We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food quality poor, service poor”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Lumberton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Interstate 95 Exit 20
Restaurant details
Description: Interstate 95 Exit 20
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Food quality poor, service poor”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Decided to eat dinner at the Cracker Barrel as it was next to my hotel. Had to wait to be seated quite awhile, even though the restaurant wasn't busy, then waited for servicer to take my drink order. Finally got that and ordered the dinner special of the turkey dinner, with a tomato,cucumber salad and the fried okra for sides. What a disappointment, the turkey meat was very dry and the outer edge was hard, dressing was cornbread base and wasn't very good and a tiny drop of cranberry sauce about the size of a quarter. The salad I ordered came fine, along with the above turkey dinner, but I stopped the server to ask where my okra was. She replied that they had to fry it, and went to kitchen to check. Time passed, she came back and refilled coffee, but no mention of my okra order or explanation as to why I never received it. I finally got tired of waiting, went to cashier to pay my bill and when asked about my meal, I mentioned that I never did get my okra. The manager came over and I told him about the problem and he ended up comping me with a free meal. I do not understand the fascination with Cracker Barrel as I've never gotten good food, or good service at any location. Maybe breakfast and lunch are good here, but dinner at this location was terrible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    89
    41
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, OR
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Happy!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch with the family. Kelly took excellent care of us and the food was good and prices very reasonable. Loved the strawberry shortcake! No complaints here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Started off poorly”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

After a 30 min wait we were lead to a table that needed to be cleaned. Table was a sticky mess with paper and food on the floor. When asked to have the table cleaned, the employee had an attitude. Our waitress was top notch and saved the day. Her name was Melinda. She was excellent and made our visit pleasant. Food was good and portions were generous. Thanks Melinda!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdinnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not one of the better Cracker Barrels.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

When traveling this is the one Cracker Barrel that we almost always stop. Don't like fast food so Cracker Barrel is always a go to place. Unfortunately this Cracker Barrel isn't as good as it used to be.

The server talked to me as if I was child; I'm not sure why but maybe because I'm short and skinny. I ordered the mashed potatoes as my side but the gravy was not the same as other Cracker Barrel's.

The gravy is always brown gravy but what was on the potatoes was not. I asked the server but she claimed it was brown gravy; it most definitely was not. My best guess was that it was breakfast gravy because it definitely was not any other kind of gravy.

I've had good meals at this Cracker Barrel before but I wouldn't go back. I don't like being treated like a child and I don't like strange liquids on my mashed potatoes so I can't recommend this place anymore.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Country Cooking”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Fantastic country cooking in a charming restaurant. I stop at this Cracker Barrel every summer on my way to the beach and I will continue to do so for the yummy, flavorful food, reasonable prices, and fast, friendly service. Cracker Barrel's hallmark is its consistency. You know what to expect when you see the Cracker Barrel sign. I just wish there was one near my house!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailorgirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing