We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bald Mountain House a Treasure of Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Mars Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A B&B with a large KING-size suite is difficult to find, making Bald Mountain House a wonderful discovery! Monica and Tony Martin have given their heart and soul into making their guests feel as though they are personal friends. Every morning was a surprise to find out what delicious breakfast was being served. Guests have many options from which to choose when planning activities in the area: visiting Biltmore Estates, hiking on the Appalachian Trail, or relaxing on the large front porch with a good book and a spectacular view of the mountains. My particular favorite touch was the magnifying mirror attached above the blow dryer in the bathroom!

Room Tip: King size bedroom suite is wonderful for couples who are "Tall and Big".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCPAGPJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Bald Mountain House is a gorgeous inn tucked away on the side of the mountain in gated Wolf Laurel community, yet is so close to many attractions. It is minutes from the Appalacian Trail, whitewater rafting on the French Broad River, and the interesting towns of Mars Hill and Asheville, NC. The proprietors, Monica and Tony, go to great lengths to insure that each guest has the perfect B&B experience. Monica's breakfasts are delicious and wholesome. Along with a few friends, my wife and I spent a wonderful 3 nights and fun filled days. When not venturing out to explore the area, we relaxed on the front balcony observing wildlife and enjoying the colorful autumn scenery. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had the most delightful time staying at the Bald Mountain House. The scenery, the 5-star food we were served every day, and the quiet location made for a most relaxing stay! We hiked some on the Appalachian Trail, hiked up to Big Bald, and visited some of the local attractions and festivals in Mars Hill and Asheville. And just sitting on the balcony watching the variety of birds at the feeders was a great way to pass the time. I would absolutely recommend the service of Monica and Tony any time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the end next to the mountain stream, left the window open all night and sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Customer Service was the Best, this started from the first email I sent , inquiring about a weekend we wanted to stay at Bald Mountain House, the owners Monica & Tony Martin made sure we have the right directions -emailed a copy to me because the GPS can turn you around on the mountain giving you wrong directions or not work,We drove right up to the house no problem and was greeted by both Tony and Monica when we got there., She had also ask if there were any special diet needs or restrictions, I have never been ask this before anywhere. There isn't but it was nice she ask. I had told Monica we would be there around lunch time , when we got there she had ask if we had lunch yet, we had not. so she did her magic in the Ktichen, before we could settle down good , the food was on the table, Monica is a Gourmet Chef. Now the House, it is Beautiful, it was built to their spec's , all of the bedrooms are beautiful with a great view, and you cannot hear your neighbor unless you open the bedroom door, each has its own sitting room, bathroom, TV, separate bedroom, we stayed in the owners choice, the Blue Ridge room, my wife loved it, you could here & see the creek running down beside the house, Fresh Coffee was just right outside the door at the end of the hallway, with a jar of fresh home made cookies., So My wife was served coffee in bed before we when down stairs, the Bed was so Comfortable My wife asked the owners what make they were., No problem falling to sleep here. Monica will ask you what time you would like breakfast,and have it ready, made from scratch NO store bought Biscuits here, this is stick to your ribs home cooking with a true Chef's touch, sausage & gravy over home made Biscuits, home made Cinnamon Rolls, Fresh Fruit, I'm gettiing hunger just thinking about it. This place is open all year around. There is 2 Porchs with Rocking Chairs and Cushion Seated chairs, Monica Made the cushions, we set out there and watch the Birds, Chipmunks, A small flock of Turkeys come walking up the drive, Anne said Thanksgiving is going up the drive. we missed the deer when we went up the mountain, There is a Doe with a pair of twins tah visit's Daly. We owned 2 units in Central Florida at a 5 Star Rated Resort, that cannot hold a candle to this Place in any fashion. We went up to the top of Bald Mountain 360 view, took some pictures and Little Bald Mountain, Drove around the Laurel, the whole place is beautiful, the is a Golf Course there. We drove up from Lawrenceville Ga, part of the Atlanta Metro Area, beautiful 4 hour drive all the way from here to there. I can tell you this 2 days is not long enough, I not sure a week would be long enough. Anne and I both had gave cards to the same couple the evening we got back home, she had giving the preachers wife a card and I had giving the preacher a card not knowing that either one of us had told either one on them about the Bald Mountain House. It was real nice getting away from everything and enjoying God's Country even if it was only a couple days & nights. Thank You Monica & Tony , We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the Rooms Are Great with a Great View, each with its own sitting room separate bedroom, big and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollifq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Absolutely Beautiful ! You'll enjoy wonderful hospitality and delicious food! Very clean and cozy! You will have a wonderful view of the beautiful mountain scenery. My husband and I had a such a pleasant experience we will defintley go back. Best Ever!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aholly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Bald Mountain House is a hidden gem located in the gated Wolf Laurel Resort Community. The bed and breakfast is elegantly decorated with 3 spacious upstairs bedroom suites, each with their own view of spectacular mountain scenery. Linens, top quality, are clean and fresh. Beds are exceptionally comfortable. The owners, Tony and Monica, are very welcoming and enjoy ensuring their guests are comfortable. Monica, a gourmet cook, prepares delicious meals. My family and I would highly recommend The Bald Mountain House for any occasion anytime of the year. Perfect setting for a family reunion to a weekend getaway. The three of us will absolutely be back.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curls0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Magnificent bed and breakfast, three beautifully decorated upstairs bedrooms with seating areas, friendly hostess, delicious breakfast, spectacular mountain views

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011Silvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort

Address: 85 Woodfern Ln, Mars Hill, NC 28754-5202
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mars Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mars Hill
Price Range: £110 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bald Mountain House is located inside the Wolf Laurel Resort & Ski area with private access to the Appalachian Trail at Big Bald Mountain. We offer 3-room suites, over 100' of covered verandas with long mountain views includng Mt. Mitchell. At an elevation of 4500' we enjoy cool air in the summer and skiing in the winter. Only one hour from Bristol Speedway & 30 minutes from Asheville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing