We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best In The Smokies & Maggie Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Lindale, Georgia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best In The Smokies & Maggie Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

As you have probably noticed, I have reviewed this Inn several times. Although My Wife and I have stayed at other locations in the area, we have never been able to find a location that even compared to Jonathan Creek. The staff are like long time friends and so are most of the other guests. The Inn is kept in Superior Condition. The Grounds behind the Inn next to the creek are kept spotless. Even the Parking lot looks new every time we arrive. The wonderful staff in the Front Office go out of their way to provide you with anything possible. We usually have other couples that travel with us and we use the grills next to the creek. The Front Desk have furnished us with many cooking tools that we had forgotten. Next door is Hurley's Restaurant & Rhum Bar. The food here is outstanding. Across the street is Joey's Pancake House. You will never find a better place to stay in the area. One final thought, I have never stayed at any Motel, Hotel, or Inn that you could not hear someone either above or beside your room that you couldn't hear. I carry a cheap set of earplugs from Wal-Mart everywhere I travel and I don't hear any noise.

Room Tip: The Ground Floor Rooms w/Screened Poarch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale_Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    113
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
187
228
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We used the stay and ski package at this inn. The staff was warm and friendly. It is a family run business. We stayed in a room and not the villa. The room was clean and had everything we needed for our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpcreekmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We really enjoyed the Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas. We stayed on a busy holiday weekend, and we rented a villa rather than staying at the Inn (for both privacy and more room for our family). Our villa was not far from the Inn, but it was tucked in the woods and backed up to the creek. It was simple in terms of finishes and furnishings, but it was all we needed, as we spent most of our time at Cataloochee skiing (about 3 miles away). Alice and Keith were great at answering our many questions about the area, and we would definitely stay here again. We didn't use the heated pool or hang out near the hotel, so we can't say anything about that. However, we were happy with our little cabin and used the hot tub on our deck every night to soak our aching muscles.

Room Tip: If you need lots of amenities, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a comfortable r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We are repeat visitors for many many years but this visit was not good! 6am until 8:45am Saturday morning kids jumping and running around in room above us. We asked front desk to call them. They made excuses that they were getting ready to ski. Not a good response. I would have liked to enjoy my sleep since we didnt pay for a room to lay awake in. Poor customer service. Many of my friends have stayed here because I told them it was a great place. Now...not so much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scenic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Hi,
We are truly sorry that your sleep was disturbed. We fully agree that when you are on vacation you should be able to rest undisturbed. Unfortunately this holiday weekend always brings with it, particular problem. Probably 80% of the time over the past ten years this weekend has literally sold out and turned away skiers. We therefore often warn our skiers to get up early and be at the ski area an hour or so before it opens. We have had many very unhappy skiers when they travel all the way here and fail to get to go skiing. The ski area has assed more parking over the last couple of years which has helped quite a bit, however that concern still lingers.
Regardless, we agree that you were disturbed, and we will send you a gift certificate to hopefully convince you to try us again. One tip. On these crazy weekends ask for an upstairs room. Better views and no one overhead to walk around in heavy boots etc. Always the choice of many of our repeat guests during the busier ski days. We do appreciate your business and hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

My wife and I are repeat guests and our last visit was 01/25/2013.I can only say you will be very happy you took the time to stay here.This place feels like home and is American owned
and managed for years.When we got there before 12noon Alice was working the desk and we got checked in and into the room right away.I suggest asking what type rooms they have and try and get your room creek side,this is great.They have an indoor swimming pool year round
play area for kids.I have become a return guest simply because as we spend our hard earned
money the value here is worth it and mostly appreciated by the folks who run this hotel.Very clean and rooms offer latest things expected this day and time.Ask for Alice when you call
and tell her the folks from Lincolnton sent you,she is so helpful,as everyone else is.I look forward to our next visit,I suggest making in advance your reservation,as they have regular
return customers.You will not be disappointed! Cross the street and have a great breakfast at Joeys Pancake House.
Eric and Terri Robinson/Lincolnton North Carolina

Room Tip: Make reservation in advance.Get your room Creekside if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We recently stayed at Jonathan Creek Inn. We've been coming here for well over 15 years. Our favorite room is # 212, it has a great view of the mountains on the front and overlooks Jonathan creek on the back. Our room was clean and in good order as usual, Plenty of coffee, and we popped corn in the microwave. Ms. Alice, who manages the Inn, always takes care of us and make us feel so special, as does Ms. Wanda who runs it in the evenings. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the lobby. We ate at Hurley's Restaurant next door, and enjoyed the good food and service there too. We always have a relaxing stay there, and we will continue you recommend Jonathan Creek Inn to everyone.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer best mountain views, while first floor rooms are closet to the creek,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueRidgeMan412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I have been staying in Jonathans Motel , twice a year , for 10 years . I highly recommend that you try a stay . . The motel is very clean, well maintained , close to very fine restaurants,and many attractions .The personel, and the manager Alice, could not be nicer to deal with. They take care of any situation you could encounter ,.
The rear of the motel has covered outside patios for you to relax , and a pool .
There are screened in porches and rooms with a jacuzzi.
We highly recommend a stay here.
John & Regina Gordon

Room Tip: Just tell Alice what you would like, she will try her best to acommodate you .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnieg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#11 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Maggie Valley
2.6 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Property: Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Address: 4324 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous property with great mountain views and an unbelievable creekside settings. Rooms with lots of decks, some with Hot Tubs, fireplaces. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers all rooms. All rooms recently renovated. Villas/cabins that sleep from 2-18. Fully Equipped with everything you need, plus your own hot tub! Outdoor public hot tub overlooking the creek, Indoor pool. Children's playground. Best location for skiing and being centrally located to all of the areas attractions. Try one of our wonderful creekside rooms with your own private screened porch. Gazebo, Picnic area, Trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Creek Inn And Villas Hotel Maggie Valley
Jonathan Creek Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing