We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversay Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Mountain Ranch
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary in Maggie Valley, NC. This was our first experience at a bed & breakfast and we absolutely loved it. We found Misty Mountain Ranch on the internet, so weren't quite sure what to expect. We happened to be the only guests that week, so we had the place to ourselves. Each morning the innkeeper, Miss Karen, prepared a delicious breakfast for us and stayed with us while we ate sharing stories about the area, her life, the B&B and the famous Popcorn Sutton. We certainly ate more than we should have and it was fun being surprised each morning with a different meal! Our room was fabulous as well. We stayed in the Prospector suite and thought it was perfect. Paneled all in wood, it had the feel of a rustic cabin with all the nice touches of a luxury hotel. I especially enjoyed the treats left for us each night! The room was just the right size with a wonderful whirlpool bath and a cozy fireplace in the bedroom area. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Maggie Valley!

Room Tip: We peeked into all the rooms and were glad we had picked the Prospector, although all looked nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnniversaryWeek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a Gem this place is! Karen took great care of us. The place is immaculate and the attention to detail really makes one feel at home. Everything is taken care of from snacks/drinks in our suite to the fantastic bed and comfortable suite. Breakfast was great and the stories and conversation with Karen were GREAT. Wish we had more time to spend there....We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in the B&B portion of Misty Mountain Ranch. Our room was quite large, as was the attached bath, but there was no sound proofing in the ceiling which was unfortunate - we could hear the guests who were staying in the room above ours. Breakfast was plentiful but uninspired, and far below the quality we usually find in B&B's. The location is convenient to town, is quiet, and the innkeeper is a very nice lady. But, overall, we would not particularly recommend MMR for people who are aficionados of B&B's.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AzaleaWarne_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

What a wonderful surprise! I decided to take my son on a last minute ski trip to Maggie Valley and we were lucky enough to find a room at the Misty Mountain Ranch that was perfect for us!
We arrived late and yet, Karen was there to welcome us and help us get settled into our rustic and wonderful room.
We'd brought our dogs-lab mix and a yorkie, along for the trip and they were very welcome and enjoyed taking nice walks around the beautiful property as well as lounging by the fireplace in our room.
We had everything we needed and more. Close to the ski resort, tubing and other attractions, the location was perfect.
The breakfasts were fabulous as well, and Karen even made sure I had decaf and fixed breakfasts for my son based on his likes...which were different than the wonderful dishes she'd prepared for the other guests.
We stayed in the Miss Karen's Quarters room in the main building and it had a separate entrance which was perfect with the dogs and a little boy.
It is a very tranquil place with a beautiful duck pond in the back, wonderful rooms, hospitality and company.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will definitely be back. We miss it already!
Highly suggest this quaint B&B for a relaxing, low key get away.

Room Tip: If you like rustic with privacy, choose Miss Karen's Quarters. Whirlpool tub, shower, big bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This cute bed and breakfast comes with charm and friendliness nestled in Maggie Valley!
Adorable rooms and Karen, owner and operator, is so nice and helpful. I highly recommend it even for couples with children. The pond with the cute ducks as well as the possibility of seeing Elk walk through the yard makes it quite unique!

Definitely consider this - her prices are reasonable compared to others in the area and you will love the breakfast.

Cheryl

Room Tip: This is a quaint bed and breakfast that we went to nestled in Maggie Valley. Karen is the owner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We had a great time. I always read trip advisor before staying anywhere. There were a couple of bad reviews of this place but the good reviews out weighed the bad. Everything was great for us. Some prior complaints on here were over exaggerated. We stayed in cabin 2 the fisherman's shack. Very clean. Kitchen had basics so we saved a ton of $ by cooking in. Bathroom was small but not as bad as prior reviews let on. I took10-15 min showers and did not run out of hot water as some prior reviews complained of. Bed was soft and not as firm as mine at home, but was clean and comfortable for a few nights stay. We stayed in most nights and watched movies we brought from home on the dvd player. The electric fire place did not work, but left word so they could get it fixed. The elk visited us on our arrival. We fed the ducks our left over biscuits upon departure. We visited the wheels thru time museum during our stay and is a good place for bikers and rodders. Ate at Hurley's and Nutmeg Cafe. Both were great food.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowbird92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Karen is a wonderful hostess and was very accommodating to late night arrivals, misplaced keys, and a messy toddler at breakfast. Our suite was very comfy with nice decor and stocked with free snacks. There was a nice, large jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave, and mini-fridge. Our toddler was brought a crib, and he loved running around to see all the ducks and other wildlife wandering around outside. We really had a nice stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in this area. There's not a whole lot to do in Maggie Valley itself, but it's very close to Cherokee and somewhat close to Asheville.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
516 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
635 reviews
5.7 mi away
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
River Point Lodge
River Point Lodge
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Ranch

Address: 561 Caldwell Dr, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-8622
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maggie Valley
Price Range: £90 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Mountain Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Misty Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing