We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyline Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Saw the 'special - buy a nite get a nite free that Mike was running on tripadvisor , and took advantage of it......man what a neat place to stay! I loved it! Got the room with the balcony :-) got to see some amazing sunsets and awesome sunrises , if your coming up to ride your bike I would highly recommend staying here,breakfast was very tasty and filling! I can't wsit to come back!!! Thanks Mike

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nofives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Been there for 2012 fall foliage trip in mid Oct. The restaurant was so crowed and it took so long and we were starving, so we decided to use breakfast area upstair to cook our own meal. The staff was very nice and brought free waffle for us later on. The room was decent, clean and warm, with front balcony to watch sunrise... and it was really good place to stay and watch sunrise.

Room Tip: wake up early, cross the street to Skyline Overlook. The scenery is really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamwarnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I came across the Skyline Inn several years ago on a motorcycle ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway. The property is located at the intersection of the BRP, 226, and 226A. It's a great place to stay in the mountains in that you are centered amoung Linville Falls and Mt. Mitchell with Boone about an hour in one direction and Asheville a little farther in the opposite direction.

Mike has been working on improving the place every time I stop by. The rooms are clean but the layout is dated. The bathrooms are small, but everything works and is clean. I enjoy just going downstairs and seeing what Mike and Joe are working on. Mike's wife, Lynn, is a great cook (meatloaf to die for...) and Mike made some delicious steaks the last night we were there.

There is a good motorcycle parking area behind the hotel on the third floor. It's convenient for those staying on the third floor, and that is about everyone...

I'll stay again. and again.

Room Tip: The third floor is level with the parking lot behind the hotel. Don't let that throw you. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

A very charming inn just off the BRP. The owners do seem to treat this place more like a b&b than a hotel, and you can see their hard work. The rooms have hardwood floors, fridges, and wood paneling, and the shared balcony rooms have screen doors and communal chairs to enjoy the superb view. That said, there's also a lot across the street from the hotel that is a direct overlook and is better for photos and such, and that's available to all residents.

Didn't have dinner there (we're vegetarians, and the veggie lasagna X 4 didn't entice us), but we did have breakfast - Waffle House-style waffle, scrambled eggs (the only option), and bacon (and if you know I didn't eat it, you passed the reading comprehension test) for $6.50. There is a big interest in good beer here, with a tasting menu, and the shop had a lot of quality beverages - I don't drink any more for health reasons (stupid pancreas!) but quickly noted bottles of Chimay Blue, Rodenbach, and some NC specialties. It's probably be nice to crack open one of those and sit out on the balcony as the sun does last call.

You can also walk to the Museum Of NC Minerals from here if you so choose, but otherwise you're back in your car if you need anything other than beer. But 226 has some restaurants and gem shops and even the big W itself (in case the whole experience is too euphoric for you and you need a little soul-crushing excursion) within 10 minutes.

Back to the hotel, a beautiful place to stay at a good price while you're on the BRP. And the icing on the cake, you're in Little Switzerland, North Carolina, the best-named town in the USA!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottInPTC-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean rooms, hospitable staff, friendly atmosphere. Enjoyed dinner and breakfast...great cooks! Great parking spot for motorcycles! right off the parkway...there is even a walmart about 1.5 miles away. Will definitely stay again in the near future!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April4281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We just loved this place! I was a little nervous that our room was on the 3rd floor and no elevator. However, you just head up the driveway in the back, and there you park your car to enter the 3rd floor. Mike is a great Inn Keeper! We enjoyed some of his craft beers. It was so nice of him to make a giant carafe of coffee in the morning to enjoy the balcony overlooking the mountains! The restaurant wasn't serving the night we arrived, but Joe (Mike's helper) suggested the Mountain View Restaurant located just down the hill. They have an awesome menu including North Carolina Rainbow Trout. Thanks Mike for being fantasic host!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Yes the place is a little rustic and such but this was EXACTLY what we wanted. Great food, great beer on tap, great conversation and the room was perfect. Felt like I was on the set of the The Bob Newhart Show. If you want a nice untainted place then this is the pefect place. We book 2 more night for the fall leave immediately.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
137 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
579 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
99 reviews
15.0 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
96 reviews
5.0 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Village Inn

Address: 12255 NC Hwy. 226A, Milepost 331, Between Little Switzerland and Spruce Pine, Little Switzerland, NC 28777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range: £66 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skyline Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Milepost 331 on the Blue Ridge Parkway, halfway between Asheville and Blowing Rock/ Boone. Just 25 miles north of Mt. Mitchell and 25 miles south of Grandfather Mountain. We are motorcycle friendly and, in fact we rent Dual Sport Motorcycles. We are also Pet friendly. We are perched high on top of the Blue Ridge adjacent to the Parkway and only 200 feet from the Parkway ramp at the NC226 exit. We have 16 affordable rooms with a balcony that runs the length of the building overlooking the Catawba Valley and surrounding mountains. We have covered motorcycle parking as well as ground floor access to all 3 floors. The building has been renovated with new plumbing, electrical and refinished red oak floors. There is some very unique wood paneling made from 22 varieties of native wood. We serve guests only in the restaurant with an excellent beer and wine selection for on and off premises. Our gift shop has some unique rocks, gems and minerals, jewelry and Diamondback NC226A souvenirs and T-shirts. We pride ourselves on customer focus and hospitality. Come see us at the Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Skyline Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Village Inn & Cavern Tavern Hotel Little Switzerland
Skyline Village Inn And Cavern Tavern
Skyline Village Hotel Cavern Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing