We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible-gross”
Review of Sportsman Inn

Sportsman Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Marion B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible-gross”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came into Marion looking for a place to stay saw sportsman inn and asked to see room walked in and it smelled really bad like they have not cleaned the room at all the carpet looked gross and the bathroom was terrible. We had drove around more for another option and with it being so close to 4th of July we could not find anywhere else so we had to stay there. I went and bought lysol had to argue with the lady to give me extra rags so I could clean the room there was nasty stuff all over the
Walls and I started seeing roaches in the room and then ants everywhere. This is the worse place to stay in the world I would rather pop a tent somewhere the recommend this place to anyone. And get this they don't clean the rooms until you leave no matter how long you stay. They won't give you more towels. It's just gross.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The sportsman inn is a very good choice for room fare. The attendant in the office was very nice, and she even offered to show us a room before making a commitment to stay. The price was the cheapest I have found in town by almost half. My wife said she wanted to stay at the comfort inn while checking in and the next morning she said that it was the best night of sleep she got for being a hotel bed. I travel through North Carolina often so i know where I'll be staying.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the office have very little disturbance from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mingo Junction, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

we just stayed there this week while on vacation. The owners were very nice and friendly and helpful. the only bad thing was the cable company came to change the cable and then after a couple hours they switched it back so that we could atleast watch tv. But that wasn't their fault they couldn't have been any nicer to us. We would stay there again if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This motel was recommended to me by a few residents in Marion (including a very nice gas station attendant), in large part due to it being one of few choices in town. The attendant in the shack seemed nice enough and was kind enough to ask if we would like to see a room before paying $40 for the night. We just wanted to rest after a long day instead of heading home ~250 miles away. $40 for another day in the mountains, how can you beat that? This was the only motel that wasn't $130 a night at the time so we said "no" and checked into our room. We thought we knew what we were expecting, it wasn't going to be the nicest place but surely it wouldn't be "camping."

There were "locked doors" to the other side of the motel room, it just gave an aura of creepiness to it. There were multiple gnats (dead and alive, I'd say the ratio was 1:4) everywhere in the sink and shower area. The toilet would not flush and appeared to have the last resident's cigarette ashes in there (non-smoking room?). I did not notice any kind of drug activity as one reviewer stated however I would not be entirely surprised. We asked for a refund as it was less than five minutes before we realized we had made a mistake checking in there. The lady was apologetic and offered to clean the room again but at that point my fiancee offered to drive home 4 hours away because it was "that bad."

It's now a running joke between my fiancee and I and is the subject of much embarrassment on my part for having not "toured" the room prior to paying. If she offers to tour the room, just say yes.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This isn't the best place I've ever stayed for a night, but at $39.99 a night it beat the $80 all the other hotels were asking for. The pool was clean and served it's purpose well on a hot 95 degree day. My room was simple, but clean. I can see why discerning travelers might not want to stay here, but if you're just coming through for the night this place will do just fine. The lady who checked me in let me look at the room first and gave me a room where I could access the limited wi-fi area if I promised not to smoke in the room, since it's non-smoking. It's old and a bit beat up, but as I said...it's not a horrible place to stay the night and the pool really hit the spot.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DasPimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We actually checked in...lots of embarrassment now for doing that. The room was non-smoking..but reeked, the two beds were so crowded in that one blocked the closet. We just left, didn't ask for our money back, never unpacked because of the horrible odor. We fled. This place made any other motels look elegant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beigedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
126 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
551 reviews
9.5 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
516 reviews
17.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
127 reviews
20.5 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Inn

Property: Sportsman Inn
Address: 40 US 221 Business Ext N, Marion, NC 28752-5643
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Marion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing