We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Big Lynn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Lynn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I wanted to visit Little Switzerland. This place included your breakfast and dinner in the price. It had a nice view of the mountain from the restaurant. The longer you stayed there the closer you moved to the windows so that you could see the mountain view.
For breakfast you could order anything off of the menu with in reason. Dinners included a salad, homemade bread, the meal, and a dessert which was served with vanilla ice cream each night. You can order something else to eat but you will have to pay for that meal instead of what is provided.
We ate dinner there three nights and had turkey twice and roast beef once. It is highly recommended that you tip the wait staff.

The people here are real friendly and I would go back.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a newer hotel and a pool this is not the place for you. They do not have a p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Big Lynn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Did you know you can see a "witches broom" at the Big Lynn Lodge!! A fabulous experience! In the white pine tree just beside the parking lot-go in and and eat some lovely food and come back out and notice the dense growth on the white
pine tree beside the first cabin parking lot! You are blessed to see this natural phenomenon !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went here for our anniversary and my husband's birthday. Everything was wonderful. They went out of their way to make it special for us. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The views from the lodge are amazing. The meals were healthy and generous. All of the dinners included a salad, meat, two vegetables and either potatoes or rice and dessert! Everyone receives the same meal for dinner, but you can have whatever you want from the breakfast menu. Rooms are rustic but clean and well-maintained. It is a fantastic value for the price. SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Mostly single or double cottages. Wonderful views of mountains. Breakfast and dinner are included, which makes this a great deal. the one negative is There are NO choices at dinner . Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ct782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Big Lynn Lodge isn't quite a hotel/motel, and not really a B&B, it's somewhere in between. For the price of a mid-grade hotel you get a quaint accomodation, breakfast, dinner, a million dollar view, and ammenities that you ordinarily find in a B&B. To be honest if your acceptable standards are the Hilton and above this is not the place for you (the Blue Ridge is probably not either for that matter). Out cabin was very old, but in good repair. The knotty pine panelling has been on those walls for close to a century, if it's hung there a day, and we love that, but some folks just see old and get turned off. For all the age of the place it is lovingly maintained, and where possible made modern. The bed was super comfortable, and the large flat screen TV was a reminder that Big Lynn wasn't simply replying on "rustic charm" to bring the folks in. The food was not 5 star, but it was hearty homestyle fare, well prepared, and just like back home you can have seconds for no extra charge. Dinner is a fixed menu, as one might expect from a B&B, but breakfast is your choice from a solid selection of standard breakfast items. Both meals served in a dining room for which you could $20 for a PBJ sandwich and get it based on the view alone. The wait staff (as are the front lobby staff) friendly and helpful at all times. And for those drawn to locations for it's history, the place was originally named for "Big Lyn", the eons old Linden tree which sat out front, marked the county line, was where local lovers met, traitors hung, and local scoff laws escaped the Sheriff of One Countty's jurisdiction (all wonderfully explained on a huge marker at the site). Big Lynn died in 1965, but her place is taken by two or her offspring, both good sized trees in their own right these days. Big Lynn Lodge is a bargain, and you would pay more than what they ask and be glad for the experience.

Room Tip: The cabins have the best view, especially the cabins numbered from 101, 102, and 107 through 120.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blue-Eyes-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Big Lynn Lodge, our first trip to North Carolina, and had a wonderful time. The view is wonderful the food is great the people are very friendly. Would definitely go back again. Reasonable rates breakfast and dinner included, nice and inviting atmosphere.

Room Tip: Any room facing the mountains would have a good view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We happened upon this gem by accident and decided to see if they had an availability that night. Thankfully, they did! The rates are very reasonable, the views are breathtaking and the service is TOP NOTCH! We felt like our stay was very appreciated. Customer service is dead in a lot of places nowadays, but not here. We were felt very welcomed. We arrived too late for dinner (we had already eaten dinner anyway) but had their breakfast the next morning. The food was very good and our waitress was very friendly. We are so happy to have found this beautiful place and will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slp3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
1.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
209 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
134 reviews
24.0 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
96 reviews
13.9 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
95 reviews
5.9 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Lynn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lynn Lodge

Address: Hwy 226-A, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Little Switzerland
Price Range: £72 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge that features a variety of accommodations with homecooked meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Lynn Hotel Little Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing