We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay!!!”
Review of Alpine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is my third time staying at this property, and it keeps getting better every time! What an incredible view and relaxing stay! I slept like a baby and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Thank you Ron and Susan for another fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineInn, Owner at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are so happy that your stay with us was Amazing. Thank you ! See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time. Be sure to check out the website (which has pictures of every room!) or you may be surprised to see no TV in your room and a modest charge for breakfast.

We thought the rooms were on the small side but perfect for what we were looking for, a place to rest after a day of hiking and exploring. They were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was awesome - we would both recommend the "Full Alpine Breakfast" and the view from the porch was as amazing as the one from our room. (We staying in room 5.)

If you're looking to sleep in be sure to draw the drapes before turning in or you may not fully appreciate the sun rise through your window the next morning.

There are limited parking "spaces" next to the inn but there is ample overflow on the shoulder of the road across the street.

Ron and Susan were great and were spot on with their service and recommendations for local cuisine. There is a small shopping area just north of the inn on 226A with a great cafe and we also thoroughly enjoyed the Mountain View Restaurant (where 226A and 226 intersect).

Finally, definitely bring a jacket or long sleeves. We thought that it would be fairly warm in July but still needed a light jacket for the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 - 6 are on the 2nd of a 3 story building where each floor is 3 rooms wide. Room six may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineInn, Owner at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful things you have to say about our Alpine Inn. We look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. I chose it because of the views shown on the web site. They were just as good as shown. Ron and Sue were really friendly and helpful. We had an upper floor room with balcony. All very clean. Yes the bathroom is small, be it was more than adequate. I agree with another review, if you want all the frills, aircon etc then this is probably not for you. However if you want a genuine away from all it all stop, just a stones throw from the parkway, I would would say, it's definitely worth a stop. The breakfast, although we had to pay was excellent, a wonderful bowl of fresh fruit and yogurt. Home made granola, the best we have had in 5 weeks and home made bread, plus all the coffee or tea you want. Very good value. If we ever are passing your way again we will be back. Thank you

Room Tip: Upper floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed a night, it was very peaceful and serene. The bathroom was small but was OK. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The staff was friendly and courteous. The breakfast was very good, consisting of granola, fresh fruit, coffee, bread and juice.

Room Tip: If available get a top floor room, view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakotasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms with a view window. The room was very small and I wish we would have opted to pay a little more for a larger room. The shower was about 3 foot square but clean as was the rest of the room. The sunrise was spectacular. Susan and Ron were wonderful and made us feel right at home. There are no TVs in the rooms but there is one in the guest room along with a ton of books and board games. I spent time just laying in the hammock listening to the birds and taking in the views.

The Alpine Inn is just a few miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway and is very convenient if you are traveling the parkway as we were.

Room Tip: Spurge on a larger room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived by bicycle (as usual) dripping, cold and hungry...in need of a heater and a wash-up. Greeted by the proprietor without a blink! We took a room with a view window and, when the rain finally cleared, it featured a stunning panorama with a clear view of Table mountain. Boss said, "sun up at 6:30am" and since there were no blinds on the window, that is exactly what we propped ourselves on our pillow to witness. It was fabulous! They offer a breakfast menu (no gluten free options except a fruit bowl) served around a family style table. One steep mile down and one steep mile back up...definitely worth it.

Building is admittedly a bit old, but with charm (no TV in room and few outlets) and clean, clean, clean.

Room Tip: Most rooms have stair access so call ahead if your physical abilities won't allow that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Whitakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Alpine Inn was very comfortable, and Susan and Ron are friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious with a spectacular view from the private balcony. The room also had a very convenient charging station on the desk. We selected home made granola for breakfast -- delicious!! We would definitely enjoy staying again at the Alpine Inn. Thank you Susan and Ron!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
2.6 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
209 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
137 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
99 reviews
12.9 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
96 reviews
7.5 mi away
Albert's Lodge at Mt. Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn

Address: 8576 Highway 226A, Little Switzerland, NC 28752
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Switzerland
Price Range: £49 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing