We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Castlewood Inn

Castlewood Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castlewood Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The place was clean and weel maintained. The proprietors were very accommodating and friendly, which is high on my list. The location was within walking distance to several eating establishments, and salso to the fest grounds, which is a big plus. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNWSmith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For years we have been coming to Maggie Valley and walking past Castlewood Inn. Always looked like a nice place to stay, but instead we stayed at Microtel, for Reward points/breakfast, etc. Well, when they informed me they were now 100% non-smoking, I contacted Castlewood, and Attila returned my email within 30 mins. Answering all questions I had, so I booked a King Smoking room for summer Holiday weekends. When we arrived, check in was quick, Attila very friendly, and the room was very clean and comfortable, Wi-Fi was not an issue. Motorcycle weekend, and quite a few stayed at Castlewood, but quiet between 8 a.m. and 10 p.m., which was nice. Glad we made the change, and now wish we had sooner!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saratoga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to go to Maggie Valley for New Years celebration. We have been to Maggie Valley often and often have been disappointed. Not this time! The price was very reasonable, the room was very clean and comfortable. The owners were very polite and pleasant. Plus the view was beautiful. I think we finally found our place! We will definitely be coming back again and again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at Castlewood. I chose this one because of the good reviews. I was going on a snowboarding trip at cattaloochee Ski Resort. When I arrived I met Linda & Attila who were gracious hosts. They were so helpful in finding all the local attractions directions to stores and anything else that I needed. The room was clean and the service was great. I recommend this inn if you can get the booking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank amazingdaytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is an older hotel, but clean. We stayed on the first floor and it looked like all the rooms were nonsmoking on this floor. Rooms had exterior doors. Also, our room had a coffee maker, humidifier, microwave, and mini fridge. Breakfast is not provided. This hotel attracts motorcyclists and their motorcycles tend to be loud very early in the morning and late at night. Our room rate was $75 per night which was reasonable for the location and age of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Castlewood is a little dated but a very good bang for your buck. the staff is very helpful and we would have no problem staying there again. The location is perfect to get around the valley as it close to everything.

Room Tip: We are non smokers but could only get a smoking room so I brought spray with me to keep the room sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inman, SC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Staff is super helpful ! Clean comfortable affordable rooms. VERY biker friendly. A young man put out clean (DRY) rags for us to use. Could walk to several restaurants (and ice cream shoppes) . Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hurrijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
3.3 mi away
Scottish Inn
Scottish Inn
#24 of 25 in Maggie Valley
33 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#8 of 25 in Maggie Valley
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Five Star Inn
Five Star Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood Inn

Property: Castlewood Inn
Address: 3695 Soco Rd, Hwy 19, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-6729
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castlewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated. We have the only kiddie slide in M.V. at our seasonal heated pool. Close to attractions Cataloochee Ski lodge, restaurants, next to Fantasy Golf. We are Biker friendly. Mini-fridge, Microwave, Coffee pot and hair drier in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castlewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlewood Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing