We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
37
22
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
22
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free dvd rentals offer tips lyndon cabin fireplace firewood creek privacy
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I am sure to someone who has never been to this place you might question my remarks. My family "usta" stay at Twinbrook Resort when Carl and Viola Henry first built the place. Actually, Carl built the resort with his own hands, putting in cabins a few every year. There was a giant oak tree in the large manicured front yard with a small apple orchard on the side. The road was covered with local rock and gravel adding to the ambience. It has been well over 40 years since my last visit and Carl and Viola have since passed. The resort still remains with several upgrades through an indoor heated pool, paved road and additional cabins. The orchard is gone and replaced with RV parking and the unbelievably monster oak tree has since passed. Today, the place is still pleasant, quiet, rustic and comfortable. "But it just ain't the same". I still have fond memories of chasing down crawdads in the brooks, catching fireflies at night and eating green apples 'til I got a belly ache. Bears were a common sight knocking over the garbage cans night after night and Viola kept us stocked with fresh eggs from the free range chickens that ran around the property. Every Saturday night we all loaded up the car and went to the local meeting place and square danced or buck danced until we couldn't any longer. The new Twinbrook Resort is good but the old Twinbrook was the best.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinbrooks, Owner at Twinbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hi Jim, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us. You are correct that the resort has changed in 40 years. Families & couples would not appreciate or accept the limited amenities that were available 40 years ago. That is why we have paved the roads, have added an indoor heated year-round pool, hot tub & Jacuzzi tubs, expanded cable TV, high speed internet throughout the property, washers & dryers in all of the cabins, etc. Now each guest have their own devices so we have even gone to the expense of wiring each cabin separate for high speed internet to make sure the internet speed stay up & each cabin guest is secure on the internet. The Giant Oak Tree was absolutely beautiful & shaded nearly a ½ acre, but it came down in a storm, so we hated to leave it as it was estimated that it dated back to the Revolutionary war. So we were able to preserve the trunk & had it carved to preserve the trees heritage. We look forward to the next time you can visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We came for a weekend getaway and was hoping to win big at the casino, well that didn't happen! However coming back to the cabin to sit at a fire sipping wine softened the blow. That cabin was very comfortable have all you need to be comfortable . I do wish the tv in the living room would be update picture was terrible. Otherwise we will definitely be back and hopefully bring all our family and rent all the cabins ! Great location

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Pat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinbrooks, Owner at Twinbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hi Pat, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sure enjoyed having you & Gregory stay with us. So sorry you didn't win big at the Casino, but there is always next time. So glad you enjoyed the cabin. The Sourwood cabin is a very popular cabin. We always want to hear any issues from our guests and that is why we go to the expense of operating a staffed office for our guests, as they are normally solved quickly. The issue with the Living Room TV was the cable box, which we changed out in less than 5 minutes. You will be happy to know that our 40" flat screen TV's arrived this week, so you will be able to enjoy them on your next visit. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I should have know when they make you pay upfront. No itemized receipt given. We rented a cabin with two bedrooms. Our other party could not make the trip. So when they asked how many in the party we said two adults. They wanted to lock the second bedroom off so we could not use it, I said no we are paying for the whole cabin I expect to use it. We were told we were expected to tip housekeeping at departure. also we were told certain rules like dishes must be washed and dishwasher emptied or we would be charged additional fees. The beds were an absolute night mare very uncomfortable trust me we tried them all. The pillows were flat as a pancake we had to go out and purchase new pillows. The living room was very dusty and dirt on floor in front of the fireplace. Mold in the bathroom window and screen had a big tear in it so window could not be opened. Curtain had stains on it. The doors were all scratched up from dogs. Picture frame had not been dusted in months. Top of refrigerator was disgusting. Night stand and dresser in bedroom had stickers stuck to them from some ones newly purchased shirt xl sticker and inspector sticker no reason why housekeeping didn't see this if they cleaned it. The blankets smelled like dogs we had to wash them before we could use them, Ceiling light in bedroom had four different styles light bulbs. Mattress and box springs were ripped and torn in several places. The king size mattress was smaller than the frame of the bed. Plates and cups were all chips and cracked most were not even suitable to use should be replaced. The furniture in living room was all broke down and uncomfortable. The outside yard was covered with poison ivy everywhere. The windows were all dirty. You may say I was nit picking but for almost 200.00 a night it should be a lot cleaner. I would not recommend this place what so ever. They get your money days ahead and make it clear no refund... So never pay upfront ahead of time ...

Room Tip: stay away from this place
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank doug h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinbrooks, Owner at Twinbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Doug & Debbie, we are absolutely dumbfounded by your review. You stayed with us for a week & our office was open 9AM to 9PM everyday and our staff was accessible 24 hours a day, but you didn't advise us of any issues during your stay. In fact, our office was within walking distance to your cabin, and you drove past our office every time you left your cabin, and all of our contact with you during your stay was pleasant. We want to hear about any issues any of our guests have as that is why we go to the expense to staff an office. We even want to hear about a mismatched light bulb if it is irritating you. That is what we are here for. You also stated that you paid $200 per night which was also not correct. I personally booked the reservation with Debbie & you actually only paid the One Bedroom rate for this 2 Bedroom Cabin as we had a special when Debbie called on May 5th where you received the 2nd Bedroom Free which she was excited about receiving such a huge savings. I know that you were disappointed when the other couple failed to come with you & that certainly got your vacation off to a negative start, which was certainly unfortunate, but the good news is that you only paid the One Bedroom rate. In the future I would strongly recommend that you let the property management know of any issues you have while you are there rather than letting them know weeks after your departure. Clearly we want to make our guests happy, but are at a disadvantage if we don't know there is an issue. In our case, if you had let us know of your issues our staff would have had them resolved in less than an hour for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Twinbrook is operated by Lloyd & a team. He's wonderfully social and provides detailed printed information on great places to visit!
We were there for 4 days 3/nights.
1st night in a 2br 1ba and nights 2 & 3 in a 3br 2ba. Both are fully furnished and equipped.
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that that king beds in both cabins (4 & 17) are worn out & the pillows are flat (used 3 to make 1 pillow).
Be aware that the no cancellation policy is strictly enforced!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank lascott1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We came and stayed here with my husband's mom for the weekend. It was off the main highway and some sort of isolated. It was slightly out dated and the bathroom could use some repairs. Other than that great cabin

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank syento_ny90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews