of my life. This was a vacation not work, and it was great. Friendly employees, comfortable beds and pillows, a nice flat screen TV, country cooking all made for a very nice stay. Better still was the view from the cabins; all with rocking chairs on the porches. The only minus was no internet in the cabin for those who need the service.

Room Tip: Any cabin facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My family and i decided to come back to Big Lynn one last time before the season ended for the year. We decided to stay in the "newer" part of the lodge which is on the right side of the office. We love staying here for the view on the valley below and for having breakfast and dinner served to you each day. Big Lynn is just out of the way enough from town but if you still need anything, you are about 10 to 15 minutes away from shopping, ect. Overall, the room was clean and well kept considering that the rooms are very outdated but that is what gives it its' charm. The only two issues were that the tv in the room would not stay on, i think it had a bad computer board and we did tell the front desk but nothing was really done about it. It would have been nice to have the tv swapped out from a room next door that was not being used. The other issue is that the heating system needs to be replaced. The baseboard heat is very uncomfortable and when you try to "level" it out with the a/c , it just doesn't quite get right. It would be great if they could upgrade to a better heating and air system. I know that they are closed during the hard winter months but it does get pretty windy and cold up there. WiFi was another issue in the rooms but you can walk down to the lobby and use it there and sit in the very comfy library area and enjoy the awesome views. As far as the food goes, it could be better. Breakfast is always the best. You only get your basic food items but it's always ready within a few minutes and taste good. You can ask for more but by the time you get done, you don't want any more. Dinner could be better. They always have a good choices in what they plan out to serve you but it's a hit and miss on being hot. One item may be just right but the other would be cold. You get pretty full from dinner as well because they serve you fresh bread, salad (wish they could go to walmart and get more dressing selections), dinner then desert. Overall, you can overlook some of the minor issues and enjoy a great time there. The staff is always friendly and welcoming. We have stayed there over the past few years and it's always a pleasure.

Room Tip: It really depends on your taste. The older cabins will give you that rustic feeling but have great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGfromCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
1.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
212 reviews
24.0 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
13.9 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins
Show Prices

Been to Big Lynn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lynn Lodge

Address: Hwy 226-A, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Little Switzerland
Price Range: £74 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge that features a variety of accommodations with homecooked meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Lynn Hotel Little Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing