We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Far Eastern NC Bar-B-Q”

Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que
Ranked #18 of 123 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Far Eastern NC Bar-B-Q”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On a recent trip to NC for a niece's wedding ate twice at SCNB at Wake Forest, NC and got take-out at SCNB in Morehead City. Great fried chicken and bar-b-q and I'm a died-in-the-wool western North Carolinian, so them's fightin' words but it's true! Bar-b-q is different west versus east but so is Texas versus Carolina versus Florida and I love them all. Like Will Rogers, I never ate bar-b-q I didn't like. My wife is from northeastern NC and their "Q" is a little different than southeastern NC but all still good. Brunswick stew is very regional and all have their quirks. Best I ever ate was made at home by my mother-in-law who was one of the best cooks whose table I ever sat at. Don't care for SCBN "nanner puddin'" cause it ain't got no bananas in it and it's just made with instant banana pudding and "Nilla" wafer's. Good eatn' and don't fergit the Blessin'!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Food is great! Love the barbecue they have here! Great place! Service is good, place is great for quick dining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisa0299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead
2 reviews
“No lemons”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great food tons of fries, Fresh ice tea. But no lemons, to go with ice tea
I asked for fresh lemon. They gave me a a bottle of juice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bayard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hard to beat”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great North Carolina style bbq and french fries. Fast and friendly service. The chicken is not bad either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Epp350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffin, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ ever”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a fantastic barbecue place and I don't usually like barbecue. I am used to the kind of barbecue with tomatoey sauce but this is light and sort of tangy and VERY VERY good!! You gotta try it!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing