We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Cardinal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cardinal Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Very clean, great location, and helpful owners. Will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here after leaving a hotel down the road because it was dirty. The Cardinal was the same price with a cleaner room and friendlier staff.

We walked down the road to mini-golf one night.

It's a good little inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honesabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Nice little motel and not overly pricey. A pleasant property with a large lawn with 2 picnic benches plus a common front porch with 2 rockers and a porch swing. Was nice and quiet until the Harleys swarmed in for the night. But once everyone settled in it was reasonably quiet. All rooms are non-smoking (there is a $100 deposit for smokers which you lose if you smoke in the room) and no pets allowed. This was a plus for us. A few ants on the sink counter and the refrigerator was dirty. Mold in the bathtub. Beds were okay. Quiet air conditioner. Be aware that this is a bare bones kind of place--there are no amenities like shampoo, lotion or even a box of tissues and no breakfast or newspaper. You do get a little bar of soap though! So while it may cost a little less than other Maggie Valley hotels, keep in mind that you're not getting a whole lot for the money either. Overall though, it was a nice enough place to stay for the one night we were passing through the town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

We stayed at the Cardinal Inn in Maggie Valley on November 11, 2006. It's a small (10 rooms) motel that's conveniently located to shops and restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the owners are very pleasant. We paid $43.00 for a double room with microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. This motel is not posted on Trip Advisor, but I wanted to let others on the site know about it since it was so clean and such a good deal.

I haven't been to Maggie Valley in a couple of years and I was disappointed to find out that the Soco Gardens Zoo was closed. I was looking forward to taking my grandson there, as I did my daughter many years ago. I did find out that Ghost Town will reopen in the spring of 2007.

2  Thank ccnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LdyCharle, Owner at The Cardinal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Misty Mountain Ranch
Misty Mountain Ranch
#2 of 8 in Maggie Valley
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cardinal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cardinal Inn

Address: 3735 Soco Rd, 3735 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-6100
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maggie Valley
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cardinal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable & Connected... Welcome to beautiful Maggie Valley and the newly renovated Cardinal Inn. Your hostesses, Paula and Charlee, are eager to make this your best trip ever. You are greeted at the front office and then shown to your newly up-dated room with pillow-top mattresses, HDTVs with DirecTV and HBO. Our bathrooms have been supplied with luscious cotton towels and new massage showerheads. Each room has AC/heat, a microwave, mini-refrigerator and blow dryer. We have king bed rooms, double queen bed rooms and efficiencies that feature a full kitchen. WiFi, a bag of popcorn and a couple of bottles of water are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Cardinal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing