We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A for Effort - Friendly, Affordable, Clean, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Mooresville
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mooresville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A because they made the effort to consider their guests experience and needs. The hotel was bright and clean and the person behind the desk friendly. The effort really showed in the functional design of the rooms. We had 8 people in the room one evening (4 adults, 1 teenager, two children and a baby) and the room did not feel crowded!
It was also very thoughtful of them to supply cutlery, frying pan, kettle, pots, dishes, bowls, and even paper towels, we also borrowed a movie (but never had a chance to borrow the blender). Great value for a family staying a few nights while visiting relatives in North Carolina.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mooresville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for the awesome review. It's the greatest feeling to hear back from our guests and to read your review makes for a wonderful day. We try very hard to satisfy every guest and show how much we truly appreciate them. Again, thank you and we hope to see you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night using points at this extended stay hotel. Location was a good halfway stop returning from our FL vacation. Upon arrival, we were concerned as we noticed a few moving trucks & trailers in the parking lot, people letting their dogs run around on the grassy areas, and smokers outside the front lobby.

Check-in was routine, the front desk person seems to have many responsibilities within the hotel, but was polite and efficient in checking us in.

I was expecting a less than pleasant experience based on my initial observations, however, the hotel and our suite was quiet and immaculate except for an ink stain on the carpet in our room. My only other complaint is that there are no drapes on the suite windows, just sheers which do not block the parking lot lighting, nor provide the privacy one normally expects at a hotel. The suite was fully equipped, the bathroom was very clean, well-stocked and much larger than a typical hotel room. The in-room HDTV was huge for a hotel and lots of HD programming.

As this is an extended stay hotel, there's no free breakfast or restaurants, just a pantry with items for purchase. McDonalds and Subway very close by. It was a bit different than a typical 1-night hotel stay, but seemed to be in a safe area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexShumpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mooresville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay. We appreciate any and all feedback. Your comments were shared with our entire staff and we are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again next time your in Mooresville NC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family and I got away for a vacation to Lake Norman and just stayed three nights. Everything about this hotel was above average except for one thing. Our non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. When we complained to the front desk, they acknowledged the problem, but only gave us air freshener spray. Apparently, the bathroom ventilation systems are tied together. The room above ours must've been a smoking room, and so the smell came through our bathroom vent. We tried to change rooms the next morning but the hotel was booked. My children got headaches and my wife got a migraine. I am a member with IHG hotels and take reviews seriously. I reserved the room with accumulated points and have asked for a refund. I do not recommend this hotel until they resolve this issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mooresville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at our hotel. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. We pride ourselves on being a smoke free facility. I would like to discuss this further with you. When you have a moment could you please email me at sales.candlewood@maya-hotels? Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel appears to be new. Everything is in great shape. Our room was large, with 2 quuen beds, a full kitchen, and a large flat screen television on the wall. The location was perfect for a visit to Davidson College. Reward stays are a particularly good deal here.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank wsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mooresville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Just wanted to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We love when the guests takes the time to show they enjoyed their stay with us.Your comments were uplifting and we can't wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This place was real nice, clean and easy to get too. The staff was always in a good mood and very helpful in finding places to go.If i am in that area again i will surely stay there. The parking lot was well lit and clean. The rooms were set up to be friendly and useable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verypleased69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mooresville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

I would like to thank you for your great review. We look forward to serving as your host hotel again in the future. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our entire team at Candlewood Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a very quiet, clean room and the staff was very friendly. They had a nice place to walk the dogs and we loved how comfortable the staff was around the dogs, which put them at ease. It was really apparent the staff had been around dogs before. If our pets are not comfy, we are not comfy. I do think it would have been helpful if there was a back door we were able to go out to take our pets potty. We had to go out the front each time and a few folks were uncomfortable around our boxer (though he is very friendly). Perhaps they could make some changes to put their 'non-dog loving' patrons more at ease.

Room Tip: We prefer the top floor. We've found during our travels that if you are going to have noise, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mooresville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I deeply apologize if we did not inform you of the other entrances/exits we have at the hotel. We have taken your comments to the front desk so we can better inform our guests with pets of those areas so they do not encounter the same issues that you did. Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We were actually very excited to come to the hotel. It seemed that all, or most of the other reviews were very positive.This is a new property with a few "new concepts". They have games, folding chairs, kitchen appliances -blender, mixer, Foreman grill, and inflateable water toys etc... that you can "borrow". One item at a time. We are in the midst of relocating and this seemed like a perfect extended stay for us. We are platinum elite members with their rewards program, and so, are committed to the brands they have. Almost always having wonderful experiences and stays....
SO...we were horribly disillusioned. When we arrived, the person behind the desk (tatooed and tongue-bar-belled) informed my husband that for the month-long stay, our 2 small dogs would cost us an ADDITIONAL $700+!!!

I laughed and told my husband that was sure to be wrong, that she was wrong. NO ONE in their entire chain - or any chain - charges as much as an apartment for 2 small dogs. He insisted that she was absolutely adament about their policy and there was NO wiggle room. NO bending of rules, NO allowances at all. So, as we settled into our room, we debated if this was where we should be. Later, she called back to say that she was wrong... That the cost would be $150 for a dog.

The rooms are an good size, and clean, but they are rather loud, and noise carries way too loudly. You can hear up and down the halls, the next rooms... Just no where near the 4 and 5 stars I have seen given for this hotel. We have stayed at other Candlewoods that we loved. Here, our boys would run 2 feet in the room, and the whole room would shake. Terrible. Really. Very tinny feeling, not solid. Another review commented about "plastic-y feeling sheets" I agree. None of the trash cans had been lined, just bags thrown in them but not put on them. Probably because none of them fit. Magnets don't stick to the doors (do not disturb, pet in the room etc) The property looks nice, but it's about more than that, isn't it? It's all the little things that add up...
No place for kids to run. Really a kind of cold-feeling to the place. No personality.

The next day, I ran an errand and called back to the hotel to talk to my husband. I told the receptionist what room, and she asked for the last name. I told her (not all hotels do this, but Candlewood generally does). So I told her the name, and she contined to pry and asked WHO WAS CALLING! I told her that it wasn't any of her business. She pushed, said it WAS her business and it IS their policy! I told her that she was wrong that we have been members for many years, that she wasn't a secretary weeding out callers etc... I mean, when they put a phone call through, they don't PRE-call a room to tell them who it is! I was really offended and upset by this... (Still am really disturbed)
This property is run by misinformed kids. (Ironic, because it's not overly child-friendly) The shelves in their cupboard are almost empty. There are people yelling up and down the halls. Adults. The noise carries through the halls like this is a cheap motel6 or something like it. Not the high-priced hotel it is. There is a cockroach in my kitchen light fixture, my shower shut off by itself after 3 minutes. All in all not a very impressive place.

Such a disappointment in so many ways. We have always relied on reviews but you people are getting it wrong! There is a review on their own website that sounds more like a dating service than a review. Come on...

We cancelled our reserved extended-stay after the first night (committed to the weekend, but leaving on Monday) , and will be taking our business to another link in the chain. One that we already know, and trust. This has been a monumental disappointment.

The road that this hotel is located on, you can only enter from one way, and the exit is hilly and cars rush past. It's NASCAR country. You pretty much have to exit in one direction and drive until you can turn around to go the way you really need to.

Won't be coming back here.

Room Tip: Isolate yourself unless you like a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cacsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Mooresville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear cacsmom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that on this particular visit the service of the staff was a disappointment for you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooresville hotels
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mooresville
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mooresville/Lake Norman
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte / Mooresville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Charlotte Mooresville/Lake Norman
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman
2.8 mi away
Affordable Suites
Affordable Suites
#7 of 14 in Mooresville
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Mooresville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mooresville

Address: 3247 Charlotte Hwy, Mooresville, NC 28117-5514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mooresville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mooresville
Price Range: £66 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Mooresville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new 100% smoke free hotel is located immediately off I-77 and just moments from beautiful Lake Norman and downtown Mooresville NC.Known as "Race City USA" our hotel is conveniently located close to NASCAR Technical Institute, NC Auto Racing Hall of Fame and home to several NASCAR teams.Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure you can enjoy our central location to: Lowe's Corporate Offices, NGK Ceramics; Mazeppa and Talbert Business Parks, Lazy 5 Ranch, Carrigan Farms or simply enjoy a cruise on Lake Norman or a day at Lake Norman State Park.Our sparkling salt water indoor pool is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mooresville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing