We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quaint Inn and cottages; however, terrible restaurant on the property.”
Review of Switzerland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Switzerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Switzerland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Beautiful mountain views in a quiet, mountaintop setting. Unfortunately, there is only ONE restaurant on the property and no other place to eat within miles. And, sadly, The Chalet falls far below expectations. The menu looks great, but the taste is not there! The Inn caters to weddings, motor bikers and other large groups. The needs of an "individual" are, apparently, not highly regarded. Our complaints range from not tasting good, to cold, to way overdone (I.e. cold, gray prime rib when medium to medium-rare was ordered) to an appetizer being forgotten. The prices are high but the quality is low! What should have been a beautiful 3-day anniversary celebration was anything but beautiful and cost just under $900.00. No "bang for your buck" here!

Room Tip: I can't add a tip to help travelers choose a good room because we do not intend to refer this pl...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Switzerland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a fine old inn, with a beautiful view and a great common room with a superb fire. They even let us tend the fire. Unfortunately when we arrived the cloud was down , but the next day it lifted and gave us the view. It is also right on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side with a view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were recently married at the Switzerland Inn. The breathtaking views are incredible! Everything went perfectly from the rehearsal dinner to the reception! The staff was very nice and provided great service throughout all events. Our family and friends cannot stop talking about the food. The prime rib is unbeatable! They catered to our every need and provided the best wedding day! The rooms were very nice and clean. We especially loved the Heidi Suite with the fireplace and view! We can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank MCL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After riding the BRP until mid afternoon we came to Switzerland Inn. Looked so appealing that even though we had no reservations, we pulled in. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our over night stay.Had a room in the Inn on second floor. The view was breath taking.! Our room had a nice balcony which we enjoyed that nice breezy afternoon. One small inconvenience (to me) was no elevator. I quickly consolidated what I needed though for the night and was much easier going up the stairs. Our room was very comfortable, no noise from other rooms and bed was extra comfortable. We dined in the bar area that night as we had had late lunch. Enjoyed our selections (lobster rolls) and good beer. Place begin to fill up quickly. They lit the fire pit for us and a few other couples and had a wonderful talking until late at night. Breakfast in the restaurant next morning was another hit. The view was outstanding as was the good coffee. Have only compliments for Switzerland Inn. Just wish we had been able to stay for longer than one night! Can't wait until we are in this area again so I can make my return trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gstrc501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Don't use the word charming much but it fits here. Full of history & fascinating memorabilia. Very comfortable rooms, high quality restaurant and pleasant staff. All in a verdant area next to the BRP. Hard to beat. Not many places left like this. Go!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank John Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location is pristine with rooms that have balconies for incredible views. The staff is wonderful. Staff members are knowledgeable and helpful when you have requests or questions. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The bed and sheets were very soft. The rooms did not smell like cleaners, but were obviously well cleaned. The price is a little high, but the quality is easily noticed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Visited the last week of the season, stayed 3 nights. Great Pub, had outstanding entertainment, GREAT hamburgers, and super service!

We stayed in the Main Lodge, 2nd floor, great views. Room was quite dated, but huge. Too cold for a fire pit, I missed that.

Enjoyed the homey lodge atmosphere.

Restaurant was good, too, super breakfasts, and dinner was great one night, not so great the other, think it was a misunderstanding.

We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Many different options, something for everyone.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PixiePixels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Switzerland
2.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
209 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
134 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
19.4 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
97 reviews
13.0 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Switzerland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Switzerland Inn

Address: 86 High Ridge Road, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Little Switzerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Switzerland
Price Range: £51 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Switzerland Hotel Little Switzerland
Switzerland Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing