We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed In Housekeeping”

Hearth and Home Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hearth and Home Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed In Housekeeping”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Although pet friendly, 'king' rooms are off limits to pets. Upon check-in our ground floor accommodations were clean; inn is showing age and wear like many small motels in the area. We could easily hear the people above our room moving around, but once they retired noise wasn't an issue. If only a one night stay, we could give a very good rating.

Unfortunately, poor housekeeping for an extended stay guest doesn't encourage repeat business. We did notice a teenage boy cleaning an upstairs room late one evening. The tub/shower needed a waterproof liner; cloth shower curtain is inadequate to keep water inside a tub. Bathroom sink needed a good dose of Liquid Plummer. Housekeeping failed to clean our room, replace dirty towels, no hangers; another guest provided a bar of soap; no ice machine convenient to rooms. Plenty of parking, two sets of stairs to upper level (no elevator), tub and toilet separated from sink; in-room hair dryer, microwave, and mini-refrigerator all worked well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMP-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper28786, Owner at Hearth and Home Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
First and most important, thank you for choosing my little place in Maggie Valley.

Ninety-nine percent of the folks enjoy their stay, it's unfortunate you are in the 1%. It would have been very helpful for you to have indicated your displeasure prior to your departure. I especially thank you for making me aware of the maintenance issues after you left rather than while you were here. But I understand. ::wink, wink::

If you are who I think you are, you stayed in room 108, a pet friendly room. Your stay was after Labor Day which is when we had new carpet installed. Digital cable was added during that time frame. Your room also featured new tile installed the winter of 2012, a new door and HVAC unit installed in 2010. While I am closed for the winter the rooms on that end of the building will be painted and spruced up. If you return I hope you will be pleased with the results.

While my son and I work very hard to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay we sometimes miss our goals. We hope you will come back and enjoy our beautiful valley again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed there this past weekend and had a great time. The owner Allen is awesome. He made sure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, no foul odor, linens were clean, and pillows weren't bad at all. The mattress wasn't the greatest, but by no means was it the worst that I have slept on. They have a picnic area out front with a table and fire pit and it was great to sit out there at night and just kind of relax from our day. If you are going to go the area to go tubing or white water rafting this is a great place to stay as it is only about 15-20 mins from those areas and about 15 mins from the casino. I will definitely be staying here anytime I visit the area. It's also only about 30 minutes from Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper28786, Owner at Hearth and Home Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Kevin,

Thank you for the kind words. It's always a pleasure to have your group stay at my little place in beautiful Maggie Valley. I hope you guys will be able to visit more often in the 2014 season.

Your loyalty is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Allen the innkeeper went out of his way to make sure our group had a great time . Always quick with a suggestion for eats.... country vittles not to be missed !! Look forward to returning
Cherokee is only a short drive through some great mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte Bear D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper28786, Owner at Hearth and Home Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hey,

I'm thrilled you guys keep coming back to my little place here in beautiful Maggie Valley. We do have some great restaurants here and when you come back I have a couple of more gems to share with you.

I do hope your mother is well and you will be able to come back more often in the 2014 season.

Your loyalty, friendship, and kind words make make all the hard work worth every minute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 March 2005

After a very poor experience with a motel in Cherokee we drove around for a couple of hours in the middle of the night looking for some place to stay. There were no rooms to be found (everyone had up "no vacancy" signs). We just happened on Hearth and Home in Maggie Valley. Although it was a typical motel, it was clean and well kept and the owners were beyond personable - - very willing to do whatever needed to make our stay happy. They even seemed very apologetic for our negative experience in Cherokee. If we return to the area, we most likely will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
4.2 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#11 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearth and Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearth and Home Inn

Property: Hearth and Home Inn
Address: Highway 19, 3376 Dellwood Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearth and Home Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Maggie Valley, Hearth & Home Inn is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort, or travelers looking for adventure. Whatever you are looking for, Hearth & Home Inn is the perfect lodging choice for your visit to Maggie Valley. Hearth & Home Inn is just a short drive away from many of western North Carolina's finest attractions (see our "About Us" page for links to area attractions). You are just minutes away from fabulous restaurants, shopping, hiking, and nature all located within Haywood County. Besides being "clean, cozy, comfortable," Hearth & Home Inn is also an outstanding value. Welcome to our home in the mountains! Well behaved pets are welcome on our property...Please let us know before you check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hearth and Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing