We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarketon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clarketon Motel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in August of last year and had several rooms and many family members with us and everyone had a very enjoyable stay. The kids enjoyed the pool and play ground and we enjoyed the fire pit. We just booked our rooms for July of this year and can't wait. We just love this motel and how personable the owners are. It is like you are staying with friends rather than at a motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    26
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Was at the Clarketon this weekend for a motorcycle club event that had gotten off to a rocky start but upon arriving at the motel we found a quaint little hotel that opened up it's arms for us. Owner Phillip and his family made us feel as if we were staying with friends rather than at a motel. The room was neat, clean, well-maintained and comfortable. He led us on a fabulous ride on Saturday and built a big bonfire for us afterwards. He sat around the fire like one of the group. Not only did we find a place we will return to but we made friends as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Clean rooms and great customer service. I don't want to pay for "extras" that I find useless on a motorcycle trip. My group stayed 3 nites and we all agreed that we will be going back! The owner rides too and took us on a tour of the local back roads and we had a blast! The Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap is like a parking lot compared to the roads Phil took us on... We had to suffer rain most of the trip and they let us use a courtesy vehicle as needed. The bike wash and fire pit was a nice touch as well. If no less than a 5 star hotel is what you have to have, don't consider the Clarketon. If you want chocolates and mints on your pillow - bring your own. But if all you're gonna use the room for is to sleep and use the bathroom - this is a gem!!! Blue Knights North Carolina Chapter XXII recommends it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Love this place! So enjoyed our stay at the Clarketon! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Management and staff are helpful and kind they really go out of their way to accommodate you. Clarketon is a small older facility with TLC. Made reservations to come back before we left. Looking forward to our next stay in May!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I am going to write my review for a second time because my original one has been removed. My husband and I were baffled that The Clarketon managed such a good rating on trip advisor but it seems they just have the poor ones deleted?

There is absolutely nothing impressive about their rooms aside from the fact that they are in desperate need of renovations. Our room was damp and smelled odd. The bed was nightmarishly uncomfortable. The sheet actually had small tears and stains. (In response to my original review, management told me an outside company washed their sheets so it's not really their fault. That's a completely unacceptable display of not taking ownership for their shortcomings.)

I have never had such an awful stay. I literally took a Benadryl because I couldn't wait for morning and check-out

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennamarie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarketonMotel, Manager at The Clarketon Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We apologize to jennamarie51 for such an awful experience.
We do not have the authority to remove a review on trip advisor.
We do not provide the most modern conveniences and do not claim to do so. We are an older mom and pop facility and we do try to make every effort to accommodate our customers.
Our reviews are true. Our facility is clean. We tried using a linen service long ago due to heavy demand and choose to discontinue their services.
We are hard working Americans and put everything back into our business continually making upgrades.
It is difficult to understand the intent of such a review by someone who thought the room was so awful and choose to stay. We can not change your experience after the fact. If we know someone is unhappy with a unit at check in we try to switch them to another unit if available or another accommodation at another facility. We want everyone who visits Maggie Valley to have a Wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We paid $77 per night for two nights. This motel should be in the $40 to $50 range and only because of location. The room was very clean and had been remodeled. This is an old 50's / 60's motel. We selected this property over several others because of the Reviews. I believe the online reviews overstate this motel. Please understand this is not a bad property, it is just over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainFax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

You can not beat this place for the price, the cleanliness, the closeness to all attractions, and the great owners, Tammy & Phillip. We just stayed there 2 weeks ago and are returning back this Friday again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunters821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#11 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Five Star Inn
Five Star Inn
#10 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Maggie Inn
Royal Maggie Inn
#14 of 26 in Maggie Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarketon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarketon Motel

Property: The Clarketon Motel
Address: 1527 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7876
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#8 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarketon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Clarketon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarketon Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing