We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Switzerland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Switzerland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just like everyone says, the staff is so friendly and helpful. The guests were also very friendly. We stayed in Chanticleer C-14. The view was amazing. It seems to me the best views are the Inn and Chanticleer 9-16. The room was very clean and smelled good. It is a HUGE room with a sofa bed and 2 queens. We thought the food in the restaurant was OK. We preferred the bar. The food was quite good there. It's very homey feeling. It didn't have a view like the restaurant, but we didn't mind. The servers were friendly and did a great job keeping our drinks filled. The fire pit was amazing. We could only go one night, as the other nights were too cold. But don't miss it, especially in the early evening. It's true that the Wi-fi is shoddy, but I didn't mind it too much. The only downers were a squeaky bathroom door and the pipes making noises in the wall. But I'd go again in a heartbeat. It was very nice. Oh yes, our phone map took us on some quite interesting turns to get there. I think we went 8 miles or so on 226A. I would avoid 226A except a little patch you take when you get off the BRP. Although, my husband thought it was the best part of the ride.

Room Tip: I would choose the Inn or Chanticleer 9-16 building. They seem to be the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    171
    42
    17
    2
See reviews for
137
286
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This spot on earth is nothing less than amazing. The God given beauty is easy to accent with the Switzerland Inn. It is the staff that runs the Inn that puts it over the top. The Inn's lobby and authentic feel is warm and inviting. We were there for mostly cloudy, foggy and cool weather, which happens frequently in the mountains, even in the summer, which is why we go up, right? They kept a large, beautiful fire going and going in the beautiful , stone fireplace . We stayed in the Balsam cottage and had room for all our gear and set up for drinks, and snacks and light lunchs . This is a hundred year old cottage, so it is rustic with no microwave, but had a dorm size refrigerator not a kitchen, but a roomy table for dining or working. The bathrooms are newly remodeled with nice big stone tiles and new fixtures, they were great showers.

Room Tip: This Inn is friendly to all people. I enjoyed the grounds and witnessed seniors and young couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursemary13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My fiancée and I started a road trip to Asheville with a night’s stay at the Switzerland Inn. We had a fairly late check-in, but the on-site staff were quite vibrant, helpful and friendly. We stayed in one of the A-frame units which were awesome! There were two bedrooms in the unassuming units that utilized the available space quite nicely. Despite the colder temperature, the cabin was very warm and inviting.

The only reason I would consider staying anywhere else on the property is due to the amazing views they had from the lawn-facing suites. Definitely worth the price of admission.

Not only was the staff great and the property amazing, but the breakfast buffet was quite good as well. Not sure what brand of coffee they served there, but I had about three cups since it was so good. Across the board, this is a great place to stay when visiting the area. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A-frames for privacy. Lawn-facing rooms for the awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IT_road_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for business. Views are amazing so good for a vacation. Food and service in the hotel and restaurant is also first class. Rooms are large and clean and I had nice views also. Only downside is the internet (which is a bit unreliable) and the fact that the mobile phone coverage is poor (which is important if you're not on vacation).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed 1 night here and enjoyed the views from the lawn and from the restaurant as the sun was setting. The lobby also has beautiful views and a nice big fireplace in the sitting area. This was a perfect stopover along the Blue Ridge Parkway and a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: I asked for a ground floor room for accessibility reasons and was given a large room in the Chanticl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamble67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I were taking a motorcycle ride through the entire Blue Ridge Parkway and was looking for a place to stay for a couple days in the middle of the trip. We found the Switzerland Inn online and thought we would give it a try and were completely impressed with everything about the Inn. The room we had was like a little cottage and very cozy, all the hotel staff was very friendly and remembered your name. The Inn had a great little bar with live music and the meals at the restaurant was just as good as any 4 star restaurant.

If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like home with amazing food in the middle of the forest, all for a very reasonable price then this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzikammerer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We took a family trip here to spend some summer time in the mountains. This Inn was the perfect choice for us as it has awesome views, great service and a spectacular Friday buffet. Everybody working here goes out of their way to help you with everything. The staff was familiar with area attractions and were especially helpful in finding us the best whitewater outfitter. The rooms were spacious and clean and the restaurant had good food. If there was any drawback I would only say that the in room wifi was a little quirky, but who comes to the mountains for the great wifi?!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
2.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
198 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
125 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
19.4 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
90 reviews
21.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Switzerland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Switzerland Inn

Property: Switzerland Inn
Address: 86 High Ridge Road, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Switzerland Hotel Little Switzerland
Switzerland Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing