We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frills.. but clean”

Southern Inn Lumberton
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Inn Lumberton
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“no frills.. but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at hotel 5/2013 and noticed they had a sanitation rating of 98.5 posted. This is an economy hotel but clean, fairly updated, comfortable, and allowed pets. Convenient to highway and several restaurants. We have this one pegged for a return trip next year. Let me point out my "cleanliness rating below". An average rating means clean, but there was dust along the floor boards. I give an "excellent" ONLY to places that have absolutely no dust buildup anywhere.

Room Tip: We snagged a first floor room, at the very end. We found this quite convenient for potty runs with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredsmom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    29
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
19
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otway NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just what I was looking for in a budget hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds and decent price. I would stay here again. Easy on and off Interstate. Within walking distance of several places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is an economy hotel but the outside is very cute. It's a two story hotel and it's right off the highway which was convenient. It is pet friendly, which I always like and the front desk person was polite and got me checked in quickly.

We were staying overnight on our way to another location and it was just what we needed.

It was clean - which is always my biggest concern. I was very happy with this place and would stay here again when travelling

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a clean, reasonably priced hotel if you need a night off of I-95. Stopped over Thanksgiving with my family and my dog. Everything in the room was clean and functioning and it was convenient to restaurants, a gas station and I-95.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbugger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

As a business traveler who usually stays in a hotel a minimum of 2 nights a week, this is great find. We have tried several hotels in the area but this is our favorite. Located within walking distance of several restaurants. Rooms are clean, bed good, furnishings clean and safe. Truck parking available. Price reasonable!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank hotshoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I really can't review this hotel's rooms, etc., since I didn't get to stay there.

Booked a King NON-smoking room on Priceline, however when arrived at the hotel, the only availability was a smoking king, or 2 twins non-smoking. The clerk was difficult to understand and really didn't offer any help, other than letting me sniff the smoking room (it stank) to see if I wanted to take it.

We chose to cancel the reservation, but she wouldn't (couldn't) do anything about the refund, and we went elsewhere. Called Priceline later and they were great in confirming the situation with the hotel while I was on the phone with them, cancelled the reservation and e-mailed that it was cancelled at no charge.

We went down the street to the Atkinson Inn and had a clean, comfortable, non-smelly room.

Room Tip: If you book online, you better call the hotel to confirm they have the room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumberton hotels

Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I recently spent one night at the Southern Inn in Lumberton, NC. Not only was my room clean, comfortable and quiet, the price was a bargain----especially considering I was able to use a discount coupon and make a reservation several days before my arrival. As others have mentioned in their reviews, the motel isn't fancy, nor does it offer many frills. Even so, for my needs, I found it to be more than adequate and I'll definitely consider staying there again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chs1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lumberton hotels
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lumberton
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
Red Roof Inn Lumberton
#13 of 23 in Lumberton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
#4 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Inn Lumberton

Property: Southern Inn Lumberton
Address: 3100 W 5th St, Lumberton, NC 28358
Region: United States > North Carolina > Lumberton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Inn Lumberton 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Southern Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing