We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scottish Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Crossville, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent a night here last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Very, very clean no frills motel. Friendly staff, very helpful with advice on area attractions. Good breakfast treats and coffee. On the quiet end of town close to well stocked store. Price was great in comparison to others in the area. Will stay here when in the area.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the front close to the pool. The motel is far enough off the highway so noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandMountainJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely little motel in a lovely place. Rooms were very clean, staff was friendly. I give it four stars because you just don't find this often. We were very comfortable. Only downside was the coffee...tasted more like tea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Scottish Inn, Maggie Valley sits near the intersection Soco Road (Hwy 19) and the road down Jonathan Creek leading to I-40. At first glance, you might pass by the Scottish Inn. It is an older brick, one level motel down and back from Hwy 19, However, its rooms are large and clean. They are decorated no differently from a Best Western or Ramada. Both of the double beds were comfortable. There was little to no room noise coming in from the surrounding rooms and we had people on both sides. The bathroom had clean, modern floor tile. The commode and sink were both a little small but the tub was full size with plenty of hot water. The large screen TV worked just fine. Only minor complaint was that I could never connect to the wireless internet. Use the Scottish Inn booking site for a better room price than calling directly. A very pleasant surprise. Will go back.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms away from street noise and to be housed away from other guests---it often works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Its a nice motel to stay at, the staff is very friendly. It is a Small motel and a older one, but the staff is making the motel a nice place to stay in. We Found it clean and Comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed at Scottish Inn for a night during the leaf peeping season. It is an older hotel to be sure, but found it to be clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Didn't see any of the problems mentioned in the other posts, but considering the age of the other posts, it is understandable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the price was terrific, considering the outrageous prices the other hotels were charging during the season for roughly the same quality of rooms. In addition, it is nearer the the end of the "strip" in a more isolated locale,and set back farther from the street so you avoid the noise and congestion of the other places, if that is what you prefer.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing street are quieter, HVAC is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scootron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tn
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Scottish Inn during a 3 day conference at Lake Junaluska. The Inn was an older establishment, but clean. Our beds were comfortable, but the pillows were very thick and seemed hard to me. Maybe I'm just not used to a super thick pillow. The towels could have stood to be replaced but they weren't thread bare, just discolored. The continental breakfast was a snack cake honey bun and weak coffee. There is a gas station next doors that serves breakfast. There is a pool but we didn't use it. We just didn't have time. The bathroom and room was clean. It was a nonsmoking room. No complaints with the smell of smoke from prior guest. Everyday when we came back the beds had been made and towels replaced. I would stay there again. The place was dated but clean. Don't go expecting to find a 5-star luxury motel. It had a few little things wrong but it was clean, the main thing!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed for 2 days, the rooms are dated but were clean and well kept. Did not notice carpet being soiled. I think the carpet has been replaced since the "sock pics". We were there during the peak of leaf season and also during the clogging competion and all the motels in the area had their prices elevated at a VERY high price for what they were. Other than being overpriced because of the season it was a great stay and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Do not expect anything fancy, just a clean safe room for the night which at any other time would be at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindalanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
1.3 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 25 in Maggie Valley
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hearth and Home Inn
#19 of 25 in Maggie Valley
32 reviews
3.7 mi away
River Point Lodge
River Point Lodge
#16 of 25 in Maggie Valley
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Property: Scottish Inn
Address: 178 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9662
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing