We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Blue Heron Whitewater
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closest whitewater rafting outfitter to Asheville, NC. Blue Heron Whitewater offers a variety of trips on the French Broad River. Choose the trip that fits your group and schedule. Half Day Trips enjoy 5 miles, with class II-III rapids. Full Day Trips add 3 more miles, a delicious deli-style lunch served riverside, and a class IV rapid. Minimum age for whitewater trips is 8. Float Trips are offered for families with kids as young as 4 and for those looking for a scenic float trip through the beautiful Southern Appalachian Mountains. On the river you are no longer a spectator!Come visit our new solar-powered outpost with hot showers, free wet suit use in cool weather and the most experienced guides on the river.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Two of us went whitewater rafting with one of the owners and we were the only people on the river that day! It was a cold day in April, 2013 but we were dressed in wetsuits and had a fantastic 5 mile experience. Definitely recommend them for a fun experience!

1  Thank travelingshoesbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We have heard it said that there in no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing. And this is true (to a point). We have wet suits, neoprene socks and gloves, fleece tops, splash jackets and splash pants. And for after the trip: hot showers, hot coffee, and hot chocolate. Why, you might ask, do we provide all this free of charge? Well, because we want to go rafting. And although we could go rafting by ourselves, it's more fun to meet new people and enjoy a day on the river with them. So if free hot chocolate will get folks to go rafting with us, then free hot chocolate it is.
Thanks for braving the cold weather and rafting with us. I think tomorrow's high is supposed to be 27, so give us a call and we'll raft, paddle and slide our way down the river. The hot chocolate will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"half day trip"
in 31 reviews
"the french broad river"
in 32 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 27 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 5 reviews
"water shoes"
in 8 reviews
"terrific guide"
in 3 reviews
"showers and changing rooms"
in 3 reviews
"class rapids"
in 7 reviews
"great pictures"
in 6 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 12 reviews
"wet clothes"
in 4 reviews
"small cliff"
in 3 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 7 reviews
"the entire staff"
in 4 reviews
"first timers"
in 6 reviews
"visiting the asheville area"
in 3 reviews
Filter

160 - 164 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

My company came here for a team building event in July. We did a half-day trip with Blue Heron. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The trip was mostly small stuff, but we had some people new to rafting, so that was okay. Our trip included lunch served on the river bank during the trip. This was very well done -- all very fresh and tasty. Their facilities are very nice! There is a room with showers and changing rooms. The experience was overall very good. I am thinking about going back next spring with family/friends!

1  Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks for coming rafting with us for your team building. The team part of rafting is one of the things we like best about the sport. Working together, balancing strengths, communication. All this makes for a better trip on the river. And education. About the environment, history of the area, reading the currents, and how to drive a raft. We want a river trip with Blue Heron Whitewater to be more then a ride. We want it to be an experience.
Thanks again and hope to see you in the spring. Which will be here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have rafted all over the US and this is one of the best outfitters I have experienced. They are all about customer service. When visiting the Asheville area this is an excellent way to spend quality family time.

Thank HowardMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thanks for rafting with us and thanks very much for your comments and review. The many, many years we've been leading river trips have only continued to reinforce our philosophy that even though a nice and clean building is important, and good guides are important, and a good fresh lunch is important, and even though these things are all part of the whole, the core focus from phone call to photo show must be the guest experience.
Thanks again and hope to see you on the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our Y-Guides tribe took a trip down the French Broad river with Blue Heron and had a great time. Our guide, "Wild Man Jack," got us safely through the rapids while having a fun time. The river-side lunch of grilled burgers and hot dogs was perfect. Upon return to the rafting company, we took hot showers, then they lead us through a humorous photo show of our group. All in all, a great time!

Thank trusted-advice-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Glad to hear you had a good time on the river. We look forward to the Y-Guides trips all year. The trips are always great fun with lots of positive energy and laughter. It's great fun to see the photos after the trip too, as there are always some interesting facial expressions caught on film.
Thanks again, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

On Friday, I took my 9 year old daughter on a trip with the local YMCA-Guides with Blue Heron on the French Broad. I have some experience on the New and Gauley as well as canoeing on the Chatooga with Outward Bound and NOC. I think Class VI in West Virginia and NOC do a great job at all levels, and I have really enjoyed every experience on a river. Blue Heron is their equal, and this was a first class trip all the way.

Eric, our lead guide, made sure to make the ride fun for all of us, even those who have been on bigger water, and was really excellent at making the three children in the raft feel like part of the team.

It's a fun trip, and well worth the money. Thanks, Blue Heron.

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We love the Y-Guides trips. Such great fun and positive energy. Glad you had a good time on the river. The fact that folks of different experience levels all have a fun time together is one of the many things we like about rafting on the French Broad River.
Thanks for rafting with us and thanks for your comments. I will pass them on to Eric. He has been guiding and trip leading a long time and does a great job of relating to a wide range of folks with different experience levels.
Thanks again and hope to see you on the river with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Heron Whitewater also viewed

Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blue Heron Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing