We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great service”

J. Arthur's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 43 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving Maggie Valley for 32 years, our family has been in the restaurant business since 1935 with over 20 restaurants (Manero's) both on the East coast and in south Florida. We are know for our succulent prime rib, steaks, Gorgonzola cheese salad as well as our French onion soup and homemade cheese sticks. We are a casual upscale steakhouse which also serves a variety of seafood, chicken, pork, pasta, salads and well as burgers and a variety of incredible appetizers. We have a full bar and serve dinner both in our lounge as well as our dining room. We also have a loft which seats 55 and a private banquet room which seats 25. In the summer and fall, we serve on our patio on weekends. We cater to groups of all sizes both at our establishment and in local parks, homes and a variety of settings and have done groups up to 1300. We love to serve families and have a kids section for children as well as two functioning trains which delight the young at heart in our dining room.
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Recently dined here with my son on a visit to North Carolina. Easily the best meal we had all trip! Glad we found this restaurant! Make sure to ask for Dee! Efficient, friendly, and knows what she’s doing!

Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnatml, Owner at J. Arthur's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Many thanks for your gracious review. And we agree- Dee is fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Friends stay at an RV Park, during the summer, and we meet monthly for dinner. We have gone to Dillsboro, Bryson City, Cherokee and Waynesville but this time we met at J Arthur’s in Maggie Valley.

We made a reservation for 5:00, which was early for a Saturday night and the restaurant was almost filled when we arrived.

There was an extensive menu, drinks, Vegetable and Gluten Free options plus desert and coffee. There is plenty of room for parking.

Without hesitation I can say that this was the best dining experience that I’ve had in a while.

The server was knowledgeable, was working with a trainee and the Prime Rib and Salmon meals were cooked to perfection. I cleaned my plate but left room for desert and coffee.

As of today it is my favorite restaurant in the area — but $$.

Thank mjo633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnatml, Owner at J. Arthur's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thanks for you great review. We are most appreciative and hope to see you again when you’re in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Good service and very good food. But choose your seating wisely, we were given a booth in the bar which seemed fine. Until the locals started arriving to drink, as they started to great each other and talk they hung over the dividing wall of our booth. This included the staff who gathered to talk to them. This is a higher end restaurant, I prefer to not share my booth space as I dine. I would advise staying away from any seating that is adjacent to the bar.

Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnatml, Owner at J. Arthur's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Sorry about your booth experience. In the future if you let us know we will happily move you to avoid an intrusions from other guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

It’s nice to have a restaurant like this in Maggie Valley. It’s high-end enough that you get quality food and a very quaint and pleasing atmosphere, and you don’t have to drive 40 minutes to get there.

Anytime you’re looking for something great to eat in a nicer restaurant that doesn’t have a fast food diner atmosphere, this is the place to go.

The prime rib is awesome.

Thank Trail307732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnatml, Owner at J. Arthur's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Four of us had dinner there Saturday evening Memorial Day weekend. Service was very good. Hamburger ordered Medium, arrived well done. Trout over cooked and dry. Meatloaf was burnt on the outside and dry. The Prime Rib met expectations. A restaurant in this price range should serve a much better product. If your evening desire is Atmosphere and Service, this is the place to go. If your desire is quality of cuisine, this is not the place to go. Check out other places in Maggie Vallie.

1  Thank 14Mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnatml, Owner at J. Arthur's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We are sorry that some of your food was not To either of our expectations. In the future please know that we correct any problem that you may have as we want only delighted guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Arthur's Restaurant also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to J. Arthur's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing