We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating place; a bit more rustic than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skyline Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating place; a bit more rustic than expected”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Firstly, I must say that Mike is the perfect host and has interesting stories to tell about the provenance of the place. He cooks a nice breakfast and the view is wonderful.

The hotel has tons of character and was built from assorted local materials including some amazing woodwork back in the 40's.

It looks like the place requires a lot of maintenance and could do with an infusion of cash. Housekeeping was sub-par, sadly, and the tip envelope in each of the two rooms we had for the night remained empty. The bath in one room was not clean and the fridge in the other room had someone else's leftovers in it.

During the night it rained quite hard and the roof leaked in our room. Fortunately it leaked between the two beds :)

There was a lot of water damage evident in the bar area where the pool table is.

I would still recommend the place if you can handle the level of rustic that it is... It was fine for our purposes, but some might not be able to forgive the missteps.

I can imagine that keeping the place maintained is a full time job due to it's age, but the place could be made pretty darn wonderful with a whole lot of additional TLC.

Mike is starting up a motorcycle rental business from behind the inn, and I wish him well with it; I think it is a great idea and might well return to try it out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the inn have the view. There are no view windows in the rooms, you can sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raindance01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    49
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
79
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Four buddies and I spent four days riding the great motorcycle roads in the area. This was the perfect place to stay. Comfortable rooms, amazing views from the balcony, a great location at 226 and the Blue Ridge Parkway, an excellent host in the owner Mike, covered bike parking in the rear, and great drafts on tap from the nearby Blind Squirrel Brewery. If you ride a bike, it just doesn't get any better than that!

Although we were there before the official summer season begins in May, Mike made sure we were welcomed each morning with coffee, juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns and either waffles or pancakes. He was in the Cavern Tavern each evening on our return with some of the best beer I've had.

Everyone agreed that our stay was perfect. We are already planning to do it again.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have a full-length balcony across the front of the inn. They also have direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This inn was perfect. It is not all ritzy and dolled up. It is not the Hilton. It IS a wonderful, quiet place to stay with a wonderful story. The owners were wonderful and answered a million questions about the history of the hotel. The room was lovely with beautiful details on every surface. My husband and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the time to just be quiet and together. I will be coming back the next time I want a quiet weekend or want to spend some time in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineG2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

What an unexpected find! We had an enjoyable stay here for 5 nights in their off-season. The owner/operator is a lovely, hard working person who went 'above and beyond' to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Each morning, he prepared a delicious breakfast for us and was available to assist with everything we needed.

It rained nearly the entire time we were there, but even through the bad weather, the view from the balcony was beautiful. The rooms are cozy and clean. The small store offers beer, wine, local crafts and gemstones.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the skyline one night on a planned trip to go snow tubing at Jonas ridge. This is not your normal chain hotel. It has alot of character, very unique. We stayed on the third floor, great view from the balcony of the mountains. Lots of neat woodwork in the hallways and rooms. The man who built the place put his name in stone in the foyer, John Greer. We had a good time reading the history of the place. The common area has a pool table and bar with gas fireplaces. We had the place to ourselves since it was off season, but John made sure we had some coffee made in the morning. We will definitely come back. Loved the quirkiness of the place, bed is comfy, balcony view is great (snowing in the morning), clean bathroom, small but worked for us. Oh yeah, the tubing was great fun at night, super fast!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CHERYLPEARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If your preference is sanitized, ubiquitous motel chains this isn't the place for you! But if you like quirky places with history, character and individuality, don't miss Skyline Village Inn. It was handcrafted in the 1940's, with local hardwoods featured in the paneling and furniture; don't miss the unique table in the restaurant with sides of marquetry and a top embedded with mica radio parts. In some places of the hotel the age is showing, but the owners are in a continuous process of upgrading it without destroying its character. The hotel also has a convenient shop offering minerals, jewelry and gifts, as well as wine and beer. Of course, the view is spectacular!

The owner Mike Thrift is one of the nicest, most accommodating hosts ever! We arrived at dinnertime on Superbowl Sunday; off season, and with no restaurants open nearby. He made a little Superbowl party for us, complete with pizza and chicken wings! He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable during our five-night stay there.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleburne, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just got home from North Carolina and viewing the changing of the trees. What a beautiful experience in a new place. We stayed at the Skyline Village Inn which is centrally located to
some of the great driving and walking areas. We went to Linville Falls and walked the 3 miles
down to and back, which was not an easy feat for an almost 70 year old widow. But made it
with no problems and felt so blessed to have been able to do so. What a view it was. In the area was Crabtree Falls and Grandfather Mountain. These are a must see while in this part
of the country. Mike and Lynn, owners of the Inn, make the most awesome pumpkin waffles
I have ever had, also my first and very delicious. There were also some other falls that we
walked to on our way back but I have since forgotten which they were. So much to see and
so little time to see it all. The Blue Ridge Parkway was worth the trip in itself.

Room Tip: Check out online for best prices, etc. You have a choice of balcony rooms, which is where you see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirlieJChilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
127 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
551 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
92 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
127 reviews
15.0 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Village Inn

Property: Skyline Village Inn
Address: 12255 NC Hwy. 226A, Milepost 331, Between Little Switzerland and Spruce Pine, Little Switzerland, NC 28777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skyline Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Milepost 331 on the Blue Ridge Parkway, halfway between Asheville and Blowing Rock/ Boone. Just 25 miles north of Mt. Mitchell and 25 miles south of Grandfather Mountain. We are motorcycle friendly and, in fact we rent Dual Sport Motorcycles. We are also Pet friendly. We are perched high on top of the Blue Ridge adjacent to the Parkway and only 200 feet from the Parkway ramp at the NC226 exit. We have 16 affordable rooms with a balcony that runs the length of the building overlooking the Catawba Valley and surrounding mountains. We have covered motorcycle parking as well as ground floor access to all 3 floors. The building has been renovated with new plumbing, electrical and refinished red oak floors. There is some very unique wood paneling made from 22 varieties of native wood. We serve guests only in the restaurant with an excellent beer and wine selection for on and off premises. Our gift shop has some unique rocks, gems and minerals, jewelry and Diamondback NC226A souvenirs and T-shirts. We pride ourselves on customer focus and hospitality. Come see us at the Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Skyline Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Village Inn And Cavern Tavern
Skyline Village Inn & Cavern Tavern Hotel Little Switzerland
Skyline Village Hotel Cavern Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing