We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and Romantic 25th Wedding Anniversay...”
Outside Chalet Switz at the top of Grassy Mountain Road just a mile up from the Switzerland Inn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Chalet Switz at the top of Grassy Mountain Road just a mile up from the Switzerland Inn
The front of Chalet Switz The all-wood dining area in Chalet Switz
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Outside Chalet Switz at the top of Grassy Mountain Road just a mile up from the Switzerland Inn
The front of Chalet Switz
The all-wood dining area in Chalet Switz
The inglenook with its stone wood-burning fireplace
Close up of Fireplace
Kitchen with range/oven out of view behind the fireplace chimney
Spiral Stair to Loft
Sunny upstairs bedroom loft
Bedroom Loft with Kohler Greek Tub
Yard with New Dawn Climber, ten new Rose Bushes and Berry Bushes
Sunrise on walk to the village center along Grassy Mountain Road
An evening mood along Grassy Mountain Road
Fall leaf change along Grassy Mountain Road
A neighbor's home at the beginning of Grassy Mountain Road
Dusting of snow on our road
Our old artesian well house and stream along Grassy Mountain Road
Stairs built almost a century ago leading off of Grassy Mountain Road
The nearby Switzerland Inn-- a great place for meals and to take in the views
Ice Cream Shop across from the Switzerland Inn
Another excellent place to dine in the village, next to rare and used bookstore
Below the Switzerland Inn on the hike to Grassy Falls
Another building on walk to Grassy Falls
Nearing the falls
Grassy Falls, a two-mile hike from Chalet Switz
Chalet Switz as a Tower in 1932 with NC Supreme Court Justice Heriot Clarkson
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Little Switzerland, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Romantic 25th Wedding Anniversay Getaway!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stumbled upon this quaint stone chalet while looking at places to get away for a romantic and quiet anniversary. Since it was our 25th, we wanted it to be special. Last year we stayed in a cabin called Fawn Valley in Hocking Hills, OH. This year we were looking for a Mountain. We like to spend time each year in prayer and praise as we thank Jesus for our life together. We had a wonderful time and loved the views as we climbed the road to the chalet. The village of Little Switzerland has many things to offer. You are close to everything from mining for gems, taking in beautiful sites and hiking to beautiful waterfalls. We did all of these as well as enjoyed breakfast at the Little Switzerland Inn, Lunch at a local café and a wonderful trip to the ice cream and fudge shop. Bettie, the owner was easy to contact and very concerned that everything was in order for us when we arrived. Thank you so much for giving us such a memorable 25th anniversary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gentle breeze that we felt insice the chalet as the upstairs windows were open.
Liked least: We are ok with curvy roads and high altitudes, but it could be a little tough on some one that gets car sick very easily.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarheel20...
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Chalet was very neat and clean and located in a beautiful location at the top of a mountain. A bit challenging to drive up the mountain to get to it, but worth it. We enjoyed the location so close to the parkway and to so many hiking trails. The restaurants nearby, at The Switzerland Inn and Cafe Switzerland, were very good. We also enjoyed going to the Apple Orchard at Altpass. Very fun vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Drive up the hill is a bit scary
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasharoun...
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in the mountains”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Previous reviews about the Chalet were very helpful and spot on in describing what we should expect. We changed our reservations a few times and Bettie stayed in constant contact always patient and understanding. Her attention to detail with the decor, pillows, and cleanliness of the bathrooms were all top notch! She also provided some great recommendations for dining, etc near Little Switzerland as well as during our stay in Asheville. Although most probably visit during the Summer/Fall months, we loved the beautiful "leafless" landscape and really enjoyed the snow capped mountain views. The skies were so clear at night, an experienced star gazer could probably point out some of the constellations! It was indeed a perfect romantic getaway for two and we will definitely return in the Fall! Thank you Bettie and Steven (the house keeper) keep up the great work!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Reviewed 20 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AL
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Historic and unique nature of the dwelling
Liked least: No laundry facilities
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SC
Reviewed 1 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: the elegant simplicity
Liked least: n/a
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta
Reviewed 6 December 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing