We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!”
Review of Alpine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Thank you Ron and Susan....only one night, but were treated as if we were there for a week! Views are simply magnificent morning and night and when the Wife went to sleep, I went into the T.V. room and watched a great civil war movie, free of charge! We plan to go back for more than one night. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimG189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

We planned to stay here a couple of days while exploring the Blue Ridge Parkway, room seemed OK with a great view, however the owner allowed a group of chain smoking bikers to occupy the room below us. I even witnessed him giving them a discount over the rate he charged us.
Our balcony was unusable and our room filled with smoke.....not cool! WIFI does not work in rooms. Bathrooms are VERY POOR. Avoid this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Regedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was our second visit to the Alpine Inn, after finding it by accident last year. The rooms are comfortable, cozy and quaint, with no tv or phones to interrupt daylong gazing from the balcony. The view is spectacular, sunrises were amazing, and the innkeepers' recommendations for drives and hikes nearby were appreciated. This is a peaceful, get-away-from-it-all place, with wonderful fresh fruits and breads for breakfast for a small fee. The hosts are sincere, friendly, love to make you comfortable and happy, and would give you the shirt off their backs! Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We spent 5 wonderful days here! The views are breathtaking and the Inn Keepers are great! We will certainly come back and stay here again! We saw an incredible sun rise every morning :) I enjoyed getting back to basics!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

WOW! Talk about varying reviews. I think this reflects understanding what you are staying here for. If you want some quality time with your significant other after viewing the scenery in the area without a 4 star cost or amenities, but a 5 star view, this is the place for you. Not all rooms have balconies, but they do have amazing views.

Don't expect heavenly beds, but we did get a good nights sleep. This is an old building, so expect some noise from above or next store, but it is a quaint building, with a great daytime view conveniently located off the Blue Ridge trail.

Can parking be possibly limited, yes given 100% occupancy and multiple cars per room.

The rooms don't have TV's, but we liked the social aspect of the group TV room. While you may not be able to pick the show, you do get the opportunity to visit with other visitors.

Get up early to take showers, as we found the hot water limited later in the morning.

You won't get this breakfast view anywhere! Yes, you do have to pay for the breakfast and yes you could get more somewhere else, but this is all about the view and the social aspect.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DGStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Found this place by accident, a lucky accident. It was dark and foggy and I was so happy just to get off of the road. But it turned out I was glad it was this particular place. The hosts were very kind and you could tell they love serving people. The room was cute and the breakfast was healthy, generous and delicious. The sad part of my experience was that the fog never went away during my stay, so I never saw the view. But I'd love to return on a clear day, because I've never been in a more serene place. Each room has a balcony and so does the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

What can I say...I expected more especially after knowing this was a B&B...I didn't expect to pay for breakfast...and on a cool morning hoped for something to warm the chilllng bones. The view was outstanding from our balcony.m though! I will say this Inn is very rustic, tiny shower, bath etc ... The bed sagged horribly and challenging to sleep at best. On our second morning we ate breakfast at another inn and it was great with view, hot, plentiful. Lack of phone reception and WiFi was poor. We even brought our own DVDs and player. No TV in rooms and challenging to adjust the temperature in the room with "cast" iron electric stove. We decided to leave early as I felt inconvenienced as those that wanted to watch the presidential debate carried more weight than what we would have preferred as there again were NO TVs in the room ...only in some common Room near the office. When asked for return of one nights stay they told me I needed a 3 day cancelation policy and took my money with no refund...not happy.
beware..they essentially took monies for a night I did not stay....We appreciated Ron giving us a room more adequate for our physical needs but still but the rooms are sparce, and I felt the owners efforts to be courteous were in a non courteous manner..I would expect a refund.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for...and I thought booking early would be better...tsk!! Caveat Emptor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldjunquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
2.6 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
209 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
137 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
99 reviews
12.9 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
96 reviews
7.5 mi away
Albert's Lodge at Mt. Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn

Address: 8576 Highway 226A, Little Switzerland, NC 28752
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Switzerland
Price Range: £49 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing