We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and cigarette smokers everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
malawimike
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dirty and cigarette smokers everywhere”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are in the least bit bothered by second-hand cigarette smoke, I would advise you to look elsewhere. I stayed one night in June, 2014. I stayed on the second floor. According to other reviewers, the first floor is renovated. Well, the second floor is certainly not and it is in bad need. Rust in the bathroom, thin sheets, lumpy mattress, carpet was dirty, wallpaper was tattered. Overall, it just felt worn-down. The towels were good and fluffy, though. I will give them that. Odd - there was no clock in the room. I set my alarm on my ipad, so I was fine with it, but just thought it odd.

As for the cigarette smoke - be aware that they do have smoking rooms. I believe they are scattered about mixed in with non-smoking rooms so even if you are in a non-smoking room you can smell it from other rooms. The halls smelled of stale cigarette smoke. My friend wanted to bring her dog and the hotel said they would have to put her in a smoking room (to which she replied, "Why? My dog doesn't smoke..."). Every time we passed in to the front door there were several people sitting around the doorway smoking. When we passed by the pool area we could smell the cigarette smoke wafting in to the hotel from the pool (needless to say, we never used the pool). It is disgusting. When returning to Maggie Valley I will look elsewhere, preferably a hotel with a smoke-free policy.

Breakfast was $6 and was nothing to write home about. No healthy options on the buffet line.

Room Tip: Look to another hotel. You should find a better room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malawimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethrCharlotte, Owner at Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You are correct many of the rooms have been renovated, all of first floor and part of second and third floor. We apologize you did not upgrade to one of those rooms. We do have alarm clocks available for you to check out at the front desk and we are sorry you were not made aware of this, we do offer wake up calls as well. We do offer a few smoking rooms only on the end of the fourth floor separate from other rooms. Guests do sign a form at checkin they are in a nonsmoking room and are charged a $100.00 cleaning fee if they smoke in the room, we apologize we did not catch this or no one reported them. We do have a limited number of pet rooms as well that are in the first section of our fourth floor which is nonsmoking.
We are happy to address any and all issues when people make us aware and again apologize these were not handled.
On a positive note, glad you enjoyed our towels, and please note our health department score completed this month is 100!!
We wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    49
    13
    11
    14
See reviews for
44
46
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lee-on-the-solent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

stayed here for 2 nights early May and loved it. The room we had was clean and spacious all staff very helpful and mad us feel very welcome. Food and drink in the bar great and not expensive. Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: we had a down stairs room over looking the front car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethrCharlotte, Owner at Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our great onsite restaurant, The Rendezvous!! The restaurant also has a site on TripAdvisor that you can review as well. Again, thank you for choosing us!! Safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hello this is Jeff and Mark from Jeff and Marks Carolina Moonshine. We just would like to say we are looking forward to another season of our visits to Maggie Valley and the "Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center.
We come to Maggie Valley to do events and appearances.
The only place we stay is the Maggie Valley Inn. We stay a lot of places most are not set up as well.
A great selection of food to choose from in the restaurant as well. We can say this is top of our list of places to stay. We even have have "Maggie Valley Inn" on our trailer we bring to appearances. We will see you all soon. We have few new Moonshiners from the show we are bringing along. Look forward to seeing you all soon!
Jeff and Marks Carolina Moonshine.

Room Tip: Call a head and just share your preference of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonshiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethrCharlotte, Owner at Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!!! We appreciate you kind words and look forward to your visits. You are as great in person as you are on TV!!! Again, thanks so much and SHINE ON!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

First off let me say this; I am a local, I live in Waynesville. (Jonathan Creek area) If you're thinking about staying at the Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, STAY! It's great! No, it's not the Grove Park Inn or The Inn at Biltmore, but what it is, is a family friendly mountain hotspot! If there is a car show in town, I can guarantee you that 75% of the cars in the show, the people who drive those cars are staying at the Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center. If there is a motorcycle rally in town (like this weekend) you'll see about 75% of the motorcycle riders, staying and or hanging out, at the Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center. The Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center is a fun place to hang out in the mountains. The Poolside Tiki Bar ....now that's an awesome place to hang out! If you're wanting "High Tea" at noon or "French Chocolate" on your pillow ...if you want turndown service or valet parking ...go to Asheville! That's what the Grove Park Inn, The Inn at Biltmore or the Grand Bohemian is known for. No, I am not knocking those hotels because I have had the pleasure of staying in all three. What I am saying is; if you want "high society," go to Asheville! However, if you want a family-friendly fun atmosphere or a weekend with your girlfriends or a man's weekend, and you want to have fun, you need to go to the Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center. Also, check out the Rendezvous Restaurant and Lounge, which is located inside the Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center. The food is excellent, the staff is great, and the owner Beth, will make you feel at home. Mike, I'm not forgetting you.... (Beth's husband) Mike runs the kitchen there at the Rendezvous Restaurant. BEST FRIED CHICKEN IN THE AREA!!!!!!!!! It's hot, crispy, juicy and delicious!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethrCharlotte, Owner at Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank your for taking the time to review The Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your kind words and great description of what we have to offer. We love meeting new friends as this is the best part of the hospitality industry!!! Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayesville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had reservations a month ahead but they could not find them ,, We stayed 3 nights they charged a different price for ever night.. We had a registered service dog and they tried to charge for him and got very mad when they found they could not.. so then they would not clean our room or give us clean towels,, we had to shower with hand towels...Had a bad attitude when I asked for clean linens...We were there for the SE Mini truckin Nats April 26-27 next year we will for sure stay somewhere else..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenz3556789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethrCharlotte, Owner at Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you were not happy with your stay and will certainly look into the matter of charging a refundable deposit for your pet. It is our policy to charge an extra deposit when any pet is in the room part of which is refunded at checkout if the room is ok. The room rate does vary depending on the day of the week. We apologize housekeeping did not service your room to your satisfaction, we will address this issue and use your comments to try and improve our customer service. Safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Recent motorcycle trip to Maggie Valley NC was made even more memorable by the staff and owner, Mike Eveland of the Maggie Valley Inn and Conference center. From being welcomed with the comment "You boys look hungry!" to being given inside info on local motorcycle roads and local attractions, with a beautiful room, excellent service and very reasonable rates, if there were 6 stars, I would give them!!!

Mark and Roger Snyder

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksm833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethrCharlotte, Owner at Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay here and the many other great things Maggie Valley and the area has to offer!! We will share with Mike and our staff your kind words, we look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Horrible place to stay. Dripping faucets, toliets that don't shut off, heating units that sound like a jet taking off. Carpets in the hall were worn through to the concrete in places. Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethrCharlotte, Owner at Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you were not happy with your stay. We take each review and try and improve our services. We noted that you were on the second floor of our hotel and hope you saw the sign that indicated, "we are in the process of renovating please excuse our mess". We have completely renovated the first floor rooms and hallway and the tile on the new tile on the second floor was installed. We are working our way up and again apologize that your floor was not completed by the time you visited with us. We hope you enjoyed the many other great things to do and see in Maggie Valley. If you ever visit again in the area please stop by and see our other changes and updates, again we apologize. Safe and Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
3.8 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
557 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
266 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
101 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center

Property: Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
Address: 70 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center is a full service hotel located at the entrance to Maggie Valley NC. With 98 rooms and ample parking we can meet all of your individual and group needs. Smoking and nonsmoking rooms are available along with fireplace and hot tub suites. Our award winning restaurant, The Rendezvous, offers a wide range of sandwiches and entrees and has a full ABC permit. During the summer months we have an outdoor pool for registered hotel guests only and tiki bar for your enjoyment. Live music is offered Thursday thru Saturday and Sunday. Maggie never had it so good!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maggie Valley Hotel Maggie Valley
Quality Inn Maggie Valley
Maggie Valley Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing