We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find the solitude of a mountain retreat and the comforts of home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mars Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Mars Hill B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Find the solitude of a mountain retreat and the comforts of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I visited Bald Mountain for our 20th anniversary. We had always wanted to explore the Asheville area, but were seeking a quiet place to relax at the end of the day. Monica greeted us on our arrival and immediately made us feel at home. The blue suite was perfect, with a calming decor and the most comfortable bed for a restful nights sleep... the views are amazing...what a site to wake up to each morning. Monica had our coffee ready and waiting just outside our door upon awakening and did I mention breakfast? Each morning we were treated to Monica's creations, a true culinary delight and a wonderful way to start our day...we didn't need another meal until evening dinner. And Monica's recommendations were perfect...not a chain restaurant in site! We feasted at locally owned and operated establishment's and had memorable meals each time...The Korner Kitchen in Biltmore Village, Asheville, was our absolute favorite! And if you tour the Biltmore Estate, make sure you check out the winery...what a pleasant surprise! One of the highlights of our trip was to hike the Appalachian trail, just minutes from Bald Mountain House and doable for all levels of hikers! And if you love browsing in local shops and galleries there are many quaint small towns in the area to accommodate. We highly recommend the Bald Mountain house! Thank you Monica and Tony for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

A wonderful little place in the midst of woods. The rooms are quite big and spacious, easy on the eyes decor, very neatly maintained and well kept. They come with free goodies like chocolates, cookies, coffee, granola bars and herbal soaps in the bathroom(smells great).
The view of Mt Mitchell from the patio is gorgeous.

Monica is an awesome host, cooks great food and a nice chatty person.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderrlusst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

A B&B with a large KING-size suite is difficult to find, making Bald Mountain House a wonderful discovery! Monica and Tony Martin have given their heart and soul into making their guests feel as though they are personal friends. Every morning was a surprise to find out what delicious breakfast was being served. Guests have many options from which to choose when planning activities in the area: visiting Biltmore Estates, hiking on the Appalachian Trail, or relaxing on the large front porch with a good book and a spectacular view of the mountains. My particular favorite touch was the magnifying mirror attached above the blow dryer in the bathroom!

Room Tip: King size bedroom suite is wonderful for couples who are "Tall and Big".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCPAGPJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Bald Mountain House is a gorgeous inn tucked away on the side of the mountain in gated Wolf Laurel community, yet is so close to many attractions. It is minutes from the Appalacian Trail, whitewater rafting on the French Broad River, and the interesting towns of Mars Hill and Asheville, NC. The proprietors, Monica and Tony, go to great lengths to insure that each guest has the perfect B&B experience. Monica's breakfasts are delicious and wholesome. Along with a few friends, my wife and I spent a wonderful 3 nights and fun filled days. When not venturing out to explore the area, we relaxed on the front balcony observing wildlife and enjoying the colorful autumn scenery. I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had the most delightful time staying at the Bald Mountain House. The scenery, the 5-star food we were served every day, and the quiet location made for a most relaxing stay! We hiked some on the Appalachian Trail, hiked up to Big Bald, and visited some of the local attractions and festivals in Mars Hill and Asheville. And just sitting on the balcony watching the variety of birds at the feeders was a great way to pass the time. I would absolutely recommend the service of Monica and Tony any time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the end next to the mountain stream, left the window open all night and sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Customer Service was the Best, this started from the first email I sent , inquiring about a weekend we wanted to stay at Bald Mountain House, the owners Monica & Tony Martin made sure we have the right directions -emailed a copy to me because the GPS can turn you around on the mountain giving you wrong directions or not work,We drove right up to the house no problem and was greeted by both Tony and Monica when we got there., She had also ask if there were any special diet needs or restrictions, I have never been ask this before anywhere. There isn't but it was nice she ask. I had told Monica we would be there around lunch time , when we got there she had ask if we had lunch yet, we had not. so she did her magic in the Ktichen, before we could settle down good , the food was on the table, Monica is a Gourmet Chef. Now the House, it is Beautiful, it was built to their spec's , all of the bedrooms are beautiful with a great view, and you cannot hear your neighbor unless you open the bedroom door, each has its own sitting room, bathroom, TV, separate bedroom, we stayed in the owners choice, the Blue Ridge room, my wife loved it, you could here & see the creek running down beside the house, Fresh Coffee was just right outside the door at the end of the hallway, with a jar of fresh home made cookies., So My wife was served coffee in bed before we when down stairs, the Bed was so Comfortable My wife asked the owners what make they were., No problem falling to sleep here. Monica will ask you what time you would like breakfast,and have it ready, made from scratch NO store bought Biscuits here, this is stick to your ribs home cooking with a true Chef's touch, sausage & gravy over home made Biscuits, home made Cinnamon Rolls, Fresh Fruit, I'm gettiing hunger just thinking about it. This place is open all year around. There is 2 Porchs with Rocking Chairs and Cushion Seated chairs, Monica Made the cushions, we set out there and watch the Birds, Chipmunks, A small flock of Turkeys come walking up the drive, Anne said Thanksgiving is going up the drive. we missed the deer when we went up the mountain, There is a Doe with a pair of twins tah visit's Daly. We owned 2 units in Central Florida at a 5 Star Rated Resort, that cannot hold a candle to this Place in any fashion. We went up to the top of Bald Mountain 360 view, took some pictures and Little Bald Mountain, Drove around the Laurel, the whole place is beautiful, the is a Golf Course there. We drove up from Lawrenceville Ga, part of the Atlanta Metro Area, beautiful 4 hour drive all the way from here to there. I can tell you this 2 days is not long enough, I not sure a week would be long enough. Anne and I both had gave cards to the same couple the evening we got back home, she had giving the preachers wife a card and I had giving the preacher a card not knowing that either one of us had told either one on them about the Bald Mountain House. It was real nice getting away from everything and enjoying God's Country even if it was only a couple days & nights. Thank You Monica & Tony , We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the Rooms Are Great with a Great View, each with its own sitting room separate bedroom, big and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollifq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Absolutely Beautiful ! You'll enjoy wonderful hospitality and delicious food! Very clean and cozy! You will have a wonderful view of the beautiful mountain scenery. My husband and I had a such a pleasant experience we will defintley go back. Best Ever!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aholly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mars Hill
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
24.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Inn on Main Street B&B
Inn on Main Street B&B
#2 of 6 in Weaverville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Reynolds Mansion
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Pines Cottages
The Pines Cottages
#6 of 21 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort

Property: Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort
Address: 85 Woodfern Ln, Mars Hill, NC 28754-5202
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mars Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mars Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bald Mountain House is located inside the Wolf Laurel Resort & Ski area with private access to the Appalachian Trail at Big Bald Mountain. We offer 3-room suites, over 100' of covered verandas with long mountain views includng Mt. Mitchell. At an elevation of 4500' we enjoy cool air in the summer and skiing in the winter. Only one hour from Bristol Speedway & 30 minutes from Asheville! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing