We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Creek Camping Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(Marion)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyline Village Inn(Little Switzerland)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Black Mountain(Black Mountain)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn At Glen Alpine(Glen Alpine)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
193
26
19
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
26
19
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogi bearjellystone marionranger stationcamping experiencepaddle boatsfavorite campgroundcamp groundthe entire weekarts and craftsgreat campgroundwater slide and poolputt putt coursethe ac unitfamily vacationlong weekendcamperscabin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

First, I have to say that the campground is awesome. Second, I have to say that the staff is the best. We stayed May 1-2 and had the best time. The nature trail is also a treasure hunt for the kids. What a great way to encourage the kids to go on a great hike by hiding treasures along the trail and giving hints on how to find them). Even though the campground was quiet during our stay (early in the season and middle of the week), the staff still made sure that all events happened and that everyone had a great time. The campsite was great (we stayed in B1). This was our first experience camping in the hills and it exceeded our highest expectations. The scenery is excellent. The grounds were well maintained, and bathrooms were clean. Our 4yr old daughter participated in the t-shirt making and loved it. We got to chatting to a couple of the staff (Happy Feet, you're great), and even though I'm sure they had things to do, they made us feel as though they would sit and chat with us all day if we wanted. We were travelling home after vacationing in Georgia so only had a couple days stay here, but may look at coming back in the future from our home near Chicago.

Yogi played with the kids every morning, Mama bear and Yogi got us all dancing (even though it was early in the season and there were probably only 6 kids staying on the days we were there). The check-in staff talked not only to us, but directly to our daughter...she loved being part of the conversation as they explained what the passport is all about, and how she could collect stamps in her passport which she could redeem for candy or other treats. The impromptu slushi for our daughter was thoroughly enjoyed...thank you! This was the prettiest and nicest Jellystone we've ever stayed at. We've stayed at larger Jellystones, but this place gives you the personal touch, not the resort, somewhat impersonal touch.

Thanks to the whole staff for such a great time. Only wish now that we could've stayed a couple more days.

Room Tip: B1 is the largest site. Sites (B1-B13) are on a slight hill so each site is at a different level which helps give each site a more defined space. Sites A24-A33 are somewhat more open, so not much in the way of trees. All sites are quite level.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biz_Casual_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We just returned home from a great weekend at Jellystone in Marion, NC! This was our first time camping at a Jellystone park, and I can't imagine that all of the Jellystones are as good as this one!! The Staff went above and beyond to ensure that we were having a great time. There are daily activities, such as arts and crafts and there was a dance Saturday night in which Booboo bear danced! It was awesome! He can really cut a rug! We have a six year old daughter. She really enjoyed the pool, playground and the canoe. We love camping because its such great family time. The work that the Garcia family puts into this campground really shows. They have created Disney magic with their hospitality that gives this place such a good vibe. There is also a beautiful walking trail that over looks the river, and miniature golf. We will definitely be back! Thanks for an awesome time!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinandElizabethSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogibearmarion, Manager at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for all the kind words. So happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay; we loved having you all stay with us! Tell Molly Yogi Bear and Boo Boo said hey! Hope to see you all again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Used a living social deal to check this place. My family is looking for a getaway place for the summer. We arrived late, but they left our cabin key and additional info at the ranger station. It was awesome that you get free supply of firewood and ice. The cabins are really nice and equipped with utensils, plates, pots and pans. Even towels in the bathroom. The items in the ranger station are a bit pricey so go to the nearby Food Lion or walmart.

They have activities schedule to keep children entertained throughout the day and of course the paddleboats, mini golf, and arcade for use whenever. Overall, good experience and I see the fam coming back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaquay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Based on the reviews, I was expecting something great-but was disappointed instead! The park is smaller than I thought and the camp sites seem small and close together. The park itself is a little run down (maybe they are still Spring cleaning to get it ready for the Summer). They do supply a list of activities throughout the day for the kids, not much for toddlers to do though. The "lake" is more like a pond. We stayed in a camp cabin (which are very close to each other also). The cabin itself was nice and with the exception of the couch drenched in dog hair it was clean. Glad I brought extra sheets so I could cover it for our stay. The bed was very uncomfortable and creaked with every move. Before arriving I reserved a golf cart for 1 day, which would be nice if the park was bigger to cruise around but some areas are blocked off "seasonal guests" only. Thankfully, we purchased a Living Social deal and didn't pay full price, which is the only reason I'm giving it as high of rating as I did.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyLitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. My apologies if there was dog hair- we will circle the wagon on this one :) Yes, we are a bit smaller then some other camp-resorts. Our park is a 64 acre park and the pond is a 5 acre stocked fishing lake. At the present we are building the new snackin shack which will feature hand dipped ice cream, candy galore and hot food items such as walking tacos. I apologize if the construction caused any trouble, we are on the homestretch. Thank you again for posting.

Alex aka "running bear"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Loved it!! Will be back either this summer or in the fall. Loved the cabins and my son and nephew had a great time. Very relaxing and easy to get to. Was nice to have the screened in porch too. Very family oriented and all our neighbors were great. We enjoyed the activities as well

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpatt2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews