We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR VACATION IN THE MOUNTAINS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I just spent four wonderful days in the mountains. Our hotel was fantastic. We were right on the river,and all we had to do was open the balcony and listen to the creek. The room was great, the only problem was the hot water in the shower, was way too hot. It needed to be turned down. Other than that it was wonderful and I would tell my friends about our trip and the hotel.

Room Tip: Wonderful trip and a great room. Plus a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thanks for writing your review. We have addressed the hot water temp and have the mixer working properly now. It was mixing at about 8-10 degrees to high in one section of our Inn.
Have a great summer.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Was very pleased with our stay at Jonathan Creek Inn. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was so helpful and nice. When we travel to that area again, that is the place where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to many repeat visits.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Loved the Jonathan Creek Inn. Loved the creek. Loved the motorcycles parked there. Maggie Valley is a very nice location. We had a nice upper deck which was screened in. We kept the door to the deck open all night so that we could hear the creek.

Room Tip: Maybe you might want a lower level motel room with a door that walks directly out to the creek. Cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripenjoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks! The creek can be hypnotizing. In 1996 when we found the Jonathan Creek Inn we immediately new we had a very special place because of the creek and setting behind it. Over the years we have tried to maximize our guests enjoyment of the creeks allure.

The debate of upstairs and downstairs has gone on for years here. The upstairs offers more privacy, better views and is generally quieter. The downstair rooms offer instant access to the back and eliminate the need for stairs as we do not have an elevator.

Once again thanks for reviewing our property.
See you soon!
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned home from a little motorcycle trip to Maggie Valley where we booked a for 2 nights at jonathan creek. could not be More pleased with our stay .... check-in was quick and easy; staff was very friendly and the place is as clean as it looks. when we checked in ,... the 'rules' were explained (LOL) ... this place is not staffed for a 24hr a day operation. they lock up the ice, vending, and lobby for the nite at 11 pm (pretty sure that was the time) if you need a late check in they make arrangement s if needed for you. We booked a two queen room with screened porch. I cant imagine the hot tub rooms are any better. we were on the second floor with a great view of jonathans creek right below us, 2 cushioned chairs and a table and a rocking chair. hardwood (laminate) floors in the room. the beds were very comfortable with a selection of pillows. Bath and vanity areas were well lit and the soaps and shampoo's were very good. The air conditioner/heater unit didn't really act like it was doing a whole lot but, ... we didn't use it that much anyway.... just open the door to the deck an enjoy the fresh air !! :) there is a large sitting area right on the creek, some covered some not. several seating options from chairs, benches, steps and swings. Excellent place to unwind and socialize with other guests after a great day of riding. The motel is directly across the street from Joey's Pancake house , ... so breakfast is a no brainer !! At check in we also received a 'coupon' for one free meal at Snappys restaurant. Very nice touch and an excellent place to eat !!! My plate of spaghetti was at least a gallon of pasta !! :)
I have reviewed one other lodging establishment in Maggie valley and I don't want to dismiss them,.... but this will probably be where I stay from now on while we are in town !!! absolutely loved it ... thanks

Room Tip: we stayed in rm 204. right near the stairwell , but I didn't notice any excessive noise or traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed our hotel.
We take a lot of pride in trying to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.
We did take a look at your AC unit after reading this and had a new thermostat put in.
We sure hope to see you again soon.
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay in room 220. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. It had a jetted tub and gas fireplace. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, you can tell the owners take pride in their property. Everything from the landscape to the picnic tables stay updated. We have previously stayed at 3 different properties but this will be the only one from now on! Hopefully next time I can reserve a room by the creek.

Room Tip: I would choose a creek side room with a screened in porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Marsha,
Thanks! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky because not only we take pride in our business but so do our employees. Marianne are so lucky to have Alice, Terry, Keith, Wanda and the entire staff working for us. Many of them have been here almost as long as we have owned it since 1996.
Thanks again. We are glad that you will be staying with us in the future.
Jeff
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

first will say that the rooms and view are amazing. the cleaning staff were super however some of the staff and/or owners did not make us feel very welcome they were happy to take our money and then make it difficult to stay. parking is horrible we had a downstairs room and there was an empty lot next to the hotel and we parked our bikes there on night 2 the staff had parked their cars and trucks so we could not park there. during the day we were going to be at the room for about 20 min and parked in the shade not in front of the door and luckily our friends saw one of the staff writing our license plate down because he was going to have to turn it in as a fire lane violation there was no stripes or a sign that said no parking. we came in a motor home and maybe that's what through them off even though they knew that is how we were coming. across the street is the only breakfast place near by while the food is good NEVER try to add an extra person to your table it is against the rules and they will not sit you you can either get up and be reseated when it is your time again or you can leave that last one with no breakfast. did not feel welcome at all at this hotel. we were going to bring our family back for a vacation. IF we do we not be staying at tis place we will go where are business is appreciated. apparently the owner had no idea any of this went on because she was very surprised when she had the nerve to ask how our stay was. IF YOU DONT WANT US THERE DON'T TAKE OUT MONEY AND MAKE US FEEL UNWELCOME JUST SAY YOU DONT WANT US THERE. WE WILL TAKE OUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are coming on a motorcycle or bringing one to ride when you get there go somewhere else. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renaeroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi,
I wish I could apologize to you, however I can not! After being told at the time of your reservation that we do NOT have parking for motor homes, you showed up with a huge motorhome and a BIG trailer as well. After arrangements were made for you to park at a location across the street, you decided that wasn't ok. Then you parked at the restaurant next door, which you did not have permission to park on from the owner of the property. We own four spots at the restaurant next door, and our staff parks there to make it more convenient for our guests. I can not speak for the restaurant across the street, however if you were as rude and inconsiderate to them as you were to my staff then I know why you weren't seated as you requested. I strongly suggest that if you are traveling with a motor home and trailer that when inquiring about parking and being told that there is none available for what you are traveling with, that you find other more suitable facilities or better yet rent a campground space that is suited for a motorhome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed there twice, a week apart. Both times we had a lower level room in the main hotel with screened porch room, on the creekside.
The staff is courteous and friendly, which after a long day of traveling is a major plus. The front desk and lobby is closed at 10 pm but late arrivals are fine, as long as you make prior arrangements - just talk to them in advance and call if you'll be unexpectedly late.
The fully enclosed pool (see website photo) is warm, clean and not over ones head in depth. We used the pool both times and found it delightful and so very soothing after a long day of travel. Children must have an adult in attendance.
Parking on the courtyard and one walks up to the upper levels so if you have mobility issues or cannot carry your own bags, ask for a lower room.
Good place for motorcycle traffic it seems and several motorcyclists in our age group (retired) were there.
Also seems like a good family place.
In fact, I think this hotel would be good for any age group and the setting is so pretty it makes a good couples hotel. We are older but also newlyweds and we found it beautiful and romantic. That creek is so beautiful. The whole atmosphere is clean, relaxed, comfortable and friendly.
There is a microwave, coffee maker with coffee and small refrigerator in the room. The screened in porch has two chairs and a small table and is a delightful place to have coffee and listen to the creek burble and flow.
The room and bathroom are smallish and standard but very clean and recently renovated. There is a nice well lighted and roomy vanity and sink area outside the small room with the stool and tub/shower. Cable flat screen TV, table and chairs. Bed was comfortable and we slept well. It's not spacious or fancy but it's very clean, recently spiffed up and every bit as nice as one would want for a moderate priced country environment hotel. One small thing is that it will be difficult to sleep past nine as things got pretty noisy about then. There are children and housekeepers around and voices carry. We didn't mind as it was a cheerful family atmosphere and we were up.
The lobby has good coffee and tea. Across the street is a very popular and moderately priced breakfast restaurant. For dinner, try the Country Vineyard Cafe a few miles to the East on the same road.
The drive from Cherokee was stunningly beautiful.
There are multiple places to sit along the creek for anyone in the hotel. You can also get a room on the creek side so you just walk out to the creek, and there were family size villas across the creek that looked nice. This is a beautiful setting, absolutely beautiful. There is the hotel, the creek, villas across the creek and then one is in the forested area going up the mountain. The creek moves quickly so keep an eye on the kids and pets but that also makes it wonderful to watch and highly musical to hear. We sat on the swing at creek side and sipped wine at night and sat on the pavilion over the creek and had coffee in the morning.
As you can tell, we liked it. We liked it, and the Country Vineyard Cafe so much that we booked here on our trip back and stayed the second time, also enjoying the restaurant again.
Really recommend this hotel. It's clean, friendly, comfortable and relaxed. The rates were very moderate. They accept Senior discounts and AAA.

Room Tip: You can hear heavy footsteps from overhead so if that bothers you, perhaps avoid a lower room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Annette,
Thank you so much for your in depth review. We appreciate your comments very much.
One small note, as of May 1st, we keep the lobby and pool open until 11 PM. We do close after that time but do have a security person staying on the property at all times while the office is closed.
We hope you have a great summer!
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
1.7 mi away
Smoky Falls Lodge
Smoky Falls Lodge
#14 of 25 in Maggie Valley
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Address: 4324 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous property with great mountain views and an unbelievable creekside settings. Rooms with lots of decks, some with Hot Tubs, fireplaces. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers all rooms. All rooms recently renovated. Villas/cabins that sleep from 2-18. Fully Equipped with everything you need, plus your own hot tub! Outdoor public hot tub overlooking the creek, Indoor pool. Children's playground. Best location for skiing and being centrally located to all of the areas attractions. Try one of our wonderful creekside rooms with your own private screened porch. Gazebo, Picnic area, Trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Creek Inn And Villas Hotel Maggie Valley
Jonathan Creek Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing