We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matthews Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Matthews B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Walking distance verity of restarant and shopping mall.Walking distance verity of restarant and shopping mall.Walking distance verity of restarant and shopping mall. Big room, fast internet,very good morning breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our extended family rented the whole B&B for an entire weekend.WE were six adults who enjoyed the well appointed bedrooms ,which included three full bathrooms upstairs so there was plenty of shower time for everyone. WE had full use of the upstairs which , in addition to 4 bedrooms with queen and king size beds, also included a fully stocked kitchen and a lovely living area. Each room had a Tv and on our first night there we were offered wine and beer as well as snacks.The second and third day we were allowed to invite our grandchildren (7) and children over to swim in the beautiful pool. It was so nice to have a place to gather and enjoy each other. We felt completely at home and appreciated being able to host this little get together. Linda was a perfect hostess and the breakfasts she served every morning were delicious! Both she and George were very accommodating. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: I slept in the black and white room with the large bathroom with sunken jacuzzi.It was very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CASEY662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

While driving into the neighborhood we thought we were lost, upon driving up the driveway to the B&B we were less than impressed with the grounds, they looked unkept and tacky. The Beware of the Dogs signs everywhere were a little frightening. We were unable to tell where the entrance was. Upon ringing the doorbell twice, George came to the door to tell us he could not honor our reservation because he was getting a new puppy. The sign on the door read in case of a fire, please rescue 5 Dogs and 3 Cats. George claims he called the day before to cancel the reservation, but we did not receive that call. Upon seeing the B&B from the outside, we feel it was a blessing the reservation was cancelled.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank Sonja50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visited Matthews Manor in Oct. 2011 when we were in the area for a wedding. We were surprised by how lovely the house was. The house is huge and the walls are covered with art representing every type of art imaginable. The B & B host offered us our choice of wine as soon as we arrived at the house. He was wonderfully friendly!

We were the only guests staying when we arrived so we were able to peak inside of all the guest rooms. Each room was lovely. The photos on the B & B homepage are completely accurate in that regard. I believe each room also has a lovely view of the property's swimming pool. Our room - La Tara - had a lovely view. The main entrance has a pool table and a lovely sitting room.

The B&B is located in a lovely, quiet neighborhood of lovely homes. It's a short drive to downtown Matthews.

Breakfast was also yummy. We had quiche, pumpkin bread, mixed fruit, and Canadian bacon along with juice and tea.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were lovely. The bathroom in the The Vizcaya Room was especially impressive. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokieKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My girlfriend and I are from Michigan and came across Mathew Manor by surfing the net. Based upon the pictures and past reviews we decided to make the trip. From the moment Linda opened the door until the time we left her and George made us feel as if we were at home. This was our first Bed and Breakfast experiance so we weren't exactly sure what to expect. However what we recieved were great accomodations, great service, great meals and great down home Southern Hospitality. Linda and George you have set the bar high for any other B & B's we may attend in the future. My girlfriend and I would like to thank both Linda and George for such a memorable experience. We look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadeNMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I just called to have a tour for a wedding. The person on duty said "They don't do tours thats what the website is up for." All I wanted to do was to see the property to see whether or not we would like it. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
7  Thank marquissellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewsManor, Owner at Matthews Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Matthews Manor never permit a preview of our Inn we spend thousand of dollors with pictures on anumber of different web sites that all have guest reviewsand since 1999 when we open this is the bad reviews we evere had .With over a couple 100 guest stays.Plus WE DO NOT DO WEEDINGS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Matthews Manor is a beautiful mansion, exquisitely decorated by the owners. It is an excellent location for any activity in the Charlotte area. The food was outstanding and the hospitality of the owners George and Linda was wonderful. We highly recommend it and will go back any time we can. This is a gem.
Gene and Charlotte

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank genewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Matthews
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matthews Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matthews Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1726 Spring Stone Dr, Matthews, NC 28105-5289
Region: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matthews
Price Range: £117 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Matthews Manor Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Matthews Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing