We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Me”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Staff was excellent..location was close to highway. Nice breakfast and room was neat clean and well maintained. My wife is disabled and requested a special needs room. o
Would highly recommend this hotel to travelers to the Charlotte, North Carolina area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank star11738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear star11738,

We really are glad we accommodated all of your needs during your trip to Charlotte. We hope that you enjoyed your time with your family! We really appreciate your 5 star review and hope that you will stay with us in the future.

Thank you so much,

Kristen Wanser
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    46
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
20
7
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We'll definitely return to this great property. Excellent facility and exceptional people. When we checked in the two young ladies at reception were fun, and also professional. Opening the door to our room, we discovered open suitcases inside, and returned downstairs. Skyler apologized profusely because the room had appeared vacant in her system. She quickly found another, more convenient, room for us.

Only three years old, the property is beautifully maintained and appointed like a boutique hotel. Lots of plush towels and a well-done modern decor. I especially appreciated the bedding with four pillows on each bed, all with embroidered pillowcases saying Firm or Soft. Comfortable bed and quiet location.

In the morning, the breakfast was plentiful with great warm biscuits and cinnamon buns, pancakes and French toast as well as the usual cold bread selections. Both the service gal and the manager, Mitra, came by to say hello and ask about our stay. Never had that happen before. Clearly this property is well-managed and the staff cares about its guests.

I"m putting this hotel on our roadmap for a return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRPNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
NRPNewJersey,

Thank you so much for your great "5Star" Review. You really were able to express our hotel! OUR team is a great one. Skyler is a great asset to our team as well as Mitra is a wonderful General Manager. We love to interact with our guests and love to get as much feedback as possible. We try our hardest to make everyone's stay a memorable one. I do apologize for the glitch in the computer system and am so happy that Skyler was able to assist you as well as the pillows! We love our new pillows! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Warm regards,

Kristen Wanser - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Easy access to restaurants and shopping.

The room was very clean and the staff was pleasant. This hotel is either fairly new or very well kept, either way, I would stay again.

There is a pool and a gym. Hotel gym's are basically cardio rooms these days, but they have one.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TopTierTiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
TopTierTiff,

Thank you for your kind words and great review. We are so pleased to hear we are a great location for you. We have to agree that we are pretty convenient when it comes to local restaurants. Next time you visit Charlotte/Matthews, keep in mind we do offer local restaurant discounts for our guests. As far as our fitness center we do offer complementary day passes to a fantastic fitness facility located rather close to our hotel, if you are interesed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent a few days while here on business. I has stayed here a few times in the past for the same reason. It is a clean comfortable place to stay. The staff is always friendly. The breakfast is the usual hotel items. Not bad and they get your morning started. Everything you need is a short distance away. Turning on Hwy 74 is a pain. The road is always busy. Nothing the hotel can do about it, just something to know. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Adak C,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your trips to Charlotte. We are proud to be your home away from home and would do anything possible for you to have a memorable stay. We all have to agree with you about the traffic on 74 and hope that the city will one day fix that issue. We really value you as one of our frequent guests and look forward to serving you during future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed several days at this hotel and Ivan was so friendly and helpful to us. Even though he is disabled, he walked all the way upstairs to bring us extra towels, blankets, and eating utensils. He even gave us free items from the store in the lobby! Such a nice man.

Room Tip: Only deal with Ivan, he will give you special rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriman n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you harriman n, We really appreciate your feed back and for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that Ivan was able to assist you with your needs. He is a wonderful man and an asset to our company. We all really appreciate your kind words. Thank you so much for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabash, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the second time at this hotel. The room was extremely comfortable but if your vertically challenged (short) as I am you might want to take a running jump to get into the bed as it's extremely tall. They give you options of pillows, soft and firm, very nice. The one draw back in the room is no safe. It would have been nice to have a safe in the room. The staff we met were all very friendly and helpful, always saying hello, good morning, etc...
They offer 24 hour coffee, both caffeinated and decaf as well as hot water for tea and hot cocoa. They also offer a "hot" breakfast each morning. This consists of scrambled eggs, sausage, sausage gravy, biscuits, different types of bread for toast. I can only speak for myself but I think the "hot" food could be hotter. They have a pancake maker, very interesting machine along with hard boiled eggs, Chobani yogurt, packages of hot cereal, both grits and oatmeal along w/cold cereals. They also have a machine that gives out orange, cranberry and apple juice. The only thing missing in the breakfast area is a microwave oven although this can be found in the "pantry" area next to the reception desk. There is ample parking. There is also a heated, indoor pool as well as a small exercise room and an out door patio area w/tables and chairs.
It is a little difficult to get into the hotel as it's right on highway 74 and you have to cut across this dangerous road at a slight rise in the road. Other than those few things I've mentioned I would certainly recommend and stay at this hotel again. I do think the prices are a little high for this type of hotel, ie: $120.00 for a Wed night? when I was quoted $108.00 on the web site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor. While we were there the hotel had two LARGE groups of teenagers on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoogeyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCLT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Sincerely thank you for coming back to stay with us. We understand you have a lot of choices when staying in Charlotte and it means a lot to us. I do apologize for the inconvenience with groups, in the future we will be happy to assign you a room a way from noise. Our hotel is busy with corporate traveling guests during the week which could explain the higher rate. Sometimes the lower online rates require you to prepay. Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic stay. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who did a great job of making us feel welcome. Also, the smell of the hotel was very pleasing. I am glad we decided to stay here because it made our shopping convenient as the businesses and restaurants were close by. The complimentary breakfast was awesome and the pancake machine was great. We will definitely stay here again and we recommend you trying this hotel as well. Oh, the hotel decor is impressive and we found the atmosphere of the stay so relaxing. I would have given a 5 rating if the pancake machine would not limit guests to just 1 pancake at a time. Really, you could only select 1 pancake even though the machine was capable of two or more at a time. I really like pancakes!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCLT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
James H,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel! We appreciate it very much. We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and our pancakes! We look forward to seeing you in the future and will have extra pancakes on hand for you. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Address: 9420 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Matthews
#3 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlotte - Matthews, NC. We welcome you to stay economically smart, experience our comfortable accommodations, leading service, exceptional value & a 100% smoke free facility. We feature an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness & business center, free wire/less HSIA, 32 HDTV & free hot breakfast bar for all guest. Our Charlotte - Matthews hotel is located in Southeast Charlotte, NC, and major roads, I-485 & Hwy 74. We are near Carolina Courts & Extreme Ice Center. We are only minutes from Matthews, NC, & Monroe, NC. Uptown Charlotte is only 10 miles & Charlotte Douglas International Airport-CLT is located within twenty minutes of our hotel. Charlotte is the home of NASCAR. This Matthews hotel is only twenty miles away from Lowes Motor Speedway. Looking for something to do? We have many attractions such as Ice Skating, Carowinds, Carolina Panther Football, Charlotte Bobcats &Charlotte Soccer. Need a Charlotte Church? There are many nearby. We have many excellent restaurants only a few minutes away. We cater to many top companies in the area such as Harris Teeter, Family Dollar, Conbraco, BESAM, & Sunbelt Rentals. If you are traveling with a company & need a hotel in Matthews - Charlotte NC, we would be honored to host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Matthews East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing