We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible Views and Beautiful High-Mountain Home”
other travellers have booked this property
View from loft bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from loft bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
View from loft bedroom
Fireplace in great room
Upstairs bedroom king bed
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Shower in Master Bath
From Friends of Smoky Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maggie Valley, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James N
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incredible Views and Beautiful High-Mountain Home”
Reviewed 6 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Today it's in the 80s below and in the 60s around this beautifully furnished mountain home high above Maggie Valley, with huge picture-windows and wrap-around deck. It is simply the most incredible view we've seen in a mountain home...row after row of mountain peaks all the way past Asheville. And inside, comfy bedding, updated bathrooms, a fully supplied kitchen, high-end gas grill just outside....and also on the deck, a piping warm, clean hot tub ready to use. At 4,800 ft elevation and a short hike up to Heintooga Road (which connects to the BRP), you are assured of some of the best mountain air in the Southeast. Signe is the consummate hostess, quickly responsive to our questions and committed to a high standard of quality. We have looked for this experience for years. We hope we'll be able to return many times to enjoy Smoky Sunrise.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2018
It was our great pleasure to have you and hope to see you next year. Thanks for the kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom72...
1 review
“The most gorgeous view imaginable!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This home is everything we hoped it would be!! The view is the best my husband and I have ever experienced, and we rent houses in this area quite often. The drive to the house seems to be the issue in most of the reviews. Our vehicle isn’t 4WD and we used both routes in and out of the community every day for a week. The shorter route was admittedly steeper and a little more of a challenge, if you aren’t experienced driving mountain roads, but absolutely not a deal breaker. We had every weather condition possible during our stay.....rain, snow, beautiful clear days and smoky misty ones. I would suggest the less steep, longer route if you aren’t comfortable driving in the mountains. The kitchen is stocked with the most “essential“ items than we have ever had in a rental. It was really nice to have a variety of spices and refrigerator items available for our use without having to purchase every single item. The house is nicely furnished and has very comfy beds!! It offers excellent hiking right out of the driveway. I highly recommend getting up early to view the unbelievable sunrise!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJL117
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“It left us speechless! Wow! What a great choice this was!”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had been planning a trip to the Smoky Mtn NP and wanted a place to stay for a week. Using VRBO we found Smoky Sunrise and from all that we saw it seemed to be the place we wanted. High on a mountain, beautiful views, a residence with all the amenities an outdoor hot tub with a gorgeous view at night. And easily accessible to town and restaurants and tourist attractions. We also wanted peace and quiet.

Smoky Sunrise was all this and more. I can't even adequately describe how overwhelmed we were with the place. We had for want of nothing while we were there. Everything was provided except for our food. The place was clean and spacious. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms (3) were clean and modern. It was deafly quiet and the views of the valley and mountains took our breath away every time we stepped out on the deck. Autumn colors were just beginning to peak.

Truth be told it is a bit of a challenge to get up the mountain to the house. But the road was maintained by someone with a grader who smoothed every bump and pothole after we arrived. So we travelled everyday up and down the Mountain. Exactly a ten minute drive start to finish and it wasn't too bad. One needs 4WD/AWD and very good brakes.

Would we recommend Smoky Sunrise to someone? You bet we would!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in July 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Don K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation cabin with spectacular views.”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This wonderful vacation cabin has it all. It's in a very convenient location, has awesome views, is secluded enough to feel like you're really getting away, yet close enough to town whereby you don't mind dropping everything and driving in to the store to pick up something that was forgotten.The ease of the fireplace operation was a huge plus. The gas grill and outdoor furniture made it so easy to enjoy a meal out-of-doors. The hot tub was an extra bonus after a long day of hiking in the surrounding mountains. The cabin provided a great deal of serenity and our time thee was very peaceful and relaxing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness of the cabin, it's proximity to the things we like to do in the Smokies, the elevation which afforded fantastic views.
Liked least: There was nothing to complain about.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, hot tub, beautiful and well stocked kitchen and you just felt at home
Liked least: Road getting to the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you. You were fabulous tenants and I appreciate that you left the house in such perfect shape and wrote such a nice review. We hope you will come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Connectic...
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Shaken but no deterred”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have start this review discussing the road! It is indeed a steep, treacherous assent. My husband and I drove a Prius and once we arrived we never took a chance to drive back down the mountain. Our friends arrived in a Ford Edge and we only used their car. That limited our ability to explore separately. We joked that if you make a martini before you leave the house it will be well shaken by the time you end up on the main road. It is that bumpy of a ride!
Otherwise the views are amazing, we loved our morning coffee watching the sunrise and our evenings in the hot tub. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked. If you are looking for privacy with another couple, beware the second bedroom in a loft without privacy. Overall I would recommend this property as long as you are aware of the few issues we mentioned. It is beautiful country and a true mountain getaway. I love watching the changing scenery every hour, the sky changes hourly and the views of the mountains are incredible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The gravel, steep, long drive
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
We try to ensure that people are aware of the road before they rent so that there are no surprises. Its condition is somewhat variable due to usage and weather, but it is not paved and is always advisable to expect somewhat of an adventure. The good news is that the road is one mile in total and only the first third is rough.
I was a bit surprised at the comment about the loft bedroom. It has walls and a door but does have a large window with a curtain. It could be more private if it did not have the window, but then it would not have the incredible view. Perhaps the fact that it is a loft also gave the feeling of a lack of privacy, but this is a real log home and a loft is a loft.
We sincerely thank our tenants for their feed back and hope that it provides a little more information for those considering renting our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing