We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good diner atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Ribbon Diner

Blue Ribbon Diner
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Mebane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
483 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good diner atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

While not a true diner the Blue Ribbon Diner has some nostagic things such as neon signs, a neon clock, a juke box and two toned seating blue and white like a 1950's car. The food is good here especially homemade mashed potatoes, a good variety of sandwiches, desserts (their brownies are large and good) etc. Service was good and the prices are reasonable. They offer daily blue plate specials. A good place to take the family and a good place for nostaglia buffs that want to think of eating in the 50's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    61
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Neat little place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

It was diner food, but good. This is the place to go if you want a burger and milkshake (milkshakes are awesome). Definately try the fried pickles! It was clean and the staff was super nice. Actually a little too nice as we were asked by at least 4 different employees if our meal was good. Either they thought we were secret shoppers or they really really like asking folks over and over again if the meal is ok, lol.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaKesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it was an ok visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

food was ok, prices were high for the quality and quantity food...nothing special...had small children with us they sat us in the very back part of the restaurant out of sight....really not impressed with the visit....kids did enjoy there food...but it is kinda hard to mess up fries and chicken nuggets....not sure if I will go back....nothing special

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nascargirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We've eaten here several times. Each time has been worse than the time before. The latest meal hit rock bottom. How can you ruin a hamburger? Mine was a cold thin dry square of meat. As the buffalo burger, it had a dab of buffalo wing sauce and cheese, but not the pepperjack I'd ordered, and lettuce and tomato. I've had this burger in the past and been very happy with it, but then it was a totally different burger. The fries were good as always. My husbands hamburger steak was equally dry. Service is good, but can't make up for the food. The location is great, and we had been to the outlets across the street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Experience with the Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stopped in for lunch while driving own 85 and decided to stop at the Tanger Outlet. We have been to Mebane a few times and we did not know what we were missing.

Obviously they offer diner food, but for those wanting to eat a little healthier, they have a nice chicken basket tray for kids and very good grilled chicken barbecue sandwich. The french fries was fresh, crispy and tasted really good,

To top it all out,the server was very attentive and offered us a great experience.

I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a good diner experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgomide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Ribbon Diner also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ribbon Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing