We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I absolutely adore Alamo Motel & Cottages! The owners go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and decorated with a just a touch of country. The grounds are lovely. Owner Dawn asked for our arrival time, just so she could have our room cool and comfy when we arrived. After a 7 hour drive, the cool room was just what we needed! My husband and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzyd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
71
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stopped at the Alamo to check it out and were not disappointed. We did not get to stay because of other commitments but did check out a room and found it to be very clean and comfy. Got to talk to Dawn and Mike and they were wonderful. Dawn is so nice you just want to give her a big hug. Will stay here on our next trip. Don't pass it by.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingnut56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We ride motorcycles and visit Maggie Valley 3 times a year. This was our 2nd time staying at the Alamo Motel . Mike and Dawn are the best. They treat you like family . We just love talking to them and hearing their stories. The rooms and cottages are clean . This will be our home away from home while in Maggie Valley. Adore those two.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATSY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although the rooms were very clean , it had a musty smell when we arrived. Dawn and mike were very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were very small and the one bathroom didn't even have a sink in it so you had to go into the kitchen to wash your hands.The beds were very comfy.One bedroom was facing the driveway and at night you had headlights flashing in the window.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Cute little place and the you could not ask more of Mike and Dawn. They were so nice, friendly, and very accomodating. We enjoyed talking with them and hearing some of the
stories of their past and how they ended up in Maggie Valley. If you are looking for a luxurious place with all the bells and whistles, then this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a clean place where you can kick you boots off at night after a long ride, then this could be it. Dawn was kind enough to do some of our laundry while we were out on a motorcyle ride. Our packing had to be minimal so we greatly appreciated her doing that for us!! All we had to do was place it on the front porch when we left and when we returned that evening it was all nice and neat waiting for us. If we happen to be in the area again, we will definitely look them up. Tammy and Rob

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonald, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

It's like "home". The owners, Dawn and Mike instantly make you feel like family! Our cabin was very clean, and well appointed!! And it's pet friendly, and next time we will definitely take our pets! If we ever make it down again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our first trip with our chihuahua. Staying here made it one of the best experiences we have had. Dawn went out of her way to welcome us and our dog. We were concerned that the room would smell like a kennel and no way did that happen. The room was spotless. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Scout is ready to go see Aunt Dawn again anytime! Mike worked hard, but took time to chat with us also. The grounds, through Dawn's care, are lovely. We do plan to return here again and again. The area is lovely and this is the place to stay. Thank you Mike and Dawn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Property: Alamo Motel & Cottages
Address: 1485 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7877
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing