We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roaches in the rooms!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roaches in the rooms!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This place is disgusting !!! Roaches in the rooms, toilets dont flush, showers have an awful high pitched sound when on. I would never stay here again! We moved hotels and while we were checking out another group came up to the desk complaining about the same things. They also cancelled their reservation early and left.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSMSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your comments. We were just made aware of the situation buy the guests and take it very seriously. This is not a common occurrence and our pest control company is treating the problem. We do have a pest management contract and they are here monthly as well as for pest incidents such as this.

As for your complaint regarding the plumbing issues. I do hope you reported it at the desk as we would like to correct the issue. This is not the case in all of the rooms and we have a maintenance staff to address any problems. Since we were not provided a room number in this complaint, maintenance has been instructed to check the plumbing in each room to find the problem.

Again I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay and assure you and anyone reading this message that we have taken this complaint seriously and are actively addressing the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    22
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
12
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DC Area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Hello All. I was staying there from the period of August 29th, to September 7th. My associates and I were there on business for the DNC in Charlotte. The hotel staff were all very friendly and made us feel welcome at all times. The hotel is in great proximity to Charlotte as its about a 15 min drive.
There are several restaurants nearby to include the Bonefish Grill.
While they don't have a fitness center on site, they did contract with a local gym about a two minute drive away. All you needed to do was show your room key and you had full access. The breakfast spread in the morning was ok. I would have liked an oatmeal and/or egg option though, They did have plenty of fruits, yogurts, cereal etc.
At night the staff made chocolate chip cookies which was a pleasant surprise upon returning. The middle doors were locked at night so keeping your room key handy for entry was a must. It only aids in security,
The rooms had microwaves and mini fridges and the rooms were clean. I was in a non-smoking room on the first floor and had no issues. My room faced the rear parking lot. There werent any heavy trucks coming and going so my sleep was restful. I would stay there again. I would not stay there however if you needed more than 4 days. All in all we had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomb_Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We were pleased to have you stay with us during one of the biggest events that Charlotte has ever experienced. We do feel that our location is one of the best in the area.

If you are ever in Charlotte, we would love to host you again.

Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night on route to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Crooked Road. Great location for the Texas Roadhouse Restaurant. Room was good size, clean and quiet. The pool was okay but a little less clean than we would prefer. Very friendly check in lady - she made us more than welcome. Using the coupon it cost $59.99 - a real bargain even included a continental breakfast and Wifi.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank B11boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn Matthews. I am glad that I and the staff made your stay a pleasant one. I want to apologize for the state of the pool. We had an issue with the filter that was not allowing us to get the pool as clean as we like but that issue has been repaired and should not be a recurring problem.

We are always aware that our guests have many choices in the area and we want you to know that we sincerely appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My family and I stayed here just overnight after visiting some friends. The staff was very nice and the hotel was pretty clean. We stayed on the third floor, which is under the smoking floor. Therefore, even though our area was non smoking, we could still smell the smoke from upstairs. i'm not sure, but I think it was coming from the bathroom vent. That is really my only complaint. All in all, it was a decent night stay for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Sleep Inn Matthews. I appreciate your feedback. We do take your comments seriously and make every effort to correct any issue. Your comments regarding the smoke filtering into the non-smoking room from the smoking floor above will be addressed immediately. I have forwarded your comments to our owners and we are reviewing the ventilation system for solutions to that issue. I do hope that you will return and stay with us again in the future for one night or more.

We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here because I wanted a choice hotel property while passing thru Charlotte on the way home. They have a road on the back side of the hotel for large truck parking ( a must for me). I called ahead for a smoking room, and stayed in room #400. Great room, large and comfortable, with a king sized soft bed. Slept great. Took the shower a few minutes to get warm, but great then. Shower is large and there is no bathtub (who takes a bath in a hotel, really?). Standard choice breakfast, but pretty good. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #400 at end of hall is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cah3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear cah3295,

Thank you for your response. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again soon!

Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Yes, this hotel is in a safe neighborhood. Yes, it looks nice and is in a great location close to food, shopping, etc., but if you want a good night's sleep - GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! The first night we were there we were awakened at 1:30 am by the neighbors coming in. They were not yelling or anything, just talking, yet it sounded like they were in our room. Then again, at 4:30, we were awakened by the poorly performed (trust me - you could hear everything) porn film going on next door. The second night, again at 1:30, the neighbors arrive. At 5:30, they got up to shower and literally yelled over the water, "IS IT HOT YET?" And I said, in my normal voice, why don't you yell louder? Not everyone heard you." And they started whispering. So obviously they could hear us too -- OVER THE SOUND OF THEIR SHOWER!.

Aside from needing sleep and not getting any, the air conditioner is set to go on and off at a set time, so no matter how low you turn it, it IS NOT GOING TO COOL DOWN. We asked the front desk if we were setting it wrong, and were informed that's just the way it works. I cannot imagine sleeping in that room when it's 100 degrees outside. We had the air on 60 and *slept* with all the covers off the bed.

At least we didn't see any bed bugs. :)

Took one look at the breakfast offerings, and went to Bojangles instead. This seemingly large hotel has a breakfast nook big enough to accommodate about 8-10 people and the fare wasn't any. At least the coffee was hot.

Room Tip: Hard pressed to find a room that you aren't basically sharing with your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear InnAtHome,

Thank you for your feedback. This has not been a major complaint in the past. This has been forwarded to the owner to make sure he is are aware of the situation.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Front desk person was rude at checkout the morning of 3/11 and not helpful at all. My room never got cleaned and had to ask to have it cleaned and just opted for new towels. I would say the hotel was clean but service was just not good at all. I am a director of Customer service and this sleep in failed at every level of service.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Chris K,

I apologize for the lateness of this response. I am sorry for the experience you had at the Sleep Inn. I assure you that it was not the normal level of service we provide. We were almost full and had lost some employees especially in housekeeping. House keeping worked until late servicing rooms but we unable to make it to all rooms prior to the guests return. I am sorry your room was not serviced. The employee in question was dealt with by the owner and we apologize for his rudeness.

Our goal is always to provide all guests with excellent service and I am sorry that we were unable to do so in yor case. We would welcome the opportunity to prove ourselves to you in the future.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matthews hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
1.5 mi away
Econolodge & Suites
Econolodge & Suites
#9 of 12 in Matthews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte

Property: Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
Address: 9900 Matthews Park Dr, Matthews, NC 28105-1715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*NEWLY RENOVATED* Sleep Inn(R) Matthews - Charlotte is conveniently located off Interstate 485, and only 10 miles from Uptown Charlotte. We are within walking distance of several national chain resturants and local eateries. We are also located across from several shopping centers. This Matthews, NC hotel is near many area attractions, including Bojangle's Coliseum, Ovens Auditorium, The Park (formerly The Merchandise Mart), Time Warner Cable Arena, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, Charlotte Convention Center and Bank of America Stadium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte puts you right in the middle of all the local attractions and several national company headquarters like Family Dollar, Windstream and Harris Teeter in the Matthews, North Carolina area. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Matthews
Matthews Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing