We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Express Layover(Matthews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
281
123
66
35
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
281
123
66
35
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskroom was cleancookiesnice breakfastvery nice hotelone night staywafflesexcellent staywould definitely stay here againstaff was very friendlyhot breakfastbusiness tripthe breakfast areacharlotteinnsnikkicloset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Welcoming, very accomodating. Rooms were clean and quiet. Everything done helped me relax before my business appointment the next day. Breakfast area was clean and plenty of items. Gave me directions to my appt. and suggestions for supper.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

The Hampton Inn Charlotte Matthews loves to hear good responses from our valued guests. Thank you for your recognition through Tripadvisor of our entire team's dedication to providing a great stay, every visit. Know that our operation is constantly working on ways to improve on the details to ensure you can expect an outstanding stay every time. Knowing you had a wonderful nights rest and your room provided everything you needed is the staff's ultimate goal. Your responses helps us to provide superior customer service to all the guest's of the Hampton Inn Charlotte Matthews. Thank you again for your response and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

While house hunting in Charlotte we had the pleasure of staying at the Hampton Inn in Mathews. It is nestled between trees hidden away in quiet setting across the street from a nice shopping and dining center. It was safe and clean with easy access to the Interstate. Recently remodeled inside, the room was spotless with new beds and bathrooms. Very nice and SMOKE FREE hotel!

The staff was also very helpful in recommending Azteca Mexican Restaurant across the street which we ate at TWICE since it was so good! We're from Texas so Tex-Mex is our specialty when dining out and it was definitely very authentic. Not pricey at all.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet but the AC units in all Hampton Inns can be a bit noisy but they work incredibly well.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnyoneSomeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews through the TripAdvisor website. The entire team here at the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews works very hard to provide a clean room and friendly surroundings for every guest, every visit. We are glad that you found the shopping and restuarants near by helpful. We really value our return travlers and want to make sure we can support them no matter what their need may be during their visit. Please keep us in mind on your future visits to Charlotte/Matthews. Thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, staff was excellent, beds were comfortable, quiet hotel. Disappointed by the breakfast, the pool was small and dirty, fridge in room was old and loud, microwave was too small. I was in a double bed and the room was crowded. Overall my stay was nice, but for the price, those disappointments were, well disappointing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank wright1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Matthews on Tripadvisor. The staff was excited to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you found our location clean and convenient. Unfortunately, the hotel can not obtain a food permit from the local health department due to the limited size of the kitchen in the lobby. HIlton has provided us an alternative breakfast solution that utilizes prepackaged breakfast items. I understand how this could be a challenge for guests who have special diets. The hotel will work to better communicate the reason for the difference in the breakfast so that guests are not caught offguard. The hotel has recently under gone an extensive renovation that transitioned the bed types in our double rooms to two queens to better suit the larege numbers of youth sports teams that frequent our location.Your recommendation and "thumbs up" approval will help us to secure more business opportunities in the future. Thank you from the entire team at the Hampton Inn Matthews and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Matthews for the Panthers preseason game last weekend for 2 nights. The room was comfortable, well appointed and I experienced no issues during my stay. The front desk agent Ela was very helpful and professional when I asked questions about the area. I enjoyed the breakfast, it had a variety of selections . The hotel has a different breakfast than might normally be expected at a Hampton Inn, but it had all of the essential items. Thanks for the excellent service Hampton Inn Matthews! This location has quick access to Uptown on the east side of Charlotte. I will definitely be staying here on my next visit to the Queen City. You can tell that the staff prides itself on what they do and truly care if you have a pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank harveyiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful response through Tripadvisor! Your review was one of the most complementary reviews we have ever recieved! It really made us happy to hear that you had a great stay! Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews for the Panther's preseason game. We are all thrilled that football is returning. I will make sure that Ela is recognized for her positive attitude and friendly demeanor. Having satisfied customers is the best marketing a hotel can recieve. Having past guests who spread the word about how enjoyable their stay had been will really resonate with future guests. We welcome you to return for all your visits to Charlotte/Matthews because we LOVE HAVING YOU HERE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

In town for business, and traveling with a colleague. This Hampton was recently renovated and it is very well done. Beautiful lobby, wonderfully appointed and comfortable rooms. But what really stood out was the level of service. Even for a short stay, the exceptionally cheerful, friendly, and helpful folk at the front desk were exceptional - offering very good recommendations for local dining, holding very friendly conversation, and reviewing Diamond member benefits very professionally and thoroughly. I will certainly return when next in town on business, and I encourage others to look to this excellent Hampton for their needs, too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

The Hampton Inn Charlotte Matthews loves to hear good responses from our valued guests. Thank you for your recognition through Tripadvisor of our entire team's dedication to providing a great stay, every visit. Know that our operation is constantly working on ways to improve on the details to ensure you can expect an outstanding stay every time. We understand what business travelers have to deal with when working from the road. I will ensure that the entire staff is recognized for their efforts to make you feel like you are returning "home" when visiting the Hampton Inn Matthews. Your responses help us to provide superior customer service to all the guests of the Hampton Inn Charlotte Matthews. Thank you again for your response and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews