We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about Mike and Dawn ! We took our kids here along with our English lab on a weekend getaway. Probaly one of our best experiences in staying at a resort. We usually camp but decided to give this place a shot! Highly recommend ! The owners actually care about your stay. They make sure everything is good! Dawn is a sweetheart , my dog Millie fell in love with her! Great weekend , thanks to Mike and Dawn! God Bless

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Dirtrider121273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place was picture perfect. Mike knew who we were by name when we pulled in the parking lot. Such a cute intimate hotel. Hey you can pay more money right down the raod and not get the personal service like we got at the Alamo. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quiltmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Love this place! Got the opportunity to stay last and will be bad again this year. Owners are VERY friendly and welcoming. Helped us find things to do and where to eat. Everything was super clean. Had a great time!

Room Tip: Email/Call early, Dawn is wonderful and will fit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillianB798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Dawn & Mike were great hosts - friendly and warm people. We stayed in one of the cottages. It is an older motel, but it is very charming, VERY clean and everything was in working order. It did not have that smell that sometimes older establishments have. We ate dinner in their gazebo one evening. It was selected as a midway point between Asheville & the Smoky Mountains and it worked out great. I would stay there again. I just wish I had taken a picture of Jasper on the porch!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reginapark2233 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Dawn is the BEST and her hubby Mike great !!!! Our cottage was SOO CLEAN I would die to have them see my house. Not only Clean but comfortable. Our experience there was great and we have already scheduled our return. Helpful and a down right AWESOME. Both our two and four legged kids were welcome and safe no trash to have to watch out for ....

Room Tip: Cottages have full kitchens even if you don't plan on cooking we grilled one night and could war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCCCStowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Dawn and mike are wonderfully sweet. They take pride in their cottages- it's more like you are welcome into their home not just a place to stay. The cottage was very clean and ready to go for us for an early check in. Dawn watched my pups while we went skiing and now she is their new bf. The cottages are a little rustic but for the value paid it is well worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsybitsytrvlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy as far as amenities go but everything works and is clean and well kept. The hosts are very kind and make you feel right at home. We had two small dogs and she took better care of them while we were out than we do! Great place, will return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kd_strike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meadowlark Motel
Meadowlark Motel
#23 of 25 in Maggie Valley
5 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
643 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7877
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: £35 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing