We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED OUR STAY !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarketon Motel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Sunman, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVED OUR STAY !”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

June 12-14, 2013, our first time in Maggie Valley: We have to agree with all the favorable comments. Tammy even took the time to look for our lost keys (in the room or grass by the pool.) after we had left. Thanks for supplying clean rags to dry off our trikes. The chairs & rockers in front of each unit gave us all opportunity to draw the other guests into conversations. Sorry we didn't take the opportunity to use the pool or gather around the campfire.
Just one suggestion: The Room 8 window, facing the rising sun, could use thicker drapes. We highly recommend Clarketon Motel for the price, location, and the hospitality!...Can-Am Spyder Owner, Sunman IN

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    28
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China Grove, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I highly recommend The Clarketon Motel for anyone wishing to stay in Maggie Valley, NC!! This was a VERY clean motel, the staff was very friendly and full of information concerning local attractions and restaurants. We stayed in Room 6, it had a queen size bed, private bathroom, microwave and mini refrigerator. Only $39 per night!! The decor is a bit outdated but we were only there to sleep. It is very close to many restaurants in Maggie Valley and to historic Waynesville. The pool area was clean. The pool is 4ft at the shallow end (if I remember correctly) and 7ft at the deep end. We would definitely stay at The Clarketon Motel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieShue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was a great first time at this personal and friendly hotel. The room was large and had new windows for a back and front view and the first hotel I stayed in where you could open the windows. The price is very good and located near the events and a short walk across road to eat.We road motorcycle and it is great to be welcomed at a hotel for bikers. Bonfire and even offered to drive us to events . Love retro hotels.We will be back for other Rallys in the mountain..Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Ask for what kind a room you want..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stardancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our group really enjoyed our stay here.
It's like more visiting friends than staying at a hotel. Phillip has a bonfire at night. He will take on a guided ride of the area. He gave us some great rides to try. Offered use of the Suburban if we needed it. I honestly don't know how he remembers all those jokes.We will definitely be stopping back by here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupytaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Love this little motel. It is dated, however, you can't beat the price for what you get. And most importantly, it's clean! My friends and I stayed here for the weekend and throughly enjoyed it. The 2 room efficiency with fireplace was the perfect setup for us. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipsnspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have stayed at the Clarketon many times for weekend ski trips to Cataloochee Ski Resort or for a quick weekend getaway any time of year. The affordable rates keep us coming back. We have always stayed in the room, located on the side nearest the road, which has one bed, TV with remote and a small bathroom. The room has always been comfortable and clean; we enjoy the cozy feel and flashback to our childhood days (even though the rooms are "dated", it feels nice - not uncomfortable). Best of all, you are not too far from Joey's Pancake house!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We found it to be clean. It is on the basic side, but our room had a nice sized fridge. Our room was sort of dated but again it was very clean. The location is good for getting to the Cataloochee ski area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GringoLoco2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
280 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
586 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarketon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarketon Motel

Property: The Clarketon Motel
Address: 1527 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7876
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarketon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clarketon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarketon Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing